Sparrow's Nest is in the centre, with its waterside enclosed garden and glass conservatory forming part of the estuary wall.
The front of this chocolate-box cottage.
The conservatory sits in the garden wall looking over the estuary.
The gorgeous master bedroom.
The sitting-room.
A great spot in the sitting-room to sit and read the paper.
Comfortable sofas in the spacious sitting-room.
A pretty breakfast-table.
The second sitting-room.
The spacious kitchen.
A bright sunny breakfast.
The view over the kitchen sink is out to the garden and water beyond.
The spacious kitchen.
The entrance hall.
The staircase.
The view from the master bedroom (Bedroom 1).
There are views of the estuary from Bedroom 2.
The first floor bathroom.
Bedroom 3 has twin beds.
Bedroom 4 has twin beds but is only really suitable for children as space is limited and one bed is 2'6
The view from Bedroom 4.
The conservatory is where lots of you will spend your time looking out over the water.
Super comfy seating available perfect for making your viewing even more pleasurable.
What amazing water views!
The front of the cottage with the slipway to the right. Parking is opposite the house.
A lovely spot for an evening meal or sun downer drink.
Direct access to the beach is only a gate away.
The exterior of the conservatory in the garden.
The sunny garden.
The small lane ends with a slipway down to the pebble beach.
The garden is full of colour in the summer.
Guests will never tire of the view with various craft going up and down the river.
The conservatory is in the wall and although this is taken at low water, at high tide it is almost like sitting on a boat with the water lapping below.
Loungers to enjoy the sun when it shines!
Low water on the river, this is the view from the car park!
The view from Ness Head above the village of Shaldon across to Teignmouth and further east.
A winter day's view of the house at the end of The Strand.
Still water on a winter's day.
A homeward bound fishing boat entering the Estuary.
Shaldon beach.
Look at that view.
What a pretty cottage.
What beautiful gardens when in broom.

Sparrow's Nest

2400

Shaldon / Sleeps 8 + cot

7 Nights from £812 - £2462

August 2018

Sparrows Nest is a beautiful House in a fantastic riverside location, being spacious and excellently fitted out. The owners added a few nice welcoming touches over and avbove expectations


August 2018

This is a delightful cottage in a beautiful location. The kitchen is very well equipped and the house has a nice ambience. The beds are comfortable and everywhere was very clean. As the weather was so good we spent a lot of time in the lovely garden overlooking the river. The 'garden room' was too hot during the day (!) but was perfect for breakfast and evening meals. We also took advantage of the convenience of the having a slipway adjacent to the house for kayaking. It's a short walk to shops including bakery, butcher, general store and excellent fish and chips, as well as several cafés and pubs.


July 2018

A beautiful home in a beautiful part of the world. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks to Ann and Bill and classic cottages for a wonderful break.


July 2018

A fine spacious cottage extremely well equipped and comfortable for the whole family.


September 2017

A truly wonderful holiday home. Such a beautiful chocolate box period property in a dream location. The property was very tastefully decorated with a mix of old and new with a very relaxed homely feel. It looked as if it had recently had a make over with a lot of the latest Laura Ashley home furnishings which were beautiful. The bathrooms were lovely: especially the walk-in shower and huge bath that was sheer luxury to soak in. Everything was so wonderfully clean and spotless. The sofas were very comfortable and so were the beds (which you often don't get whilst on holiday). You could really relax in every sense of the word. The best feature( apart from the fantastic kitchen and bay window from the master bedroom), was the conservatory over looking the estuary. We spent a lot of time having breakfast, lunch and evening meal out there, and sitting with a glass of wine as the sun went down...such a wonderful view and so lovely to watch the tide coming in and going out: and the many different types of sea birds. (take your binoculars) Our every need was catered for and the owners were very welcoming. In all the years we have been having self catering holidays I can honestly say that this is by far the best property we have ever stayed in. We lost track of the days and did not want to come home...... The village has an excellent bakery and butchers shop as well as a small general store and post office. There are several pubs in easy walking distance. We took the ferry over to Teignmouth which was a nice little town with an old fashioned promenade and pier. We also went into Newton Abbot which was a larger town with all your usual shops on the high street for shopping. It also has a nice old pannier market. Although we didn't explore the area and spent most of our time at the property there looks to be quite a lot to do for families if you have younger children.(there was a good selection of tourist information leaflets in the lounge) All in all a very nice place to stay and explore and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it . Just a fantastic truly relaxing break. If you are thinking of booking you wont be disappointed!


September 2017

Beautiful cottage, stunning views, pretty garden, lovely village, very comfortable beds nice cotton bedding, everything you need, thank you


August 2017

This is a spectacular cottage for a large family to make their holiday. The quiet ambience of Shaldon is refreshing and the beaches kept the children fully satisfied for many hours. They got spectacularly filthy on the river foreshore and loved it - They were conveniently hosed down later with the garden hose!


August 2017

A beautiful property in a fabulous location. We spent most evenings barbecuing in the garden and then relaxing in the conservatory with a glass of wine, just looking at the scenery.


July 2017

Would highly recommend this cottage - perfect location, gorgeous cottage and great outdoor space.


July 2017

Stunning cottage with superb views. Perfect place to unwind and relax in comfort, didn't want to leave!


June 2017

We're reluctant to praise it too highly for fear of not being able to book it again.


May 2017

Sparrows Nest is a beautiful cottage. Easy to get around from and just the place to relax, so pleased we found it.


May 2017

Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. The views are amazing. The beds so comfortable and the second lounge with film library a brilliant surprise! We were a party of five and our 75 year old loved it as well as our 3 year old!


April 2017

Sparrow's Nest is a really lovely house in a superb position. Everything about it is perfect. We look forward to returning next year.


