Coth Skyber is a pretty, private and detached cottage set back from the road in a quiet village with coaching inn and local shop.
The sitting/dining-room has comfy seating for all around the stone fireplace.
The cottage kitchen is very well-equipped whether you are preparing a light meal, a roast dinner or baking cup cakes.
Spacious Bedroom 2 is furnished with a king-size bed.
Breakfast is served with views over the garden.
The patio at the rear of the cottage catches the evening sun.
The front patio is a lovely place to sit at any time of day, fire up the chimenea if it gets a little chilly.
The front garden as seen from the sitting/dining-room with the gravel driveway down to the lane which will take you into the village in two minutes.
The sitting/dining-room is spacious and a perfect place to relax after a day out on the beach or walking the coastal paths.
The cosy cottage gas stove gives you the warmth and comforting glow of a real wood-burner.
The sitting/dining-room is a lovely large room with room to relax, play board games or dine with friends and family.
Breakfast can also be eaten at the breakfast-bar in the kitchen with views over the rear patio garden.
The twin bedroom (Bedroom 1).
This double bedroom (Bedroom 3) has a lovely brass bed.
A few minutes' walk down the road are lovely walks along the Hayle river from the church.
St Erth village church which dates back to the 14th Century.
The magnificent beach at Godrevy is only a few minutes away by car.
St Ives at low tide.
St Michael's Mount at Marazion, on the south coast, is just a short drive away.

Coth Skyber

2026

3.8 miles SE of St Ives / Sleeps 6 + cot

20% off for parties of 4 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £522

April 2019

Previous reviews had prepared us for the fact that in places the property may be a little dated. However we were not expecting to find a carpeted bathroom which we consider to be both dated and unhygienic. That said the bathrooms were clean and serviceable. We did also notice staining on the ceiling and walls in the kitchen suggesting a water leak at some point, for presentation this should be addressed as it does not give the best first impression. The bedrooms are all of a good size and comfortable. The cottage did smell a little damp but we put this down to it being early in the season and it having probably been empty for some time. The cottage has a large living room space which suited our needs perfectly. We were able to have my parents who live locally over for evening meals, plenty of space for 7 people. The cottage has a great location perfect for anyone visiting West Cornwall. The local pub was closed down during our visit but looks to be reopening soon, this information would of been useful to us before booking as we had hoped for the convenience of being able to walk to the local pub in the evening. We have a large 7 seater car and parked at the rear of the property as it more easily accessed. My parents who have a small car parked on the front drive and we’re greeted by a neighbour who mentioned that many cars have hit the granite walls whilst parking on the driveway. As ever we had an amazing holiday in Cornwall visiting family. The cottage was clean and comfortable but in need of some updating.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Coth Skyber and it's great to hear that you found it to be clean and comfortable and in a perfect location for exploring West Cornwall. There are some lovely local pubs in the area and The Watermill Inn which is a mile away is currently open daily from 12 noon. The property is furnished in a traditional style which we feel is reflected in the photos, however we were sorry to hear that you noticed some signs of damp and staining and we'll certainly forward your feedback for the owners attention. Alison, Customer Support


September 2018

Hübsches Cottage mit Flair - sehr gemütlicher Wohnbereich.


September 2018

WOW this was a fantastic cottage that is well kept inside, we enjoyed our stay here so much we didn’t want to leave, would definitely recommend this to friends and will definitely be back, thank you for letting us use your cottage for our lovely week we had in Cornwall


May 2018

If you're looking for a cottage in beautiful Cornwall you would be hard pushed to find a better place than this. Child friendly. Quiet surroundings. Not far from St. Ives and all the hustle and bustle. Simply breath taking.


May 2018

Gorgeous cottage in a superb location.


March 2018

A Perfect cottage in the heart of my home land. every aspect of the property it's near perfect, from the heating to the lighting and the kitchen. Free WiFi, honesty landline, down stairs WC all great.

We look forward to staying here again. if I had enough money I would buy the property! Thank you for having us!

Mark and Laura Jewell.


September 2017

We had a lovely holiday in Coth Skyber. It has a central village location but the surrounding garden affords a lot of privacy. The house was spotless on arrival with a good sized kitchen, living room and bedrooms. We used it as a base to explore West Cornwall: Close to St Erth station where one day we took the train to St Ives.

It is also within walking distance to a very nice pub with really good food and beer (when we could not be bothered to cook in the evening - which was quite often!)


