Slipway Cottage is the second cottage in from the right beside the thatched cottage. The cottage's waterside garden is to the left of the walled garden with a single tree.
The sheltered, sunny waterfront garden with views of the estuary is across the lane from the cottage
Looking back at the front door.
A welcome cuppa on arrival.
Striking china and pottery on the kitchen dresser.
The comfortable sitting-room.
Nautical touches throughout the cottage.
Sofa cushions on the sofas.
The ground floor cloakroom.
Bedroom 2 is at the front of the cottage and has an en suite shower and wash-basin.
A pretty bedroom chair.
Bedroom 2 has views over the estuary.
A palette of soft blues and whites.
Bedroom 1 has an en suite bathroom.
A touch of colour in the en suite bathroom.
The en suite bathroom for Bedroom 1.
Quirky touches throughout the cottage.
The front door.
The front door of the cottage is on the left of the photo and this is the sitting-room window.
You can either park one car in front of the cottage or one car in front of the waterside garden opposite.
The waterfront garden is at the left end of the wall in the photograph.
Shaldon beach.
Low water along the river to the left of the slipway.
The gated waterfront garden.
There is a second patio to the rear of the cottage.
The slipway just past the front door; the cottage has enough parking for a dinghy or small boat trailer.
You can park right in front of the cottage if you prefer.
Shaldon village and beach at the mouth of the River Teign.
A late winter afternoon on Shaldon beach.
Looking back at The Strand and Slipway Cottage is the second property in from the right, set well back from the lane next door to the large thatched property on the riverside end.
Low water on the river, this is the view from the waterside garden.

Slipway Cottage

2512

Shaldon / Sleeps 4 + cot*

7 Nights from £449 - £1122

November 2017

A cosy cottage in an excellent location ....a perfect base for enjoying Ringmore, Shaldon & Teignmouth .....everything you need for a comfortable stay including the bonus of two parking spaces ...... would definitely like to return.


October 2017

Fantastic cottage in a wonderful location, close to all amenities including some lovely cafes and pubs, bakers and butchers not to mention a great beach . We enjoyed using the ferry across the estuary and being close to Torquay, Dawlish, Brixham, Sidmouth and Exeter. Shaldon is a beautiful village and the cottage is really well placed with its own parking and views across the estuary. Couldn’t’ fault it in anyway and we would thoroughly recommend it.


September 2017

We knew the area and cottage location and it was a joy to be in quaint and quiet Ringmore again after a few years break away, with its good local walks, being not so busy, yet with easy access to the village of Shaldon, and other places to get out to visit. Glorious weather would have been truly wonderful obviously, but it was, despite the ghastly long drive to the West Country, a lovely place to be...a good holiday cottage.


July 2017

I normally love the cottages that you have and have been using classic cottages for some 20 years, this is the first cottage which did not live up to expectations

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were really sorry and surprised that you felt this popular cottage wasn't quite what you were expecting - we'll be in touch directly to discuss your stay further. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2017

"A perfect stylish hideway cottage in a quiet location with plenty of private parking and easy access to an adjacent slipway. So much to do and so many choices for eating out in the area. Easy access to main beaches and also nearby dog friendly alternatives. We enjoyed a brilliant two weeks."


May 2017

A lovely cottage in a stunning very peaceful location


March 2017

The two of us really enjoyed our five days at Slipway. The owner welcomed us soon after arrival and was discreetly available if needed. The car parking arrangements are excellent. The little waterside garden across the "dead end" access road is just the place to enjoy the interesting ever changing panoramic view of the tidal water and towards the bridge and the extremely picturesque village of Shaldon which is a short level walk away. The cottage is very well equipped and my favourite room is the kitchen diner with it's pretty mirrored alcoves and teal coloured table and dresser with decorative pottery all giving it the wow factor.


March 2017

This beautiful cottage in a stunning location was perfect for us and our little dog - so convenient for coastal and moorland walks. The owners, Bill and Ann,were extremely friendly and helpful - we hope to return many more times in the future.


October 2016

We had an excellent week in this beautiful and peaceful location. Very warm, comfortable well appointed cottage. All amenities a short walk away, with great dog friendly pubs and good food.


October 2016

Really welcoming with goodies that were provided, really well designed cottage for ultimate comfort and convenience. Housekeeper very kindly posted us clothes we had left behind and gave us a courtesy call. Owner also really friendly . Have recommended the cottage to all our friends and family !


October 2016

Slipway Cottage met all our expectations and is a lovely place to stay for a very relaxing holiday. Perfect.


October 2016

Lovely cottage, extremely well equipped. Meet and Greet came to make sure every thing was OK. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you.


