The big sitting/dining-room.
Wonderful views from the large, stone-walled courtyard over the beautiful countryside.
The dining-area.
The pretty pastel-coloured kitchen.
Roseney Barn.
The owner's field is behind the cottage, ideal for running the dog.
The sitting-area.
Generous seating for couples to relax in.
Plan your day exploring this lovely area.
This little wood-burner will ward off any chills out-of-season.
French doors open out to a little patio.
Looking from the sitting-area to the dining-area.
The dining-area.
Steps lead down from the living-area to the kitchen.
The kitchen is small but well-equipped.
A useful plate rack.
Kettle on, pot of tea and....relax!
Lovely wooden work surfaces.
This clever slit window looks out over fields and hills.
A super-king size bed (6') to stretch out in.
The bedroom is very spacious.
You can certainly stretch out and relax in this big bed!
Lovely bed linens.
Three windows let plenty of light into the bedroom.
Some lovely old farmhouse furniture.
Lovely original beams.
The en suite bathroom is spacious.
A big heated towel rail to keep the bathroom warm.
The bath with fitted shower can be accessed from both sides.
Walk out the gate and down to the paddock for dog walks.
The enclosed courtyard is a wonderful sun trap and has lovely views over rolling countryside.
The sailing waters at Fowey are a short drive away.
Readymoney Cove in Fowey is a great family beach.
Nearby Mevagissey is a quintessentially pretty fishing harbour.
Fishing boats in Mevagissey offload their catches on the quay.

Roseney Barn

2234

6.6 miles NW of Fowey / Sleeps 2 + cot (no children from 1 to 16)

Book or Reserve Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £345

The cottage is nice and lovely. However, our main reason for us booking it was a fire place. We got very disappointed when on arrival it had a notice out of order. We stayed for 4 nights and it was never fixed. This is not right as this information wasn't in the description of the property. So we were basically missed.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were really sorry that the wood-burner hadn't been available during your stay - unfortunately this wasn't something that we were aware of at the time as ordinarily we would let guests know of any issues prior to their stay. We can however confirm that it is now working again and we're really pleased you liked the cottage despite this issue. Bryony, Customer Support


Lovely quiet cottage surrounded by pretty countryside with lovely views. Conveniently situated to visit north and south Cornwall and visit local village pub. Well equipped and comfortable cottage and felt ‘at home‘ straight away.


Lovely cottage in an excellent location, very dog friendly garden, could of stayed there forever. Very well equipped and the bed was amazing.


This is a very spacious and comfortable property situated in beautiful quiet countryside. Although it is hidden down some country lanes it is well situated for places to visit such as The Eden Project, Gardens of Heligan and Mevagissey. The views from the courtyard are superb. Inside it is well equipped and decorated nicely. It was very clean and welcoming


Fabulous place to stay and stunning views. Ideal base for discovering the local area.


Nice spacious cottage. Large and comfortable bed. Lots of privacy and beautiful location.


Great peaceful location


Loved the barn, very clean, beautifull deco. Great for dogs as you have an enclosed patio. Lovely peacefull location. The Crown Inn is worth a visit, friendly staff and the best Guinness we have ever tasted


We had a lovely stay at Roseney. It was a perfect place for me and my dog - and I love to stay in old, characterful properties. The bed was extremely comfortable and the heating/water was all set up just right. The barn was furnished beautifully - simple and in keeping with the old building. I found it all to be a very relaxing place to stay. As an improvement for future guests, I would just like to mention 2 points -:

1 - The lower kitchen cupboard containing pots and pans smelt very damp. Although I appreciate that it’s an old stone barn, I did have to wash anything I used before I used it in order to get rid of the smell. I then didn’t put them back in if I was going to use them again. The smell didn’t notice in the kitchen itself thankfully.

2 - The hob is very under-powered. I’m not sure if there is a fault with it - or whether that’s how it comes. I found that using the most powerful rings on 6 ( top power) was not enough to get a real ‘sizzle’ ! I have never encountered this problem before. That meant I couldn’t sear or seal my meat - and my mushrooms just sat there doing nothing ! I cooked a fried breakfast, however it simmered rather than fried and I had to finish the bacon off under the grill to cook it properly and get a bit of crispness.

