This is a perfect place to sit and while away a sunny day.
Topsails is on the top floor of this pretty building, just around the left-hand side.
The beach stretches around this sheltered bay, The Owner provides picnic/deck chairs for you to take down to the water's edge.
The kitchen/dining-room is bright and cheerful.
The modern kitchen is light and airy.
A perfect place to start your day out exploring the Jurassic Coast.
The cosy sitting-room is a little home-from-home.
The bedroom is a lovely welcoming room.
There are friendly touches throughout the apartment to make you feel at home.
There is plenty of information in the apartment to help you plan your day.
A cheerful finishing touch in the bathroom, complete with a heated towel rail.
Topsails is set at the top left-hand side of these apartments.
The fishing boats pulled up on the beach are a lovely sight - you can buy fish straight from the sea in the little fish stall.
Beer is a traditional fishing village. You can watch the boats unloading their daily catch and buy fresh fish from the quayside fish stall.
Fresh seasonal fish from the stall on the edge of the beach.
The main entrance to the apartments is the nearest door in the picture
Pack up a picnic and head for the beach for the day....
....or treat yourself to a well-deserved holiday lie-in.
Watch the ebb and flow of the tide.
The beach is a short stroll from Topsails.
The beach is deceptively long here - stretching to either side of the bay. If you don't want to laze on the beach you can tackle the coastal path.
The lovely pebbled beach at Beer - there is a great cafe too, and you can also buy fresh fish straight off the boats.
Lyme Regis is in the other direction, just over the border into Dorset, an easy drive from Beer.
A view across the Cobb Harbour towards Lyme Regis.
This is the Regency town of Sidmouth. There is a lovely promenade and a great town centre for browsing for some treats.
Sidmouth is a short drive down the coast. This is the view from Jacob's Ladder at the far end of the town.

Topsails

2226

Beer / Sleeps 2 (no children under 12)

7 Nights from £290 - £585

July 2017

We would recommend this apartment to any couples that would like a good location and near to shops and pubs. Walking distance to the beach. ( 2 minutes ). All facilities in the apartment were excellent.


June 2017

The location of the property cannot be faulted. It is literally a few yards to the beach, restaurants, cafes and shops. It doesn't have any private outside space, so barbecuing isn't really an option. However, there are numerous public benches in the area overlooking the beach - we took fish and chips from the nearby chip shop and a bottle of wine to a bench and enjoyed the ambience until sundown. The property has no washing machine, so is perhaps most suitable for stays of up to a week.


May 2017

Perfect accommodation in authentic and delightful village


April 2017

A beautiful little retreat for two people most conveniently placed.


February 2017

I feel that it should be emphasised that the stairway to the cottage is very steep and for an elderly person, this may be a serious disadvantage.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you for your comments about Topsails. The property is on the second floor of the building, so wouldn't be a good choice for anyone who can't manage stairs easily. We don't feel the staircase is excessively steep, but being an older property it may appear slightly steeper or narrower than a modern house. Tanya, Customer Support


December 2016

Beer is such a lovely place, and having Topsails as a base was just perfect. The cleanliness, warmth, comfort and position of the apartment is excellent. I hope we will be able to stay there again.


November 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Topsails and would return again very soon, whilst initially the accommodation seemed a little on the small side, once settled in we realised how cosy it really was, location is ideal as you really dont need to drive anywhere from this beautiful little village, we spent 4 days walking during the day, then enjoyed eating/drinking out during the evening with only a couple of steps to return to a warm and welcoming apartment - Thank you to the owners for providing very clean and comfortable accommodation!!

Caroline & Gavin (Nottinghamshire)


September 2016

The apartment was excellently located, and overall nicely furnished and equipped and we very much enjoyed our stay.


July 2016

Cosy accommodation in an excellent location with all the eating and drinking places to suit all tastes. Elderly or infirm people need to be aware that it is quite a climb up narrow stairs to the second floor, with only a glimpse of the sea, a narrow wedge, through the kitchen window

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Topsails and, although we don't advertise a sea view, we're sure you'll agree that the little sneaky peek you get from the kitchen is a bonus! The apartment is on the second floor so more suited to guests who are mobile enough to climb stairs, as you found. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2016

Topsails is a tastefully decorated, well equipped cosy apartment in a perfect location in Beer. The owners added lots of little touches to make our stay comfortable; car parking permit, books, DVDs, CDs, beach bag with picnic rug, milk in the fridge, flowers etc. The tea, coffee and biscuits were welcome.