September 2016

Needs a bit of TLC, new appliances, general refresh Location excellent with two parking spaces and excellent views across the estruary

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're pleased that you enjoyed the lovely location of Slipway Cottage, but were sorry to see that you felt some areas needed refreshing. The cottage is very popular as you can see from the numerous reviews, and it has been a very busy season. We will be in touch directly and have passed the information to the Owners; they've confirmed that although the hob and oven are only 4 years old, they will be replacing them at the end of this year. Tanya, Customer Support

UPDATE Nov 2016 - A new Bosch oven and hob have just been installed.


August 2016

A beautiful cottage in a lovely setting, we loved having the garden looking over the estuary.


August 2016

A beautiful cottage in a lovely setting.


June 2016

Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location, very peaceful and relaxing. We did not want to leave, weather was fantastic and my little Westie Fling loved it too! Great holiday. I would highly recommend Slipway Cottage and the great customer service from Classic Cottages.


May 2016

Beautiful cottage, very clean in an excellent location. Would definitely stay again.


April 2016

We had a wonderful week at Slipway Cottage - an easy 5 min walk to all facilities at Shaldon - a jewel of a village. Didn't realise the whole of the English Riviera was within an hour by car. First class location and first class cottage.


March 2016

This was our second stay at Slipway cottage and it will not be our last. It is a lovely cosy cottage in a simply stunning location. It is in a quiet location on the edge of Shaldon and the village is delightful and incredibly dog friendly which is important to us. We have been renting from you for many years ,often twice a year, and this little gem is up there with the best of them.


March 2016

The owners were very friendly and attentive and we enjoyed our stay in this cottage tremendously. This is certainly a cottage we would like to return to in the future .


February 2016

Highly recommended dog friendly cottage. Fantastic location with parking. If you enjoy walking there is no need to take the car unless you want to go further afield. The cottage is of an excellent standard. Stayed in February and was warm and cosy. Could not fault anything. Our second visit and we plan on making it a third.


December 2015

This is a little gem of a holiday cottage, much more spacious than I had thought from seeing the exterior. Lovely roomy kitchen with plenty of fridge and freezer space. The sitting room is cosy for watching dvds or playing some of the games provided. The cottage is cosy and warm in winter. The towels are now of a very large size! The bedrooms are pretty.


October 2015

This cottage sits on the edge of the Estuary. It has a lovely quaint look about it and In a quiet location. The neighbours were very friendly to talk to as were the residents of Shaldon. Very well equipped kitchen, everything you need. Nice welcome tray and biscuits for the dogs nice touch. If a wet day plenty of boxed games and cards to play with.


October 2015

Shower not suitable for larger person. Bring your own towels. Teignmouth town very rundown. Travel to Exmouth, which has a wonderful beach. London Inn food best in the area, wonderful. Poor food in the Ness pub, at the top of the town.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you for your feedback - we were sorry that you didn't feel you had enough towels (guests can expect a hand towel and bath towel per person, as well as an extra hand towel at each sink or wash-basin, but of course you are welcome to bring extra if you feel you need more). It's also a shame that you found the shower cubicle a little too small for you personally - it is a standard quadrant shower cubicle, but hopefully you were able to use the second bathroom as an alternative. Teignmouth is of course across the river, but we hope that you enjoyed Shaldon and its lovely restaurants and village feel a little more. Tanya, Customer Support


September 2015

We had a lovely holiday at Slipway Cottage. A quiet, peaceful location with lovely views over the estuary. A 10 minute walk, along flat ground, takes you to the centre of the village - with a great selection of pubs and restaurants. We can fully recommend the London Inn. The secret beach at the Ness (through the Smugglers Tunnel) was fabulous.


August 2015

This little cottage was just gorgeous! We had a fabulous week with my 2 young children and dog. The cottage provided us with everything we needed and it was very clean. Downstairs is spacious, especially the large kitchen, and upstairs is cosy but it is a cottage. The housekeeper Mike was amazing and was very helpful. The location is just perfect. Everything you need is within walking distance. The estuary was great and the 10 min walk into Shaldon for sundowners and dinner each evening was fab. I cant wait to go back again!


July 2015

Beautiful cottage in a lovely location. Great for a family holiday with young children. We loved getting the ferry over to Teignmouth and enjoying all the fun there but then coming back to the pubs and restaurants in Shaldon.


June 2015

As far as I am concerned the location couldn't be bettered. You could spend all day sitting in the garden looking over the estuary. Who needs to go abroad?


May 2015

The location is excellant. Very quiet and peaceful. Very close to all amenities without the hussle and bustle. The cottage itself is decorated and kept to a very high standard. We were all very happy with our stay and will be sure to return.


May 2015

A beautiful cottage with a high standard of decoration,equipment and facilities. Close to Shaldon village. Shaldon is a beautiful place.


