Birch House Studio is in a peaceful sheltered position with the beautiful Blackdown Hills on the doorstep.
The bright and spacious open plan living space has French windows out onto your patio.
There is plenty of space for your car at the side of the cottage, keeping the patio clear so that you can enjoy sitting there.
The cottage looks out over the owner's gardens which are much enjoyed by the local wildlife.
There is an immaculate kitchen with absolutely all you will need during your stay here
Another view of the dining-area of this lovely one-level cottage.
You can park at the side of the cottage so that you keep the view for yourselves.
The cottage has a wonderfully comfortable recliner armchair and sofa.
Beyond the kitchen door is the utility-area, a downstairs cloakroom and your side entrance door. You can access the second bedroom this way too.
This view shows you the layout of the open plan space in relation to the main bedroom.
The kitchen is very contemporary and has a great range of equipment.
There is an integrated oven and microwave.
Birch House Studio is a perfect place to just relax and put your feet up.
The log effect electric fire adds a cosy feel to an out-of-season break.
The main bedroom has a brand new, super comfy, king-sized bed.
Another view of the main bedroom. You are sure to sleep soundly here. The cottage is in a truly peaceful setting.
The bedroom' s side window looks out to the grassy bank behind the cottage that borders the adjacent field. It is not overlooked at all.
There is a fitted dressing table and plenty of wardrobe space.  The door leads to the wet-room style shower-room.
The shower-room has a convenient wet-room shower-area. It can be accessed directly from the single bedroom too.
The single bedroom is tucked away at the back of the cottage - again, not overlooked at all.
There is plenty of storage in this bedroom too
By the entrance door is your utility-area and to the left of it the cloakroom.
The Blackdown Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is renowned for its natural habitats..... some prefer to visit the pretty garden that the cottage looks out over !
The coast is an easy drive - this is Sidmouth in east Devon.
The National Trust gardens and house at Killerton between Tiverton and Exeter.
Explore the Jurassic Coast a little further afield into Dorset - within easy reach of Birch House Studio.

Birch House Studio

2460

4.4 miles S of Wellington / Sleeps 3 (no children under 16)

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £331

September 2020

A very comfortable base from which to explore in all directions, even not using footpaths. With my mobility scooter in the car there was plenty to see and do. The weather helped, but Covid closures didn't ! A gem of a location.


August 2020

A lovely, comfortable, clean and very well-equipped cottage in an extremely attractive and private situation.
Plenty of easily-accessible places of interest to visit. A warm and comfortable base (with sun-trap courtyard) if relaxation preferred!


July 2020

We were naturally apprehensive about booking a holiday this summer, however, our hosts had thought of everything and we were 100% reassured from the moment we arrived. The property was spotless and beautifully arranged - every item in the kitchen was gleaming as if brand new, bathrooms were immaculate with lovely fluffy white towels and the bedding and beds were extremely comfortable and beautifully laundered and presented. Even the patio and garden furniture were all fresh and clean and ready for us to enjoy. We enjoy cooking on our holidays and found absolutely nothing lacking here. There are plenty of pans, baking trays, mixing bowls and serving dishes and the appliances are all excellent. The kitchen is very well designed and a pleasure to use. The location is incredibly quiet, the garden beautifully kept - we enjoyed watching the pheasants, squirrels and a wonderful range of birds every morning. There are three charming outdoor seating sets to suit any time of day or meal with a nice big umbrella if you are seeking some shade. The studio offered a great base from which to visit the beautiful south coast ( Beer, Branscombe, Sidmouth and Llyme Regis in particular) as well as Minehead and Kilve to the North and the magnificent Exmoor as well as a day in Exeter. Our hosts were absolutely charming and showed great concern for our enjoyment of the property and the area, whilst still respecting our privacy.


March 2020

Judy and Tim were very welcoming hosts and we had a wonderful short break. The studio was very warm and cosy with all home comforts. The location is excellent for visiting many attractions in Devon.


