The front of Hooppells Barn with its pretty enclosed garden.
The stairs to the first floor lead off the kitchen/dining-area.
The pretty garden gets the sun for much of the day.
Huge living area, a perfect communal space for all occasions.
Nearby Bigbury on Sea with Burgh Island in the background.
Very spacious open plan kitchen/dining-area.
Light pours into this lovely well-equipped kitchen.
The hall from the top of the stairs into the sitting-room leads to the four bedrooms and family bathroom.
Bedroom 1, light and inviting double bedroom with en-suite.
Bedroom 1 en-suite.
Bedroom 2 with double bed.
Delightful twin bedroom.
Single room, with a splendid view.
The family bathroom.
The ground floor living-room provides that perfect space which doubles as a play-room should the weather let you down.
Bigbury on Sea has a wonderful beach and is only a short drive away.
Bigbury Bay on a windy day.
The lane approaching the cottage.
The view down the lane as you approach. The parking-area is inside the five-bar gate.

Hooppells Barn

2564

6.5 miles W of Kingsbridge / Sleeps 7 + cot

7 Nights from £630 - £1725

September 2017

The property is spacious. The beach was a bit of a trek and further than described. Clearly dogs have been allowed to stay here and should not be listed as pet free. The brochuree in the cottages states that dogs are very welcome.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Hooppells Barn. The property historically allowed pets but the owners have recently changed this so we'll ask them to remove any references in the property to pets which may have been missed. We've double checked the distance to the beach and we agree it is slightly over a mile, so we've amended our description. Alison, Customer Support.


August 2017

We had a wonderful time at Hooppells Barn for the second time and would thoroughly recommend it.


July 2017

Beautiful Barn conversion in lovely quiet location near great beaches in Bigbury and Bantham. Lots of space for a large family or family and friends sharing.


September 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in Hoopells Barn - it was in a very peaceful area with lovely walks out from the cottage. The barn was perfect for 3 generations of our family with plenty of space and very safe for our littlest person. (the built in stairgates were extremely welcome). The large kitchen diner was perfect for our family dinners, everyone loved the kitchen table. Wonwell beach was an extra bonus - although a relatively short walk downhill, the gradient of the hill made it easier to run down in a car with the necessary beach equipment rather than cart it up the hill after. The Barn was extremely comfortable - just the place to return after busy days out.


August 2016

We had a wonderful holiday in a very comfortable and well maintained cottage. We would love to come back and do the same all over again. Thoroughly recommended.


October 2015

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Ideal for a family holiday.


July 2015

Delightful! Glorious family space, close to gorgeous beaches.


April 2015

A lovely home in a very nice part of Devon. The area is not too touristy and the people who live there are very friendly.


October 2014

We spent a perfect week in this lovely cottage, tucked way from the hurly burly yet close to the wonderful beaches and amenities of the South Hams.


July 2014

Enclosed garden and downstairs space was brilliant for our two greyhounds- thank you!


May 2014

Hooppells Barn is a lovely property. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday there.


September 2013

This a lovely large house, ideal for several generations of a family or two families. There are 2 TV rooms if you want to get away from the rest of the family. Our grandchild loved the chickens and we loved the local walks and blackberries. There is an excellent pub in walking distance if you want a meal out. You are in range of several excellent beaches like Burgh island and the walks are fabulous. The house is very well equipped and there is wifi available.


August 2013

Wonwell beach is quite a long walk, not car friendly so not good if you are not fit and able, but my son and his wife found the walk very worthwhile.


July 2013

The house and location is very good - we were lucky enough to have glorious weather so were able to utilze the garden as well as the local beaches. The beach nearest the house (Wonwell) is absolutely beautiful and is definitely worth the drive or walk however walking takes much longer than 15 minutes there and 20 back as the house information says - particularly when you have to carry the beach 'stuff' and have tired children on the way back:) We would certainly use the house again and are already in the process of checking out plans for next year.


July 2013

We should actually like to keep it a secret. We loved the location, beaches, walks and scenery, and the accommodation was airy, light and spacious.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.