April 2015

We were very impressed by the location of the cottage, the very high quality of the accommodation and the speed with which the catertaker organised the replacement of a door handle that was jamming and broke when he tried to improve it. Overall it was an excellent place to stay and we recommend it wholeheartedly.


March 2015

Ann & Bill White have done everything to make the stay really comfortable, and are really welcoming. They even left out goodies for my dog and dog bowls!! Everything has been thought of! Anything you need- it is there! Excellent!! I would go to Slipway again


March 2015

Lovely cottage in a quiet location 10 mins level walk to Shaldon centre. Beautifully fitted and furnished. Dog friendly. Welcome pack for both the dog and the owners. Small secure patio area as well as the estuary side garden which is lovely to sit out in and just chill. Good cooking facilities in the cottage but also lots of places to eat locally as well. Bedroom no 1 is a little tight with access to only one side of the bed but didn't cause us any problems. The Cottage owners were around when we were there and couldn't have done more to help us enjoy our stay.


February 2015

Slipway Cottage is highly recommended. It is a superbly furnished property with excellent views of the estuary, and good parking facilities. The shops, pubs and restaurants in Shaldon are within walking distance, and nearby Teignmouth is worth a visit. Great advantage for our dog to be welcome in the cottage and pubs. Already planning a return trip, if and when available.


February 2015

Location close to Exeter, wonderful hosts,quiet location, and cafes and restaurants very dog friendly. Lovely beach too.


January 2015

Quiet location in a row of a few houses with a short walk into shaldon with lovely river views ,secure courtyard garden for dogs straight out from kitchen .


August 2014

Perfect little cottage in a beautiful location.


August 2014

Our 2nd visit to Slipway Cottage, and every bit as enjoyable as our first visit. Shaldon is a beautiful resort.

We would reiterate again that the shower in front bedroom needs re-thinking for safety sake please.

Also, the patio and parking area needs to have a private sign, as we did have cars parking there.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your return visit. Given your concerns about the light fitting in the shower-room, I've checked again with the owner who confirms it is a special fitting installed and signed off by a qualified electrician, so perfectly safe. We're sorry about the misunderstanding re the parking area - there is a little fence separating it from next door but we'll have a look and see additional signage would help. Tanya, Customer Support

UPDATE NOV 2014 There has been some remodelling of the shower-room and the light fitting has been relocated. A sign for the parking area is currently being made.


June 2014

Comfortable accommodation in beautiful location with lovely views over the estuary.


June 2014

The location is excellent and we would like to return next year.


April 2014

Lovely, warm, welcoming cottage in excellent position overlooking the estuary.


March 2014

This is a lovely cottage in a very good position overlooking the estuary and extremely convenient as regards local shops and places to visit. We would highly recommend it.


March 2014

Slipway Cottage is well situated with good access to many popular seaside resorts. It is very well fitted out to a very high standard and caters for all your personal needs, including WiFi connections. Great views of Teignmouth and the estuary.


September 2013

This property is in a perfect location if you require access to the water. It is in a quiet location but within easy access to teignmouth or torbay. I have stayed in this same location many times and would reccommend the area for a quiet break.


September 2013

Main reason (for choosing): dog friendly accommodation, plus had parking. All local amenities were also dog friendly (pubs, cafes, ferry, beaches). The cottage is in a quiet location but within very close walking distance to everything Shaldon and Teignmouth has to offer. We actually left the car parked by the cottage all week, as there was plenty to do all week on foot/ferry and train. The downstairs of the cottage is actually larger than the photos portray. If there is 4 adults staying at the cottage, then the upstairs would be cosy, but with 2 adults, the rooms are fine.


August 2013

Lovely cottage in nice and quiet location


August 2013

Overall a lovely cottage in a good location.


July 2013

We loved Slipway Cottage. It had everything we were looking for. Shaldon village with its lovely setting along the Teign estuary near the sea is a great place to spend your summer holiday. It is quiet enough for us (not the noice of most seaside towns), the beaches are great, especially Ness Beach where dogs are allowed. We loved walking the Coast Path towards Torquay. The local people were all very friendly. It is just a short walk to the village heart with the butcher, baker, news agent and small supermarket. There are some nice restaurants as well.


June 2013

Slipway cottage is a lovely little cottage , bright and cheerful and in a perfect location.


May 2013

Slipway Cottage is an idyllic cottage in a perfect location. The cleanliness was superb and all fixture and fittings were above normal. The only holiday cottage we have had where I actually wanted to extend our stay. Shame it was booked solid all summer. I want to go back like NOW,


May 2013

If you want to be near the sea and expect excellent furnishings this is the place for you.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.