This bespoke wooden framed Lodge has a really luxurious interior and is in a private setting with a lovely feeling of open space around it.
The spacious and light kitchen/dining-area in this lovely open plan property.
There is a wonderful hot tub to enjoy here.
This verandah is built for relaxing on! It gets the evening sun - perfect.
The spacious living area has two deep comfortable leather sofas to relax in
Another view of the living area of this open plan property.
There is plenty of space for the dining-table and the well-equipped kitchen.
There is a king-size bed in this king-size bedroom!
This bedroom has dual-aspect windows, overlooking the woods that run along the bridlepath behind the lodge and the field to the front.
The excellent sized en suite is bright and contemporary.
The twin room offers plenty of space for adults as well as children.
All the fabrics and furnishings are lovely.
Snaffles Lodge is beautifully equipped for a relaxing stay.
Snaffles Lodge is full of pretty and welcoming touches to make you feel at home.
There is now a hot tub to the left of the veranda!
Sidmouth is one of the nearest beaches on the stunning east Devon coast.
Budleigh Salterton is another favourite pebbled beach.
Killerton House and gardens – the closest National Trust property to visit.
This is a view across the Exe estuary from the Goat Walk at Topsham.
The Quay at Exeter for riverside walks, antiques shops and cafes.
The far end of the bridleway past the lodge.
Snaffles Lodge looks out over fields and paddocks.

Snaffles Lodge

2517

7.6 miles NW of Honiton / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £485 - £915

October 2018

Snaffles lodge was absolutely perfect for us and our two puppies. We were made so welcome and the grounds are totally secure and puppy proof. The hot tub is a welcome bonus. We will definitely go back. Everything especially secure garden and parking, hot tub and bridal path straight from lodge for walks. Perfect area to stay and just off m5 so easy access everywhere


August 2018

Thank you for a truly wonderful stay at your beautiful lodge. The setting is idyllic. The lodge is equipped with everything you may need, including the added bonus of the hot tub, which we all enjoyed. We enjoyed meals at The Wyndham Arms and The Keepers Cottage Inn, which was our favourite - Sunday lunch was delicious! We visited a great dog friendly beach, Saunton Sands, as suggested by Clair, The Donkey Sanctuary, Sidmouth town and Exeter. All in all, we’ve had a fantastic stay. Thank you so much Clair and Freddie - top hosts! Ps. Enjoyed our horse racing chats, Freddie - may see you again at Chepstow some time :-) xx


July 2018

It was just a beautiful lodge, probably the best I've stayed in and such a peaceful location and not too far from anything as there was a close link to the M5. Just perfect ??


July 2018

Snaffles Lodge is like a home from home with benefits! It’s very well decorated and equipped. The beds are very comfortable and with two bathrooms (and lashing of hot water) there’s is plenty of space for four adults. The open verandah was just wonderful, in fact, we ate all our meals outside (we were very lucky with the weather). The hot tub was an added bonus and despite the hot weather it was well used, especially in the evenings. The bridleway was great for exercising the dog and provided a useful shortcut to the village shop and pub where we had two lovely meals. Thank you Freddie and Claire for sharing your wonderful Lodge with us.


March 2018

Pet friendly, great location, very peaceful.


January 2018

We had a fabulous time at Snaffles Lodge, we wanted for nothing, the lodge was luxurious and clean.

The hot tub was perfect which we enjoyed at night looking at the stars.

Excellent location for exploring the area and we visited the local pub The Wyndham Arms a couple of times which was excellent for food and friendly staff.

Had a really lovely relaxing stay and we will be back.


January 2018

Lovely cottage. Very clean. Hot tub brilliant. Well equipped with everything you would need. Beds are very comfortable. Our dog loved the walks right outside. And the garden was completely enclosed.


December 2017

This was our fifth stay at Snaffles Lodge.We had a wonderful Christmas and New Year here. Freddie and Claire are excellent hosts


October 2017

Fabulous holiday home, comfortable, cosy and well equipped. Safe enclosed garden for dogs (we have crazy terriers who try to escape at any opportunity and they didn’t manage to get out).

Ideal location for exploring the coast line. Good walks on the doorstep. Good food at the local pub.

Freddie the owner is friendly and helpful living just next door but leaves you to enjoy your holiday and the hot tub was an added bonus.

We wouldn’t hesitate to return for another stay.


