This is the view of The Pump House as you pull up into the dedicated parking-area. It is in its own private wildlife meadow with an additional garden to enjoy too.
The open plan layout of the ground floor means that this gorgeous bolt-hole is filled with light.
There is a lovely wood-burning stove for romantic evenings.
The dining-table looks out over your very own wildlife and wild flower meadow.
This is the side garden for The Pump House - as if the meadow is not enough space!
The patio is a delight - not overlooked and surrounded by the wildlife meadow.
There are thoughtful, warm and friendly touches throughout.
You will truly relax the moment you arrive.
There is a really well-equipped kitchen to one side of this bright and cheerful open plan cottage.
Everything here will make you feel at home.
What a great place to start each day of your holiday....
.... and end it too !
The spiral staircase opens directly into this comfortable and stylish bedroom.
Lie in bed and listen to peace and quiet - with some birdsong and sometimes sheep in the meadow to set the scene.
This is a romantic bolt-hole....
....with delightful details to make you smile.
The bathroom is also on the first floor - plenty of room for a bath and shower.
There is even a thoughtful corner in the bedroom with mirror, make-up shelf and stool.
Four-legged friends are so welcome here too - and there is plenty of space for them to explore and enjoy.
There are French windows out onto the private sun-drenched patio where you can sit beneath the oak pergola and just take in the tranquility.
You are invited to explore the Owner's wonderful gardens.
The Owner's beautiful gardens, which guests are welcome to explore.
Stroll up the lane to watch a cricket match! A glorious way to spend a lazy afternoon.
The sheep live in an adjacent meadow - they all have their own names!
There is a secure bike shed for you to use. This is such a good area for cycling.
South Somerset has a number of great historic houses to visit - this is Montacute House.
Looking across Beer and Seaton on the Dorset coast, approximately half an hour away by car.

The Pump House

2098

1.9 miles E of Crewkerne / Sleeps 2 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £367 - £741

November 2017

A beautiful house with everything inside you could need. The homemade cake, fudge, eggs, bacon, milk and juice we a really thoughtful touch. Bed was really comfortable. Would highly recommend. Bet it is beautiful in the summer!


October 2017

We had a wonderful stay at The Pump House.a beautiful cottage set in a fantastic location.There are great walks right on the doorstep,a farm shop 5 minutes up the road and a village pub.The owners made us very welcome and we cannot fault our stay,the chocolate cake and provisions were very much appreciated


October 2017

Excellent cottage very comfortable and superb location for Somerset,Devon and Dorset. A brilliant spot for dog walking too.


July 2017

This is a lovely cottage, that has everything you need. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, and the garden is really enclosed – our dog loved it, and is was great that he could roam around without us worrying where he was. There was loads to see within a max 45 min. drive, like Montacute House and Barrington Court, and we even went to the beach. Can only recommend it!


June 2017

Clean, tidy holiday home. Extremely well organized and equipped. Lovely privacy and space outside. Farm Shop friendly - the dome-shaped whole wheat loafss are fantastic. Would love to re-visit.


May 2017

This was one of our best stays we ever had. And we had a lot. The owner were so friendly and we felt like coming home. The Pump House is on a very high standard, very cosy, quiet with wonderful relaxing views. Everything is very clean and thoughtfully chosen. We also liked the Farm Shop which is in easy reach, perfect for some fresh bread. All in all we highly recommend this beautiful retreat.


April 2017

It's a hidden little gem in a beautiful part of Somerset. This very unique property in a great setting, is something we wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone.


April 2017

We really enjoyed our week in Somerset. The Pump House was a really good base for exploring the area. We did several lovely walks from the village.

The home made cake went down a treat after a day out sight seeing.


March 2017

A lovely welcome from the owner. Lovely setting / location. Only 14 miles to nearest beach. Just perfect.


March 2017

The Pump House is beautiful. Even in March when the meadow is still waking up from winter, the location is marvellous and you are away from everyone. The garden is perfectly enclosed so our four legged friend could enjoy it without us being concerned she may escape! The owner's next door were so friendly but left us to it - their gardens are stunning and it is lovely you are allowed to explore them. The property is so comfortable - the woodburner makes it cosy at night. Everything is there that you need and it is modern, spotless and just stunning. We were met with homemade cake, tea, local bacon and eggs. What a lovely arrival gift. To wake up listening to the birds singing all around is magical. I would love to return in summer to see the meadow in full bloom, but whatever time of year I cannot recommend this place enough. I am just grateful I found it online to go and stay there. Local area is lovely - although all local pubs appear to shut on a Sunday evening unless you drive somewhere... All in all a great place!