Please note the above issues did not spoil my stay. They would just be good points to address to make things better.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Roseney Barn - it's great to hear you and your four legged friend had a wonderful holiday overall. We're sorry that you had some issues with the hob and the lower kitchen cupboard - we'll certainly be sure to forward this to the owners for their attention at the next changeover and we're grateful to you for letting us know. Bryony, Customer Support


Would highly recommend to under 70 year olds. Be prepared for negotiating typical Cornish narrow roads. Ideal location for visiting National Trust, English Heritage Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Helligon and various local harbours and beaches.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for your review - Roseney Barn is in the most beautiful rural setting and we're so glad you enjoyed your time there. We hope you got to visit the lovely farm shop at Heligan too? Tanya, Customer Support


Unfortunately the weather for the week was raining or overcast, but the cottage was quiet, comfortable, particularly liked the patio & having the field a few paces away to run the dogs & the open outlook when we could see it!!


We had a fabulous, relaxing honeymoon in this beautiful cottage. Very comfortable bed ensured a good sleep after the busyness of the wedding. So peaceful and quiet and we felt totally at home. Particularly dog friendly, especially the secure, enclosed patio garden, it’s fabulous views! Well equipped kitchen, with quality cookware and crockery. Would love to return, as I’m sure we will. Thank you.


Lovely cottage, very quiet, comfortable and well equipped. We had very relaxing holiday exploring both north and south coasts, would definitely recommend staying here.


The cottage is rated as very good, but from our perspective in reality no more than good as it limited our movements.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your thoughts on Roseney Barn - the property is very tranquil and in a beautifully rural position, which does mean that it is accessed by some little Cornish lanes. We're sorry that you weren't comfortable with these, but very happy that you enjoyed the cottage itself. Tanya, Customer Support


A lovely Barn, nicely decorated and spacious. Good location for visiting lots of lovely places. A very peaceful and quiet location with countryside views.


The adjoining field is an asset for dog owners.


Very spacious with lovely views from patio.


A relaxing rural retreat


A hidden gem - wonderful quiet location tucked away in the middle of the countryside - one of the best properties we have stayed in!


Fantastic barn conversion we could easily live there.Stayed for a week at Christmas ,everything you need,perfect.Very quiet and relaxing location.No wifi so people who can't live without the internet might be a problem .Would totally recommend a stay here,perfect for couples.


Very well equipped accommodation, with excellent standard of cleanliness. Located in a lovely rural location, ideal for a quiet "get away from it all" break.


It is an idyllic and remote location and a cosy and romantic place indeed. The cottage is very well equipped and satisfied all our needs perfectly.


Wonderful place to go if you want together away from it all. Good location for travelling around. Beautiful views and wildlife to watch. You will get a excellent nights sleep away from the light pollution and noise. If your after a good nights sleep this is the place to be


Lovely place to stay


Lovely quiet location. Perfect for getting away from it all. We loved the country lanes for cycling with the dog and the surrounding countryside was absolutely stunning. Would definitely go back for a return visit.


Very peaceful and the dogs loved running in the field. Very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere


The barn is situated in very idylic surroundings with some very narrow country lanes to negotiate. The barn was very clean and tidy and was well equipt with everything that you may need during your stay. Very nicely laid out inside and a very tiny but charming courtyard outside. If your looking for somewhere that is quiet and relaxing with plenty of walks, then this accommodation is ideal. Would certainly use again.


We thoroughly enjoyed our break at Roseney. The cottage is extremely spacious and comfortable. It is equipped and furnished to a very high standard. The peaceful location ensures a good night's sleep and we felt completely relaxed.


We had a fabulous week with our two spaniels who were made welcome. Very comfortable cottage, warm and cosy. The garden a real suntrap for the late evening sun.


A really perfect experience. A great WHOW!


just right for a quiet break the peace is deafening


The lovely little patio garden was not fenced in and although the owners were very kind about our dog running around, even when he pounced on their cat and chased the partridges, it meant we were a bit nervous about letting him loose.

We really liked the quirky nature of the barn conversion. It was very comfortable, spacious and stylish accomodation. The owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The surrounding area was excellent for walking - even if some of the farmers were a bit grumpy when we got confused about the public footpaths. The walk to Helman's Tor was particulary scenic. We'd definitely consider a return visit.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to pass on your review of Roseney Barn. We were really pleased to see that you had a great stay. The patio at the cottage isn't enclosed as your dog discovered, but we're glad that cat, partridges and dog were all unharmed and we hope he enjoyed exploring the local footpaths and the lovely walking in the area. Tanya, Customer Support


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.