Verbena Cottage is a single-storey semi-detached retreat.
Boating on the lake.
The open plan living-room.
The open plan living-room.
The gorgeous double bedroom is very spacious.
The kitchen.
The bathroom has a luxury shower.
A pretty spot for al fresco dining.
The delightful summer-house by the lake is for the use of all guests.
You're welcome to use the summer-house perhaps for a meal or to simply sit back, relax and enjoy the view.
Tree walk by the stream.
Woodland walks.
Flowers over the lake.
Life in the lake margin.
The path around the lake in autumn.

Verbena Cottage


1.2 miles NW of Beaworthy / Sleeps 2 + cot

7 Nights from £320 - £695

December 2017

A spacious, yet cosy and extremely comfortable, cottage, well-equipped with lovely views over a private lake! The owners are very friendly and helpful! A quiet and. peaceful corner of Devon, it is nevertheless in easy reach of several market towns and authentic Devon villages, with churches and pubs! An easy drive to Dartmoor and the North Devon and Cornish coasts! A cottage to return to in Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter!

October 2017

Very good standard of furnishings, heating etc..

September 2017

Peaceful, tranquil location. Just what we needed.

June 2017

Verbena Cottage is just beautiful, and the location is stunning. Lovely walks and lots of wildlife, loved feeding the birds. This is just the place to chill out and recharge the batteries. Thank you Anne and John for a wonderful holiday, just heavenly. Would certainly recommend this Cottage if you need a relaxing holiday.

June 2017

Wonderful location for peace and quiet. The only noises were nature - bird song, wind etc., and the very occasional tractor in the distance.

May 2017

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting but it is remote at at the end of a unmade road. Ideal for those who want to get away from it all.

May 2017

the cottage was lovely had everything that you wanted. a nice kept garden and lake in a peaceful setting.

March 2017

Good for bird watchers.

January 2017

I will definitely recommend Verbena Cottage to friends and family. Just perfect. So clean and cosy. We loved it! Oh, and the delicious home-made ginger cake on arrival was a welcome bonus!

October 2016

Our 4th visit! That says it all! The owners are very friendly and helpful! Immediate location amazing with views over lake, boat and lovely walks round lake! Take wellies! The location within Devon is great! A tranquil, unspoilt corner of West Devon: plenty of pretty villages and pubs! Easy access to Oakehampton, Launceston, Holsworthy and Tavistock, all with a wide range of supermarkets, cafes and restaurants! Only a 20 minute drive to Dartmoor and spectacular walks with the highest tors locally, and also a 20 minute drive to Bude and the N. Devon and N . Cornish coast with access to the spectacular walks along SW Coastal Path! The Ruby Country has many Forestry Comission Walks with opportunities for cycling and horse riding! Also close to hand is the Tamar Valley, with the Teign, Taw and Torridge Valleys offering beautiful walks! A wealth of NT properties and RHS Gardens at Rosemoor are all worth visiting! Hallwill Junction has a friendly local pub with food and a post office and general stores! No wonder we keep returning! An ideal, central location for exploring Devon! Definitely our favourite cottage!

September 2016

Superb cottage, we had a really fab time loved the wood burner, the walk around the lake was an enjoyable nature walk , fungi, dragonflies, water lilies and 30 odd species of birds. Wonderful views, from cottage, beautiful gardens, really relaxing row on the lake. Owners were lovely and very helpful.

July 2016

Beautiful cottage,would recommend to anyone. We will definitely be back!

March 2016

Extremely roomy cottage, cosy and comfortable, with all mod cons and very friendly and helpful owners! An amazing location overlooking lake and close to both Dartmoor and SW Coastal Path for brilliant walking! Our third visit and we'll be back!

December 2015

The cottage was first class. It's the first time we have booked a cottage with Classic Cottages. We will definitely recommend Classic Cottages to all our friends.

October 2015

Lovely property, very roomy, good location for trips to Exeter or the coastal areas.

July 2015

Lovely peaceful cottage with beautiful garden and great bed! Watching the birds is a joy, so bring lots of nuts!

July 2015

Verbena Cottage is a really nice place to wind down and relax

July 2015

Verbena cottage is a real treat- the setting is lovely- fish to feed in the lake, lots of birds, gorgeous planting that gives privacy and is wildlife friendly. The cottage itself is of a very high standard - great use of eco technology, comfortable and warm. The owners are friendly and really helpful. Our stay was so enjoyable - we will be returning!

May 2015

Superb location and use was made of boat on private lake.

April 2015

Our week at Verbena Cottage more than met our expectations. Our second visit and certainly not our last! A spacious, cosy, warm comfortable cottage in a lovely location with amazing views over lake and garden. Very friendly and helpful owners. The cottage is in a completly unspoilt area of Devon. Quiet and peaceful with easy access to Dartmoor and North Coasts of Devon and Cornwall.

April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay including the view of the lake and beyond from both dining table and patio. Our hosts there were very accommodating.

September 2014

this the finest cottage we have ever stayed, perfect in every way, if you want peace and quite, this is the place for you ,

September 2014

Verbena Cottage is a very pretty propety situated in beautiful surroundings. There are lots of walks and the view over the lake is excellent. It is an ideal base for discovering Devon and Cornwall.

Many thanks for a lovely week would not hesitate to return and would recommend this property to others.

September 2014

A lovely cottage and location. Saw the kingfisher twice on the lake which cottage overlooks. So peaceful and beautiful. Cottage had all you could wish for on a self-catering holiday - wonderful.

July 2014

Really lovely cottage to get away from it all and re-charge your battery's. Very peaceful and quiet but within reasonably easy reach of the coast.

April 2014

Excellent service from Classic Cottages all round. Friendly and helpful. Peaceful location in an unspoilt and non-touristy area of the county. Lovely little patio and garden overlooking the lake added to the charm. Very friendly and welcoming owners. We couldn't fault this cottage at all.

April 2014

The cottage is very well decorated, extremely clean and very cosy. It is also very well equiped. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Thank you.

September 2013

A fantastic cottage with a very comfy superking bed and a great log fire. The location is great for Devon and Cornwall visits and the area around the cottage is beautiful. We will be back.

September 2013

The cottage was a delight to stay in, well equipped and very comfortable. The location was good and the outlook so relaxing. The only downside was the approach which did make you wonder where you were going on arriving. Also the approach road was very rough with huge potholes, I do hope that this will be rectified before very long .

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review - although the approach road is unmade, so will always be a little on the rustic side, we're happy to confirm that the Owner has filled in the potholes you noticed, and will continue to maintain the lane as required. We're really pleased that you had a great stay. Tanya, Customer Support

July 2013

Verbena cottage is a beautiful haven of tranquility. We had a perfect stay enjoying the wonderful grounds and lake as well as the facilities in the cottage. It is very well equipped and comfortable. Every thing you could need and very welcoming, thoughtful owners. We even had perfect weather!

June 2013

Lovely cottage in beautfiul location. Bit out of the way of any major towns / supermarkets but perfect for a peaceful retreat in the countryside.

June 2013

It was a beautifully decorated cottage with all the mod cons you could want. Outside there was a lovely sunny patio and garden.

April 2013

we loved our stay at vebena. We really want to return. The highlight was the barn owls! The cottage its self is ideal and the 6 ft bed very comfortable. Very relaxing indeed. The grounds are excepitional and country walk all around

March 2013

A wonderful place for a quiet weekend getaway.

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.