October 2017

If peace and quiet is required than you won't do better. Good easy location.


October 2017

Very warm welcome by Freddie the owner. Snaffles lodge is in a good position for dog walking and the garden dog safe. Hot tub got used everyday! Excellent pubs nearby Keepers Cottage & Wyndham arms both do fantastic food!


July 2017

Snaffles Lodge was everything we had hoped for, what an amazing peaceful location. Comfy beds & sofas, powerful showers and everything you could possibly need for your holiday. The garden, veranda & Hot tub were such beautiful spaces to use. Lying in the hot tub watching the horses in the paddock right next to the garden was lovely. The Orchard at the back was full of sheep. The gardens and private car park are completely enclosed, even our escapee Cocker Spaniel couldn't find a way out. I highly recommend Snaffles Lodge! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!


June 2017

Snaffles Lodge is a beautiful place to stay, very well looked after. The hot tub was a wonderful extra and we found the places we visited were lovely. People very friendly. Hosts gave a warm welcome.


June 2017

I would like to thank Classic Cottages & Freddie & Claire Hollis for the opportunity to stay at Snaffles Lodge. We were very comfortable in our accommodation. We struggled to find the lodge despite your directions. Could Mr & Mrs Hollis invest in a sign on the main Kentisbeare road even it was to Kentismoor farm. The row of white cottages on the directions were virtually obscured by the lush greenery. The accommodation was just as described. The master bedroom was massive & the king size bed a real treat. The ensuite & shower enclosure were a good size & the water pressure & immediate hot water was very welcome. The only difficulty came from opening the door into the master bedroom. It was incredibly stiff. The adjacent wall had come adrift from the ensuite wall making the door opening too narrow. It is something that could be quite easily rectified I think. The main open plan room was very comfortable & every utensil had been thought of. We took 4 dogs with us. I was initially worried that they could escape through the ranch style fencing into the adjacent field but all the reviews said it was totally secure & it was. Wire fencing was attached to any of the perimeter fencing so even the smallest dog couldn't escape. The dogs loved the garden & walks on the adjacent bridle path to the lodge. One of the horses in the paddock next to the lodge is a very charismatic retired race horse called Galatian. He's clearly used to getting a lot of attention from visitors. He was incredibly gentle to a novice like me. Whilst we were at the lodge we couldn't get the outside sensor lights to work. We managed with the fairy lights around the veranda. The hot tub finished off the accommodation. It was so good to relax in there! Lastly, it would've helped if the overgrown nettles on the bridlepath leading to the lodge could've been cut back. We would love to return to this accommodation. The location is so convenient from the M5, east Devon, the coast & Dorset.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for your review of Snaffles Lodge - it certainly sounds as though you (and your dogs!) had a wonderful time in Devon. Thanks for your suggestions regarding the sign - we'll pass this on to Freddie and Clair. We hope you get the chance to come back again soon. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2017

The lodge is huge in size, the enclosed garden is great for dogs, with a large veranda to sit out on an evening if you have the weather. Very comfortable bed and powerful shower. The hot tub was an added bonus, we will definitely recommend to people and we would happily return! WONDERFUL!!


April 2017

The cottage is wonderful we all feel totally relaxed


December 2016

Snaffles Lodge is a very comfortable, spacious yet cosy location for a break in Devon. The furnishings and equipment are of a great standard, there's loads of parking (and the garden is enclosed - good news if you have a dog), two lovely horses in the next field, a relaxing hot tub, great shower pressure (it's important!) and a very very comfy bed. Recommended!


October 2016

Our thrid visit to Snaffles Lodge and will be booking again for next year


September 2016

Complete relaxation with an amazing setting. You will be so well catered for in a clean and spacious lodge and the hot tub is great, we used it every day! Lots of attention to detail and a lovely warm welcome from the owners. We have been twice and we will be back and it was a great way to re-charge your batteries. Loved it :)


September 2016

The Lodge is beautiful...so peaceful and relaxing...very easy access to the M5 so visiting places is so easy....very comfortable interior and the covered deck is lovely of an evening, as is the Hot Tub! Private fenced garden is perfect for dogs...we rebooked for next year while we there...


August 2016

perfect relaxing week the hot tub was fabulous, tranquil setting for us and the 2 dogs freddy the owner provided milk, coffee, and lovely fresh flowers very kind.