February 2017

A great place to chill out for a few days. Loved both the cottage and the farm shop just 200 metres away, ideal to pick up basics and for light meal.


February 2017

This cottage lived up to our expectations, it was a fabulous location, well equipped to a high standard. We were made to feel welcome and the cake and little added extras were a delight to find. Bob our springer spaniel, thoroughly enjoyed the large garden to run in. There were lovely walks straight from the door. Will be visiting again soon.


January 2017

Exactly as described and exceeded expectations. The Pump House was a perfect getaway. We stayed for four nights and we couldn't fault the cottage or location. Tea and cake was laid out for us on arrival with bacon and eggs in the fridge. There were even some dog treats left for our Labrador! There are plenty of beautiful walks to the surrounding villages and the majority of pubs are dog friendly so we didn't have to worry about the dog. Less than 2 minutes walk is the local farm shop where you can pick up plenty of supplies and the village pub is 5 minutes down the road. Would recommend and would definitely stay again.


December 2016

A most beautifully quaint 'Hansel & Gretel' cottage for anybody wanting some peaceful tranquility.


November 2016

If you are thinking of booking any form of break to The Pump House then stop thinking and book it. What a piece of treasure it really is. Nestled away in the wonderful part of Somerset with history and wildlife surrounding you. Tea and cake on arrival, classical music playing and the warmth of the fire was the setting for our week stay. We fell in love with the pet sheep who are the only neighbours in sight, especially Jenny and her cheeky ways. Everything you need is within the cottage which is finished to a high spec, the owners were very friendly and caring to every need but otherwise leave you to enjoy your stay. Our dog was in heaven with his own private wild meadow and miles of walking from the door step, we cannot wait to return!


July 2016

everything said in the literature about it is true. It is a special place to be.


June 2016

We had a really lovely week at the pump house from the minute we arrived to a table laid for afternoon tea and a delicious cake,we were made to feel welcome,the owners were helpful but not intrusive it really is a magical,peaceful special place to be. We also enjoyed the surrounding area and found plenty of things to do,we are already planning our next visit.


June 2016

Was a wonderful, scenic and relaxing idol. The owners were lovely people who gave us total privacy. Animals and birds well looked after and village was just perfect with the cricket pavilion and the church bells tolling.


May 2016

Delightful accommodation in a beautiful location. Lovely walks with our dog nearby. A warm welcome then left to our own devices with the knowledge of assistance close by if needed. Our dog loved the wild flower meadow and spent many happy hours in it.


April 2016

This cottage was truly a wonderful find. The location was outstanding, the cottage beautiful and unique. It has been decorated with incredible attention to detail which we loved, even down to the light switches being so in keeping with the building. The wildlife around it kept us occupied for hours! The welcome provided by the owners was outstanding. This was for our honeymoon and the owners had left so many gorgeous touches that made it feel a truly delightful honeymoon hideaway. It was equipped with everything we needed and the rest we got from the farm shop 2 mins away. A short drive took us to Crewkerne and a longer one to the delights of Lyme Regis. But we could happily have spent our whole stay there with even excellent maps provided which we also took advantage of. We cannot rate this property highly enough and look forward to our return.


April 2016

The Pump house was the perfect little escape for us and our dog. Beautifully decorated and very comfortable, it suited us down to the ground. Lovely walks around, straight from the door and we visited Lyme Regis, Sherbourne Castle and the Willow and wetland visitor centre which we particularly enjoyed. The fenced in meadow was perfect for our lively puppy to enjoy and we enjoyed all the wildlife around us. Would definitely recommend the cottage to my friends it's quite unique and was differ cult to leave only just one week Thank you Classic Cottages!


March 2016

The cottage sits in it's own lovely meadow with delightful views of the surrounding fields complete with sheep, the odd rabbit or two and even a red kite on one occasion. It's only a couple of minutes walk to the impressive farm shop stocked with good local produce and essentials such as logs for the wood burner; a necessity on the chilly spring evenings. You'll find the Manor Arms a five minutes walk from the cottage, a nice old-fashioned pub which welcomed us and our dog too. He was also delighted by the meadow which allowed him to run and investigate without our worrying he'll escape since the area is enclosed, at least for a medium-sized to large dog. The cottage itself is attractive and exceptionally well appointed, comfortable and spacious. Gordon, who met us at the cottage was very friendly and knowledgeable about the region, and he also invited we take a stroll around the beautiful manor house gardens that neighbour the meadow. We really enjoyed our short break here and would definitely recommend the Pump House, the village and the wider location too!