April 2017

This property was a little bit of paradise in heaven. Perfect location right on the river, walking distance into the village of Shaldon. Very friendly and helpful owners, although we did not need their assistance as we had no isssues but they were on hand in case we did. Definitely thinking about booking for next year!


September 2016

Sparrow's Nest is a tranquil, very comfortable and stylish cottage with beautiful views.


August 2016

Beautiful cottage in excellent location with all amenities you could wish for


July 2016

When we drove up to the cottage it was just stunning the house inside was very nice lovely place shaldon beach 15 mins walk just had a brill holiday we will return again in the near furture


May 2016

A lovely cottage and area to visit.


May 2016

This charming property oozes character and sheer quality in every aspect. In over 20+years of booking with Classic Cottages this is one of the very best we have stayed at. Clearly this cottage is the pride and joy of its owners who have created a wonderful home which is a delight stay in.


April 2016

My family have had a wonderful week at Sparrow's Nest. So much care and consideration has gone into the property. The conservatory is superb, and the location perfect for 6 adults, 2 young children and a baby.


March 2016

What more can we all say it has been more than we expected a wonderful property so comfortable and bright with eye catching views of the river Teign as. We all say haste ye back again.


October 2015

Fabulous setting, with gorgeous views. Lovely furnishing, very comfortable. Garden summerhouse a real treat. Super size for a 2 family holiday. Recommended!


September 2015

This was the second time we have traveled from Australia to stay in this cottage and we couldn't be happier. It is blissful, charming and solace from the maddening world! We would stay forever if we could.


August 2015

A wonderful spot with a stunning river view. Cottage is perfect for a large family of 7. Facilities are excellent and the standard of cleanliness and attention to detail also great. Many places to sit and enjoy the surroundings in the garden. Good beaches for the children nearby and the set out of rooms in Sparrow's nest enable children to have their own spaces in which to play.

Overall an excellent holiday home.


July 2015

Stunning location for a beautiful cottage. We all enjoyed our stay. Spent most evenings in the conservatory.


June 2015

Brilliant house in lovely position. The best house we have stayed at.


May 2015

The cottage certainly lives up to it's photographs, with lovely light rooms. The views are spectacular and the area is very peaceful.


May 2015

We viewed Sparrow's nest on the internet and thought, wow! When we arrived and saw it in the flesh, it was even better! Everything about the cottage: decor, furnishings, location, views, presentation, etc, etc was just what we needed to have a lovely week away. We were really sorry when we had to leave.


April 2015

Excellent location and the river views from both the garden conservatory and upstairs bedrooms are superb. Furniture and fittings are of a high standard. We had some misgivings about the absence of Heating Controls for Guests plus some child safety concerns which hopefully will be addressed by the Owners. C.Gaskell, Southport

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review - I know from our telephone conversation that you enjoyed your time here, which we're delighted about. I'm glad the Housekeeper was able to adjust the heating to ensure your comfort. We've passed on your suggestion of window restrictors to the Owner - thanks again for taking the time to let us know. We hope to welcome you back to the West Country for another holiday soon. Tanya, Customer Support


April 2015

Our stay at Sparrow's Nest was really lovely, the conservatory was a real bonus, watching the comings and going's of the boats, seeing the sun set on the horizon, a very idyllic location. Missing Sparrow's Nest already!!


September 2014

5 star accommodation in a beautiful location...Thank you


September 2014

Loved this cottage. Very relaxing with lovely views Location is great, will certainly stay here again


August 2014

Just staying in this cottage is a holiday in itself, its is so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. The location is fabulous so much to do and see in the local area - we had the best week ever and my 9 year cried when we left - he had had such a great week at Sparrows Nest - highly recommended!


July 2014

Great location, beautiful cottage, even nicer than on the pictures on the web!


May 2014

A very charming and comfortable house. Sitting in the conservatory watching the river a particular plus.


May 2014

We have just returned from a week at Sparrow's Nest. This property is perfect in every way. The location is stunning with a fabulous garden and conservatory overlooking the water. The fixtures and fittings are of a very high standard and there are lots of personal touches within the house which make it fell much more homely than the standard holiday let. The caretaker was extremely helpful without being intrusive and the standard of cleanliness was superb. We have stayed in many a holiday cottage and this is without doubt the best quality we have encountered.


May 2014

This is a truly beautiful cottage and the family had a great time there. They did not want to go home........


April 2014

Sparrows Nest is a very nice and comfortable cottage, a good base for exploring the very nice area but also excellent for a day relaxing at home.


April 2014

Property very comfortable with lots of room for 8 guests to move about and be happy


October 2013

Perfect in every way. Mid Oct Week with beautiful sunshine all our stay so looked exactly like the photos! Wonderful.


August 2013

Beautiful cottage in a fabulous location.


August 2013

The most beautiful cottage you could find! Right on the waters edge with fantastic views from the master bedroom. 5 Stars!!!!


July 2013

We had a wonderful time in The Sparrow's nest. Lots to do, but the house and gardens and the views are so great that it's a pity to leave the place. The ferry to Teignmouth is a loveley way to cross over.


June 2013

really don't want to share such a perfect cottage and situation with anyone else!


June 2013

Excellent location and plenty of room , not so good for people over 6 ft !!!


June 2013

Wonderful location, large garden with fantastic views. The conservatory is a wonderful place for an evening meal.


May 2013

The cottage is in a beautifully quiet area and has lovely safe gardens for children (and adults!) to play in. The conservatory is very comfortable and is ideally furnished for you to eat in if you are having a BBQ.


May 2013

I could spend my holiday in the conservatory with that beautiful view and sounds of the river/sea. Every evening there was a sunset.


March 2013

A very special holiday cottage. Wonderful views, especially from the master bedroom and conservatory. Lots of space and attention to detail/quality of furnishings.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.