August 2016

We had a fantastic week at Snaffles Lodge. The Lodge is just perfect, it's really comfortable and well equipped. It was like a home from home with the added bonus of the hot tub. We would highly recommend this to anyone and will definitely be back.


July 2016

Really lovely lodge with a well stocked kitchen which made cooking enjoyable and easy. Lovely location.


July 2016

Fantastic lodge. Exceeded our expectations, and we were expecting it to be good. Friendly owners. Can't recommend highly enough.


July 2016

We had a wonderful, relaxing time at Snaffles Lodge. The location is fantastic as it's so near to the M5 which makes it ideal for exploring South Devon. The cottage is well equipped and the hot tub was an added luxury. We look forward to retuning there again in the near future. Thankyou!


April 2016

A cosy little place, very restful and peaceful, in a great rural location, with the coast not too far away.


March 2016

Snafflles was everything we hoped it would be and more. The description doesn't quite capture the charm this lodge has. The garden being dog proof made life easy and the lodge itself was equipped to a high standard with modern touches that doesn't take away from the quaintness of the accommodation. The owners are close by but respect your privacy so aren't intrusive which is just what you want in a relaxing lodge holiday. Would recommend to others and we will be visiting again ourselves.


December 2015

Fabulous accommodation with great walks and a friendly pub within walking distance where you receive a warm welcome.


November 2015

Had a wonderfully relaxing week before the crazy time that is Christmas. Hot tub under the stars and a quiet glass of wine on the terrace, excellent!


November 2015

Snaffles Lodge was wonderful. Perfect for a holiday with our two dogs. A dog proof garden that led straight onto a bridle path and then fields. Kentisbeare is perfectly positioned for a short drive to Honiton for great shops including antique shops, Darts Farm, fabulous fresh food and so much more. The fish and chips shed served fish as fresh as it could be. Axminster for lunch at River Cottage and Exmoutb for great dog friendly beaches. Wonderful..


October 2015

Lovely cottage in a very peaceful part of Devon. Most attractions were well within driving distance, even the North Devon coastline was only an hour away. The owners of the cottage were extremely friendly and provided us with many basic essentials that we were not expecting. The highlight of this place is the outside spa bath.


August 2015

We found Snaffles cottage to be an absolute delight to stay in - with its light airy and spacious feel - and a hot tub to ease the aches of the days walk was especially pleasing. We have already booked to go back.


July 2015

A really lovely place to stay, with a true home away from home feel. Fully enclosed and dog friendly garden and the hot tub were a bonus. Good location for exploring Devon countryside.


July 2015

It's the perfect location for getting away from it all but with great access to all of Devon. The owners were very welcoming but respectful of our privacy. We felt at home instantly.

We would recommend this lodge to anyone, couples or families.

It was a great weeks holiday and base to explore beautiful Devon and Cornwall.

The hot tub was great too.

Lisa and Nigel


June 2015

Top quality place to stay

Amazing location with outstanding views and a wonderful hot tub

The setting makes it so easy to relax and unwind


June 2015

A lovely lodge, very spacious, clean and well presented.


June 2015

Snaffles Lodge is perfect for a relaxing away from it all break. Even our dog has never been so chilled! The wooden lodge has everything you could want for a home away from home. We loved our stay and look forward to a return visit in the future.


May 2015

We had a lovely peaceful stay , we where given a warm welcome by the owner and he also gave us some helpful tips on the local area , pubs and places that were good to take our dogs. The lodge is well kitted out and the furniture and accessories of good quality. The garden is secure and the dogs had a lovely holiday too.


May 2015

Exceptionally clean well stocked and luxurious. Classic Cottages provided us with an excellent country retreat, with superb facilities and luxury that a lot of hotels don't even provide. Will certainly use and strongly recommend to friends and family.


March 2015

Our second time here and loved it again - we will be back


March 2015

Amazing and idilic stay, a real credit the owners their attention to detail makes it a home from home stay, fresh roses on the kitchen and dressing table a lovely touch as well as fresh eggs from their chickens. The hot tub added an extra something special, especialy after those long walks across the bridlepath and into the village. Was really special watching the sun go down in the hot tub.


February 2015

A wonderful holiday retreat. Cooked in the well equipped kitchen every night. Hot tub was a big hit with the kids.


February 2015

Extremely comfortable lodge Very well equipped. The owners were really friendly. Very good hot tub and all in a good location. Very dog friendly too. We will return


December 2014

I enjoyed our stay so much that I have already booked for next year.