August 2019

We had a really lovely relaxing holiday at Birch House Studio. After the usual tiring journey to the south west in August we received the most cheerful, friendly, bright welcome from the exceptional owners. From the moment we entered the cottage any anxieties that we may have felt disappeared as the tour of the property revealed cleanliness, comfort and a lovely view from the patio doors onto an attractive garden with lots of birds in the trees. It was great to see the visiting pheasant and woodpecker whilst having breakfast. The cottage is very well equipped from the kitchen to the bedrooms and bathroom with good quality furnishings. Birch House is well placed for visiting many areas. We had a steam train trip to Minehead on the north coast and another day we visited Lyme Regis in east Dorset. Both enjoyable places to visit. We also took advantage to visit historic properties. We particularly enjoyed Forde Abbey.
The week passed all too quickly and we would be very happy to recommend Birch House Studio and will be very pleased to visit again.
Thank you for a great week's holiday.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Birch House Studio - it's lovely to hear that you had such a wonderful time overall. The long journey down to Cornwall is so worth it and the addition of a home from home like Birch House Studio is just the cherry on the cake! It's fantastic that you managed lots of exploring and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to continue your adventures! Bryony, Customer Support


June 2019

It was such a lovely bright and clean also very well equipped, especially the kitchen. Unfortunately we had to cut our holiday short as l was not very well. It was touch and go whether we would be able to make the holiday as l hadn't been very well up until the week of our stay in the studio,but l wasn't prepared to not come. I did get to see my niece and nephew, children of my late sister, who l lost at the young age of 61, 9 years ago . That was the incentive l had to get there as they live in Taunton and we live in Bognor Regis. We unfortunately had to leave on the Tuesday due to my health. The last thing l would like to say is about the lovely view over the garden.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so sorry to hear that you had to had to return home earlier than planned due to ill health but pleased that you were able to visit some very important family members. We'd love to welcome you back and hope that you feel better very soon. Tressa, Customer Support


May 2019

A spacious but comfortable property set amongst this fantastic part of the countryside. Great for solitude and access to Devon and Somerset. Everything in the property you would need for long or short stays. I particularly noticed the comfort of the chairs and bed-sometimes a problem with being tall/back problems and having to resort to the floor to sleep when such comforts are lacking. Not so here and a comprehensive amount of information about the property and local area.


April 2019

Our 4th visit to Birch House Studio and as always an exceptional property to stay at. It is very homely and everything you could want for supplied. The owners are so friendly and welcoming and we always feel very much at home here. It is the ideal base for visiting Somerset and Devon with not much distance to travel for the sea, Exmoor, Dartmoor and many National Trust properties. We are now trying to fit in another visit hopefully late Autumn - springtime is a stunning time to visit this area as the scenery is spectacular and so colourful.


March 2019

We would like to visit again when the weather would allow us to explore the area better

Reply from Classic Cottages

It's great to see that the studio was a cosy haven from the weather, but please do come back and visit again in the sunshine. Tanya, Customer Support


December 2018

This is an excellent property - well equipped and very cosy and warm. It's very peaceful and ideal for a relaxing holiday whether you just want to chill out or go to various places - Sea, moorland or National Trust properties etc.


September 2018

It was a very comfortable, well equipped cottage and the owners were really friendly and helpful


August 2018

Excellently provisioned cottage. Very welcoming on-site owner.


July 2018

All the extra little touches made our holiday and stay in the cottage very comfortable.


May 2018

A very nice & comfortable cottage, very quiet at night & first thing in the mornings all you can hear are the birds singing, just lovely. Owners are very helpful & are there if you want them.


April 2018

This is a beautiful cottage set in lovely gardens and the hosts are so helpful.We would recommend this if you want a quite retreat or it's so accessible to three counties.Its spotless with everything you could possibly need for the perfect holiday.


April 2018

First class immaculate and fitted out to a very high standard so comfortable. We would rate this as our best one yet. No hesitation at all in recommending the studio to friends and family. Every thing you could wish for and then more.


February 2018

Delightful property in a lovely location, extremely comfortable and well equipped.


August 2017

An excellent property, really clean and comfortable. Quiet and relaxing, owner could not of been more helpful, even providing folder of walks around the property, which was most useful.


May 2017

I think I have said everything about the studio. Thanks to Judy we a great time, perfect house and like to come back again !!!

Evelyne and Ton from Odijk in Holland.


