Porthleven's picturesque harbour is just a short stroll from the cottage.
The contemporary style of the cottage interior is complemented by several original character features.
The steep stairs down to the lower ground floor have very low headroom - so 'duck or grouse', as they say!
The pretty double bedroom on the first floor (Bedroom 1).
Driftwood Cottage is the second property from the right in the photograph, with the satellite dish outside.
There is also room for a luxuriously large bath!
The front door opens directly into the light, surprisingly spacious sitting-room.
The cottage accommodates two guests only, but with the small single room (Bedroom 2) providing flexibility for two people.
The large comfy sofa has plenty of room for two!
With a large wood-burner as well as central heating, Driftwood Cottage is warm and cosy throughout the year.
There are steps from the sitting-room down to the bathroom, and a stable-door leads to the steep stairs which descend to the kitchen/dining-room.
The unexpectedly large bathroom on the ground floor includes a double shower cubicle.
The white-painted stonework around the shower, bath and wash-basin is a creative and striking feature in the bathroom.
There are lots of charming decorative touches throughout the cottage.
Typically steep cottage stairs lead up to the first floor (please mind your head!).
The lovely kitchen/dining-room is indeed most welcoming.
The kitchen is extremely well-equipped.
The clever use of a long mirror above the dining-table reflects light and gives the impression of a window in this lower ground floor room.
Everything you need is provided if you prefer to eat in!
A variety of pubs, shops, cafes and restaurants look out across the pretty harbour.
From up above the harbour, the lovely view back towards the village.
The view out to sea and westwards, across spectacular Mount's Bay towards the Penwith peninsula, from up above the harbour.
Porthleven Sands, the long beach to the east of the harbour. There are strong undercurrents and submerged rocks which make swimming inadvisable, though popular with experienced surfers.
Within a 15 minute walk of the harbour, this is the magnificent view eastwards towards the Lizard peninsula.

Driftwood Cottage

2537

Porthleven / Sleeps 2 + cot

7 Nights from £337 - £681

October 2017

Lovely cottage just a short walk from the harbour


July 2017

Beautiful and well furnished cottage in the heart of Porthleven.


June 2017

Driftwood Cottage was an excellent base for our Cornish break - no need to take the car out if we just wanted a quiet day lazing in Porthleven, which had everything we needed. Donna, the housekeeper, couldn't have been more helpful.


December 2016

Warm and welcoming cottage ,excellent location to explore Porthleven and the surrounding coast paths and countryside.


September 2016

A very cosy cottage in a wonderful port town. Very well equipped and nicely furnished, with an excellent information pack about the local area. We can recommend the Sea Drift kitchen cafe just round the corner for amazing food (book well in advance) and Roland's Happy Plaice for fantastic fish and chips. Delightful walks along the South West coast path and a trip to the Lost Gardens of Heligan also highly recommended.


August 2016

We had a fantastic holiday at Porthleven: a beautiful habour, nice walks along the south-west-coast-path and very good restaurants. It is only a few minutes walk from Driftwood Cottage to the sea. When the sun was shining the seagulls were "singing" :-) and we loved the sound of this alarm-clock. The cottage is very well equiped and it is a great, cosy and nicely decorated place to spend your time. Thanks a lot for letting us stay at this beautiful home.


July 2016

Had a lovely week at Driftwood Cottage. Excellent location for exploring Porthleven Harbour. Perfect decor, comfort and finishing touches. Would definately recommend.


July 2016

A wonderful holiday with our 7 month old baby. Donna, the housekeeper, was very helpful and the cottage was lovely. There was no issue with parking at all.


June 2016

What a gem this was truly a home away from home with every comfort and everything you could need including picnic item's flasks etc absolutely great


May 2016

Liked Location. Interior look of property. Kitchen equipment. High quality bedding. Warmth inside. Excellent information packs. Flowers as welcome gift in sitting room and kitchen. Milk, tea, coffee, sugar, toilet rolls, dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid etc etc, including spare plastic carriers. Porthleven and it's excellent restaurants.. Sea drift, the Square, best fish and chips at the Sun Inn, good supermarkets, lovely gift shops, coffee shops. All amazing. Would like to give special mention to Donna housekeeper. She's excellent, very friendly, approachable, and anxious to make stay as comfortable as possible. Lovely lady.


March 2016

Fantastic cottage! Stylish but comfortable, in a great location. We had a great first holiday in Cornwall with our eleven month old baby at Driftwood Cottage.


February 2016

Practical limitations aside this is a perfect little well equipped home from home. Especially ideal for parents with a child due to the extra full sized bed. There were toys everywhere. There are enough local eating places within walking distance to suit any test and pocket.


August 2015

I have been holidaying in cornwall 3 times a year for 30 years and this is probably the best cottage I have stayed in, absolutely loved it. The addition of wifi would make it perfect!


July 2015

We would recommend Driftwood Cottage as a place to stay - excellent location and stunning decor.


June 2015

well equipped & close to amenities


March 2015

We loved that fact that we didnt feel restricted with regards to using the heating. We were very lucky and had a lovely week, weather wise, with lots of sunshine, but because it was early in the year the it did tend to go cold at night. The log burner was wonderful!

We had all the equipment we could wish for in the kitchen too and loved having the dish washer a real bonus.

We had read the information about the cottage so knew what to expect, however my husband is 6 foot 2 and did struggle a little with the low ceilings.


August 2014

Stunning cottage beautiful location . Well equipped and very comfortable. We would crrtainly return


August 2014

Had a wonderful holiday in this delightful cottage. Our only problem was with the stairs to kitchen could do with a hand rail as stairs are very steep, also wi fi would be helpful as phone connection very poor. Porthleven wasa great little village had everything we needed within walking distance. Will definitely be back.


April 2014

Fantastic deceptively spacious cottage which is extremely well equipped allowing for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. Perfect for couples and couples with small children. Ideally situated for a short stroll to the harbour and within a short walk of shops, pubs and restaurants not to mention several picturesque coastal walks. Parking also not a problem during our stay with ample on street parking available (and this was during school holidays). Highly recommended. Rob Hanson


December 2013

A very traditional cottage in a quite location and very close to the port. Great double bed and linen Bathroom/Shower works well Lounge could be more comfortable with better seating and general fittings


October 2013

Be very careful of the staircase to the kitchen

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your review of Driftwood Cottage. We're very careful to mention the steep stairs to the kitchen (and the main staircase to the first floor) in our description; the cottage is a traditional terraced fisherman's cottage (beautifully renovated) with some fantastic original features and as such the stairs do seem pretty steep compared to today's standards. We've included some photos of both sets of stairs, so do have a look if you need some reassurance. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2013

I would definitely be happy to stay at this cottage again it has been beautifully renovated and is in an excellent location.


March 2013

This property is very much a home from home cottage. Everything and more is supplied for a perfect get away.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.