February 2016

A great place to get away and wind down - beautiful location, well equipped cottage, and with very convenient, well-stocked and friendly shop just two minutes walk away. Some excellent places to eat nearby and an easy drive down to the Dorset coast. Definitely heading back again.


January 2016

Very well equipped cottage, the owners thought of everything, had every kind of utensil you can think if, even had a liquidiser, scales & food processor, not that we needed it as we had a lovely home made cake waiting for us on arrival. There was also fresh local bacon, eggs & Apple juice, freshly ground coffee, a basket of logs for the fire & a vase of fresh flowers. They even thought of our dog & left a dog bowl with treats. Lovely friendly owners, popped in to check we had everything we needed just after we arrived & were available if we needed anything but kept their distance otherwise. I wouldn't suggest you use the local village pub as the bar maids made it clear it was meant for locals, but the pub in Haselbury (white horse) which was less than as mile away was amazing....the best Sunday lunch I've ever had & the staff were extremely friendly & welcoming. Would definitely return to this cottages if in the area in the future.


October 2015

A delightful haven. The Pump House gave us a truly restful break in this crazy modern world. A delicious homemade cake, bacon and eggs in the fridge and fresh flowers were a welcoming find after our long journey. The garden was filled with wild birds. I especially liked the little wrens that constantly danced around the windows . Pheasants and Guinea fowl were regular visitors. I felt privileged to see them. I would highly recommend the Pump House to anyone looking for a peaceful haven.


October 2015

We read the reviews and thought it was going to be a good standard location and property. We were mistaken, it was truly amazing and above our expectations. I can't put into words how wonderful our stay was. I was devastated to go home.


September 2015

The cottage is in an idyllic position and it was very peaceful. We really appreciated the eggs, bacon and cake left for us on arrival.


September 2015

An absolute gem of a place. A wonderful garden to relax in, and for our dog to explore safely. The welcome pack of goodies (cake, local juice, tea, coffee, milk, fudge and treats for the dog) was very unexpected and a lovely touch. Very well appointed and spotless. Good to get some local info from the owner when he popped in to say hi. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Pump House and we really hope to return!


August 2015

The Pump House is a lovely holiday property and the owners made our stay very special with a delicious cake, fresh milk and flowers and other treats including some for our dog! So thank you. It's a private retreat and a very unique place which we'd definitely recommend and return to. We had mixed weather and so had the delight of using the wood burner on a couple of chilly nights but also the deck chairs and BBQ on a hot evening. Morning coffee (and that lovely cake!) was very enjoyable sitting under the pergola and the kitchen/dining area was very well equipped and met all our needs. The cottage is perfectly situated for walks straight from the door but also close enough to main roads and towns so we could really explore the area without spending hours in the car - just over an hour to a lovely dog friendly beach at Branksome Chine near Poole and twenty minutes to the wonderful Sherborne with its lovely shops and restaurants. The nearby pub was a bonus, very very friendly and a proper old fashioned local with ancient flagged floors and mullioned windows, thankfully it hasn't been given a 'boutique' makeover and it's dog friendly too. It was magical in the evenings, listening to the owls in the surrounding trees and we both slept incredibly well in the very comfy bed, we're fully revitalised. It sounds silly but time definitely passes more slowly at The Pump House, maybe Somerset has its own time zone?! A truly lovely holiday, thank you.


August 2015

Great for a very quiet holiday


July 2015

Lovely cottage, well taken care of. Warm welcome. Private, yet the village shop and a nice pub with good food on walking distance. Beautiful walks start almost on the doorstep. We hope to be back!


June 2015

Extend your coverage to our other areas especially Norfolk!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Pump House so much! If we ever expand our portfolio as far as Norfolk, you'll be the first to know... Tanya, Customer Support


May 2015

A wonderful place to relax and unwind.


May 2015

We had a really relaxing week. The property is in an idyllic location and very private. The owners have thought of everything and the property is very tastefully furnished/equipped. We will definitely be returning (hopefully later this year!)


April 2015

Amazing cottage in beautiful surroundings. Attention to detail is amazing, we didn't want to leave. Excellent for dogs, local pub dog friendly and stunning footpaths abound. Wish we had booked a fortnight, so much to see and do, will return.


April 2015

A truly beautiful and magical place.


March 2015

We adored our stay at the Pump House...it was idyllic and we were able to completely re-charge...perfect!