April 2017

Birch House Studio is the perfect place to have a peaceful, relaxing holiday. It has everything you need to make your stay wonderful. The studio is a very well equipped, clean and cosy place to stay. Lots of places to go and see. Can highly recommend the Half Moon Public House very friendly, tasty home cooked food.


December 2016

We enjoyed our stay over the Christmas period so much we have already booked this property for another week at the end of April 2017


September 2016

A beautiful studio with every home comfort provided. We found it immaculate and hope to revisit next year. Judy was an excellent host who really makes sure that every little detail is perfect. I can't speak highly enough about the studio or Judy.


August 2016

We didnt know about this grandious region "blackdown hills " - best for walking, dont even need your car!


October 2015

Birch House Studio was an exceptionally well equipped and comfortable base for our time in the Black down Hills. Judy was a charming and thoughtful host. We had lovely flowers, strawberries and cream and biscuits to welcome us on arrival. I would love to return.


September 2015

This is an ideal 'away from it all' retreat in beautiful countryside.


September 2015

An outstanding cottage which exceeded expectations. Judy was warm, welcoming and friendly and we cannot speak highly enough of her. It is faultless as far as we are concerned.


June 2015

The property was so peacful and quiet, and although next door to the owners we felt on our own which is what we wanted. The interior was beautiful, open and airy. The kitchen is the best equipped l have ever known. The welcome tea and bisquits, and first breakfast was a bonus. They also advised us to go to Branscombe Bay which was absolutely beautiful. Also we were advised to go to the pub for fish and chips in newspaper. As we used to love them out of newspaper we went along, and they were delicious. If we ever go back to that part of the world l will stay there again.


June 2015

Birch House Studio is a real 'gem'. Set in an idyllic location it is equipped to the highest standards and provides all you could possibly need for a peaceful and relaxing holiday.


April 2015

We had a lovely time at Birch House Studio. Perfect location and accomodation- the weather was fabulous too. We'll definitely be back to visit.


September 2014

Lovely little property in a beautiful spot. Extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean.


September 2014

This was just perfect accommodation for a peaceful rest. Everything provided for our comfort and a very warm welcome (including breakfast provisions) provided by the owners.


August 2014

lovely place to stay - a home from home. lovely rural surroundings with very friendly warm and kind folk. quiet and peaceful but only short distances to the sea. great place for nature and walk lovers!


July 2014

The description applies 100%. Very calm and relaxing location in the heard of rural southern England with many places close to explore and to enjoy. Property well kept and clean with change of towels and bedsheets in between the 14 days of our stay.


July 2014

We have been staying at cottages in the West Country for ten year's. We have always been pleased with the accommodation, but this GEM is on another level.


June 2014

beautifully kept cottage 10/10


May 2014

This cottage is immaculate with all the equipment and facilities to make for a comfortable holiday. As it is all on one floor with a wet floor shower it is especially convenient for elderly people or for those with disabilities.


December 2013

Excellent accommodation - Great Weekend - Only negative side is it is surrounded by narrow 2 way roads - which aren't suitable for 2 cars to pass each other simultaneously.


September 2013

Perfectly sized accommodation for 2 or 3 people - tardis like in proportions - you keep finding more rooms! Equipped and furnished to an extremely high standard, perfect peace and quiet, and "landlords" who give you a warm welcome, provide you with your first morning's breakfast, and give you the highlights on any local activities you may want to attend.


July 2013

The pictures on the website are a true representation of the Studio; what they don't show however, is the high level of cleaniness, the clever design of the property and the extensive information provided by the lovely owners, about the local area. It was an extremely peaceful and private place, and most comfortable, and if one is happy to stay-put in the local area, then it would be perfect. However, my son and I made the mistake of using it as a touring base - because, driving in the immediate vicinity is somewhat awkward given the long, narrow lanes; next time (and I would go there again), I'd just make better use of the extremely well-mapped and detailed walks provided by the owners, and take a good book with me to stop me venturing too far. Oh, and I expect that it has its own favourable micro-climate: everytime we ventured afar and caught the heavy rain, we would return to find that the day had been very fine indeed!


May 2013

We have no hesitation in recommending Birch House Studio. We had a great holiday and the owners Judy and John went out of their way to be helpful and friendly as possible. The facilities at the Studio are superb and far exceeded expectations.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.