Boating on the lake.
The Garden House is a luxurious modern barn conversion.
The open plan living-room.
The living-room and kitchen-area are open plan.
The cosy wood-burner will warm your toes and your wine!
The beautiful large window is a very attractive feature.
The cosy sitting-area with wood-burner, great television and books!
The fully equipped kitchen is a joy to use.
French windows open straight out from the living-room onto a sunny, west-facing patio.
Both bedrooms at The Garden House are very comfortable.
One of the en suites at The Garden House.
The rear view of The Garden House with parking for two cars alongside the private patio.
The glorious view west over the vegetable garden and orchard, as seen from the main bedroom window.
The delightful summer-house by the lake is for the use of all guests.
You're welcome to use the summer-house, perhaps for a meal or to simply relax and take in the view.
The lake in the Owners' grounds.
Flowers over the lake.
Life in the lake margin.
The tree walk by the stream.
Woodland walks.

The Garden House

2410

1.2 miles NW of Beaworthy / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £363 - £789

May 2018

The Garden House provided us with precisely the relaxing break we were looking for. It's well presented and equipped. It is ideally positioned to support trips to various places along the North Devon and Cornish coastline, plus fantastic gardens like RHS Rosemoor


September 2017

Beautifully furnished and well-kept accommodation, serene, beautiful, quiet, idyllic surroundings. Loved being in the heart of the countryside. Only 20 minutes' drive to the sea and Dartmoor. We will be going back.


July 2017

Really nice comfortable, clean, well equipped cottage. Nice location, apart from the awful driveway, full of potholes and quite uncomfortable in our 4x4 so probably rather painful in an ordinary car. Didn't make it to the garden as it rained most of the time. Wifi was patchy at best, I believe the cottage owner has an ongoing problem with his wifi supplier. No mobile signal at all, the cottage is apparently insulated with tin foil so no signal is possible. However it is a nice cottage, the woodburner was lovely - in July! - the bathrooms are lovely and the beds really comfortable. It's a great location, ideally situated for lots of places.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review, we're pleased you had a great time overall. The access lane is an unmade farm track as detailed, so is bumpy in places. Thanks for letting us know about the WiFi issue, the owner has installed a new more powerful router to fix the problem; mobile reception is unfortunately harder to address as the very thick stone walls and rural location can result in a variable signal - do check the network coverage maps for your specific provider or ask for more details if this is important. Bryony, Customer Support


July 2017

The house is wonderful, the garden is fantastic especially the lake.


May 2017

Really well appointed cottage giving very comfortable sleeping accommodation and with spacious lounge and kitchen areas.

No fishing in lake on site but several good day ticket waters within 15 minutes drive of cottage.


December 2016

Lovely peaceful holiday.


August 2016

Lovely cottage, generous size rooms. We loved the grounds, the walk round the lake and feeding the fish and of course a trip out in the boat. Can't fault the property and I am sure we will return.


September 2015

Enjoyed our stay in the Garden House, owners very welcoming, lovely quiet location with beautiful garden and lake. House was comfortable and had everything you could need for a great holiday.


June 2015

The owners were excellent in their attention to detail. There were flowers and home made cake when we arrived. When we needed their help, it was given instantly, and when it wasn't, there was no attempt to interfere. Would thoroughly recommend.


October 2014

This property is truly amazing and the couple who own it, John and Anne, (living next door) could not have been more helpful and charming. It sets a very high standard of comfort that will be hard, if not impossible, to improve upon. For us the location is perfect and we will be returning in the future. The rural location yet within easy reach of the coast and moorland could not have been more suited to our needs. Leaving the property on Saturday and driving out of the area around North Devon was like bursting a bubble to step back into the 'real' world. We cannot wait to go back. There was nothing about the property or its location that we didn't enjoy.


February 2014

The Garden House is a super-comfortable bolt hole, really well equipped and smart with excellent attention to detail. The grounds are wonderful.


November 2013

Good value, two en-suite double bedrooms which is ideal for sharing with our friends, eco property was also a big plus. Only issue is with access lane to cottage, grounded the car a couple of times due to many potholes.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of The Garden House. The access lane is unmade, so does need to be approached with a degree of care to avoid any uneven areas, but the Owner has filled in the potholes that you noticed and will continue to maintain the track when needed. Tanya, Customer Support


September 2013

This property is very clean and comfortable. Owners were very welcoming and the grounds were amazing. Loved to wander around their garden and particularly enjoyed walking around the lake and we even managed to row the boat around the lake. Very rural and peaceful location, perfect little getaway. Would highly recommend!


July 2013

High quality accommodation, wonderful wildlife surround, tranquility. Owners very supportive, always available if required. Good base for Day out events. We had a great time


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.