November 2014

Beautiful holiday home in a beautiful part of the world. We'll definitely be going back.


October 2014

This is a first class cottage. Modern. Spacious and all mod cons. The jacuzzi is amazing. Location is perfect. Five stars! We will be back


October 2014

Everything excellent, from the moment we arrived till we left. The owners were very welcoming and left us alone, but are close enough if needed. The garden is totally enclosed and private which our two dogs loved. The lodge is outstanding as is the furnishings. Hot tub is the cherry on the cake. Will defintely book again.


September 2014

Highly recommended and would stay again. Ideal for two couples with dogs as cottage grounds were large and completely secure for our Norfolk Terriers.


August 2014

Perfect holiday accommodation. Beautiful surroundings and every comfort and luxury you wish for.


August 2014

This place is heaven on earth! So peaceful, clean and relaxing. The veranda and hot tub were excellent for evening. It's a great location for seaside visits. The owners are friendly and their fresh eggs, milk and roses were a lovely touch. Made our wedding anniversary very special. Only downside was we had to come home, but at least we are all relaxed and refreshed!


August 2014

Excellent cottage - we really enjoyed our time in this beautiful part of east Devon


July 2014

Absolutely stunning Lodge, we had one of the best holidays here, didn't want to go home! Fantastic location, beautiful and quiet and the added bonus of the hot tub which is amazing! The owners are a stones throw away, lovely friendly couple who are there if you need anything. Will definitely be recommending this Lodge to all my friends and family.


June 2014

Snaffles Lodge is the perfect peaceful haven for a holiday, it is hidden away and is very and secluded, after a very stressful year it was the perfect place to unwind and recharge the batteries, the owners have done a wonerful job furnishing the Lodge, it is clean, very comfortable and the attention to detail around the property is second to none, the little touches evident everywhere make it feel more like a home than a holiday let, the hot tub is the icing on the cake, and we used it daily during our stay, we had a wonderful holiday and would recommend to anyone.


June 2014

Excellent holiday, surpassed all of our expectations. Ideal for dogs with a completely enclosed garden and the veranda was a fantastic place to sit in the evening with the sun going down.


April 2014

This holiday lodge is superb!!! We have stayed in so so many holiday cottages over the years, most of them have been great and many we return to? This will be one of those and the owners are just delightful as well, great for a dog friendly holiday with the enclosed garden, great for family's with the added bonus of the hot tub! Great for couples as well?? Very clean, very warm and very much a must!! Happy holidays


April 2014

Highly recommend Snaffles lodge for a peaceful, luxury holiday. Even better than the pictures can show.


November 2013

A lovely relaxing place to escape the rest of the world, highly recommended


October 2013

The photos of this lodge dont do it justice, what an amazing place! Top quality furnishings, bedding and towels, everything you can think of is supplied and its in the most perfect area not to far from anything! Really enjoyed this lodge the hot tub is a great bonus! For the dog owners, the garden is completely enclosed great for small dogs! Big car parking area too. Excellent value for money.


September 2013

Snaffles exceeded all our expectations. The lodge was modern, clean and very well equipped. We also very much appreciated the thoughtfulness of the owners in providing tea, coffee, milk, kitchen towel, etc - this really made settling in easy. The lodge is also perfect for a pet with a large and safe garden. Overall I would rate the accommodation as the best we have ever experienced with regard to hiring a holiday cottege.


August 2013

This property says it all in the pictures and more. On arrival we had a warm welcome from the owner and couldn't do enough to make our stay relaxing. Very well equipped kitchen, bed linen and towels smelt fresh and clean as if they were brand new. A fantastic large veranda for al fresco dining and chilling out in the evening playing board games. A lovely outlook over a farm business with horses in the field and roaming pretty chickens. Plenty of places to visit from the countryside to the beach. Overall this lodge was one of the best that we have been too and that we will be returning in the near future


July 2013

Comfortable, light and airy accommodation. The garden was well fenced to keep our dogs in. The site was very private and the owners were friendly and helpful.


March 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. The Lodge was spotlessly clean, fabulously decorated and furnished. It had everything you could possibly need, lot's of little extras like washing up liquid, condiments, dog bowls, towels for the dog as well as ourselves! Even fresh eggs in the fridge from the owners chickens! Amazing, would definately go back again.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.