March 2015

The pump house is a lovely little cottage we had a lovely break here. I think it would be impossible not to fall in love with it. Tea and cake on arrival and bacon and eggs in the fridge, every detail has been thought of and we will absolutely definitely be returning. Perfect to recharge the batteries and relax!


February 2015

We loved the seclusion of the place, it was so peaceful - a perfect getaway for the weekend. We had afternoon tea laid out for us when we arrived and basics in the fridge. It was such a nice touch.

We didn't have the best weather as we went in February, but it didn't matter. The Pump House is beautiful in rain or shine. We will definitely be visiting again in summer!


February 2015

Booked for total relaxation, our break at "The Pump House" didn't disappoint. We were able to take lovely walks from the front door. The meadow is a haven for wildlife with finches, robins and a woodpecker all regular visitors. The Pump House is a real cosy home from home, and we've already booked a return visit in November.


January 2015

The Pump House is the ideal get away from it all in beautiful countryside, lots of lovely walks and a very warm welcome from the owners is always guaranteed. Our 3rd visit here.


January 2015

Fantastic cottage to stay in a lovely village with a friendly pub. Enclosed meadow is perfect for visiting dogs.


December 2014

Beautiful accomomodation in great setting. Lots to do in the area and despite very cold weather very warm and snug.


December 2014

A great 'cottage' with all we needed for a weeks stay over Christmas. Quiet and peaceful location but very handy for Crewkerne and not far to Yeovil. Well equipped, comfortable and clean accommodation with a warm welcome from the owners. The wood burner was great and kept us warm so take a dog - then you have to get out and enjoy the countryside. K&J Xmas 2014.


November 2014

Great little retreat for couples. Lovely location with lots of walks in the local area, owners near by if needed. Lovely wood burner to cosy up to in the evenings while listening to the owls outside. Overall a great holiday even though weather wasn't great but it was November after all!


October 2014

The Pump House is a genuinely unique & tranquil place to stay. The private meadow is a wonderful setting & perfect for your little four legged friend. Once inside it's like being in a boutique hotel, it really is that good. I only stayed for a midweek break but there is enough equipment & facilities in the cottage that you could easily stay for longer without needing anything more. Can't recommend the Pump House highly enough


August 2014

The Pump House proved a superb location for unwinding and relaxing. An excellent location, well fitted out, close to two pubs, the cricket club and picturesque Somerset villages. It also provided a excellent base for exploring the Dorset and North Somerset coasts and Quantock Hills. Gordon and Judith were superb hosts and provided an excellent stock of goodies on arrival.


June 2014

This is a delightful cottage in a lovely location, which makes a great touring base for South Somerset, East Devon and Dorset.


May 2014

Fantastic break in a great property with truly peaceful surroundings. Very friendly and genuine hosts.


April 2014

The first impression on entering the Pump House was a complete 'wow' - the table was laid for afternoon tea: perfect timing! Perfect situation - we brought our black Labrador with us do some walking. He [the dog] settled immediately as did we and all was very well equipped whether you wished to cook in house or eat out. Immaculately presented by Mr and Mrs Hall within a very lovely [wild] setting.
Perfect weather as well which does help! Would definitely consider returning.


March 2014

we have fallen in love with this lovely cottage, clsssical music playing softly on the radio, cake and fudge and

treats for dog. cosy,watm, peaceful and we will be back in the summer. dee. steve. jasper. march 2014

j

in the summer..march 2014.


March 2014

A perfect hideaway for two. Well equipped kitchen. Welcoming ambience. A quiet retreat from the madness of city life.


December 2013

I couldn't recommend this property enough to people looking for a really special break away. The Pump House has been beautifully restored and the owners really go that extra step to make your stay wonderful. The area is beautiful and it really is a perfect place to tramp around the fields during the day and curl up in front of the wood burner with a glass of wine in the evening. We absolutely loved it - such a special place to stay and superb value.


October 2013

It was unique, quaint and secluded. Its in a lovely part of the country with lots to do and see. Its such a romantic location, perfect for couples and it has everything you need.


August 2013

An excellent place to relax for a week. With great cake.


May 2013

Nice welcome from Judith the owner, left us freshly laid eggs from her chickens and bacon. Loved the fact that she laid up the table for tea for 2 with a lovely cake & had classical music playing inside when we arrived, I really appreciated that and was only sorry I didn't get a chance to tell her how lovely it was & what a FAB time we had. We will most certainly be returning to this lovely little gem. Clare.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.