July 2016

Great location, nicely decorated and furnished. Very clean and comfortable. But downside is very poor sound proofing. We could hear the occupants in other apartments every move, from early morning excercising to constant background noise of them being there, especially as we would not describe them as noisy people. Very dissapointing.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were so sorry to hear that you were disturbed by some of the neighbours - obviously Topsails is an apartment and as such, you are in close proximity to other apartments with the possibility of occasional sound transference, but we would have been happy to see what could be done to improve matters for you had we been aware. Beer is a lovely and vibrant little village as you found, and we're delighted that you enjoyed this aspect of your stay. Classic Cottages


May 2016

Beautiful location. People very friendly in Beer.


May 2016

Lovely apartment, clean and comfortable, in a great location. Good choice of restaurants, and beautiful coastal views and walks on the doorstep.


April 2016

Comfortable apartment, nicely decorated in an ideal location by the sea. A perfect choice for a break!


February 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Topsails. The property is in a great location, close to very good eateries and walks. It is well laid out and comfortably furnished, with a good eye to detail and enough space for the two of us. The owners' welcome/advice pack was thorough and helpful, with some useful local insights. We look forward to returning later in the year.


January 2016

Spotlessly clean cottage. No complaints whatsoever. Town a bit quiet out of season. Local curry house very good. We had a great time.


December 2015

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location. Great to visit the area in the winter and Topsails provides an ideal bolt hole to come back to after rainy walks.


October 2015

A cheery, bijou seaside pad, perfect for our needs. Welcoming flowers with tea and biscuits much appreciated after a 7 1/2 hour drive!


September 2015

I loved booking my holiday with classic cottages. There service was great. Good communication and lots of useful information on the area we were visiting. It felt like personal service. Thank you


August 2015

Beer is a fantastic venue and the flat was superb.


August 2015

Beautiful cottage with lovely extras to make it feel like home. Spotlessly clean and amazing location right a the heart of pretty Beer. We'd definitely go again!


July 2015

A charming flat in a great location, however could be improved with a better bed. Great walks and good food at all restaurants in Beer.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Topsails - you obviously had a great stay and enjoyed your time in Beer. Bed comfort is a very personal thing, and it's hard to find something that beats your own bed at home! It sounds as though your preference is for a slightly softer bed, although lots of guests find this mattress very comfy - we can always find out how firm a mattress is before you book if that is very important to you. Tanya, Customer Support


June 2015

Beautiful apartment, wonderful location. A real gem & an unforgettable holiday. Beer is a lovely little fishing harbour & village & Topsails is a stones throw from the beach. Highly recommended.


May 2015

We have a wonderful stay at Topsails. Everything was fine. Short distance to Anchorage Inn with exellent food.


April 2015

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay at Topsails. Location was perfect for a coastal holiday with excellent walking, stunning scenery and fresh seafood all on the doorstep.


October 2014

A cosy property, well equipped and in a great location with access to lot of amenities on your doorstep. Some lovely walks along the coast.


August 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable week in this prettily decorated, clean and cosy accommodation. It was great to be so close to the beach, the pubs, little shops, galleries and flower filled high street of Beer. Lots to do without getting into the car - we particularly enjoyed walking across the cliffs to Branscome and Seaton Perfect holiday, would recommend!


July 2014

Perfect place near the beach which is literally two minutes away, very clean nicely furnished, no downside just really enjoyed our stay.


June 2014

It´s a nice place to be. We would come back!


April 2014

Beautiful apartment in a fantastic location - just a stone's throw from a picturesque pebble beach. We had a very happy holidy - Beer is an excellent centre for holidaying.


March 2014

Lovely place to stay for the weekend, cosy apartment in a fantastic location. We loved Beer and enjoyed staying in the heart of the village. Great pubs, and amazing cream teas on the doorstep.


October 2013

Apartment was an excellent choice, was spotlessly clean, lovely fresh bedding, everything and more that we needed for our stay.Would definitely stay again.


September 2013

The house is very nice, the rooms are decorated with so many lovely details. We felt very comfortable. There is a very short distance to the beach and the village is just marvellous. The only negative thing was that no internet was provided in the house.


September 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay and we had a lovely few days. The weather was very good and we were able to take lots of walks along the coast and cliffs which are spectacular. We visited the local areas and went to the races at Newton Abbot. Weused the local buses which are quite an experience not to be missed. We ate out at the local restaurants and would recommend the Blue Ball at Sidford but you will need a large appetite!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.