August 2017

A beautiful cottage


June 2017

This cottage was very well equiped, spacious, spotlessly clean and welcoming. The front drive is easy to miss and I would advise looking it up on Google maps before visiting so you have an idea of what you are looking for.

If you have a big vehicle it may be easier to use the back entrance which has a much larger easier access.

The cottage is very private and has a secure garden with gates to the front and back. The tall trees surrounding the property makes the accommodation alittle dark inside but we did not find this detrimental.


May 2017

The cottage is simply perfect, amazing location to visit all the beautiful nearby sights and decorated to a very high standard. We'll return once more :-)


April 2017

Ideal for a family, plenty of room, even a supply of games for wet weather.


June 2016

the house is amazing, very clean, welcome pack with information about the area and amenities. (so useful). A truly home from home experience. Everything you need to have a great time is available to you Very thoughtful the milk and the biscuits (cornish). Amazing touch! Some reviews complained about the narrow driveways. Yes, the front is a bit narrow but you can drive into the property from the back (I drive a 4x4, didn't have an issue getting in or out) Family visited from Canary Islands, Cornwall didn't disappointed. St Erth is a great area to stay and so close to St Ives, Penzance and other lovely towns. We couldn't fault the experience. Highly recommended. Thank you the owners and the housekeeper.


May 2016

Coth Skyber is a superb cottage for either a relaxing or an active holiday. We used the nearby train station to easily go to St Ives. St Michaels Mount is a short drive away. Hayle is down the road and has some excellent restaurants. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable. The weather was so good, we used the barbecue twice and enjoyed sitting in the garden on lovely sunny evenings. I would definitely recommend a stay.


May 2016

Our stay at Coth Skyber has been truly special. We travelled with our young baby and this place was just perfect for us. The house was fully equipped, complete with stairgate and travel cot which we requested. The house itself is perfectly located in the tiny village of St Erth which is really well located to the local area of St Ives and all the surrounding beaches.

We were lucky enough to get some good weather and take advantage of the private garden and enjoy a couple of BBQ's. The house is lovely and cosy for the evenings and very peaceful. the décor and layout of the house is lovely and really did feel like a home from home. We were very sad to leave but have already decided to go back next year for longer. We would encourage anyone thinking of visiting this area to give Coth Skyber a go. A very beautiful house in a stunning part of the country.


December 2015

The cottage was wonderfull. Everything we needed was provided. Though the weather was not too brill, after all, it was December, it was warm and cosy inside. Furnishings were excellent, beds really comfy and the kitchen had everything. A truly lovely place. I will recommend this to anyone wanting to rent a cottage in that area. We will be back!!!!


September 2015

Beautiful house in an excellent location.


August 2015

the perfect venue from which to visit all parts of Cornwall ! and if you are a beader/Crafter you shouldn't miss out on a visit to JG Beads just up the road from the Train station where Jill is on hand to teach you for a minimal cost!!! ( the highlight about my visit this year).


August 2015

The cottage is lovely and very comfortable. We adjusted quickly to the downstairs shower after having a little problem getting the hot water to work. The kitchen worked out well.

The front gate was difficult to open when we arrived, so we drove to the back. The lock on that gate needed a little figuring out, but we did get it opened and parked in the rear for our whole stay.

Visits from the local felines were a nice touch.


June 2015

Spacious charming home, well equipped for entertaining the grandchildren and their partners.


May 2015

Very good property, Excellently appointed and great value, would recommend.


August 2014

A lovely place to stay. Very charming and comfortable.


June 2014

Spacious and well located property with very easy access to the numerous locations and beaches we wanted to visit. (The photos are an accurate portrayal). The garden was private and enclosed so our small son could run around outside without escaping. Well equipped and generous provision of soap/loo rolls/cleaning materials etc.

Wi-fi is exceptionally slow even when just opening new pages and we were unable to download many things. There is actually space for more than 2 cars but extremely tight access even for a medium sized car both at front and back so no good for nervous drivers. 'Barn conversion' is misleading as it is a relatively modern property that is more of a re-build in the style of a barn. There is hardly any natural light inside and most rooms you had to have the lights on during the day even if bright sunshine outside.

Kitchen and bathroom surfaces were very clean but quite dusty and a bit dirty everywhere else (surfaces and floor). The house itself was incredibly musty, that no amount of airing would clear, and there was a distinct smell of what we guessed may be dog in the sitting room that remained the whole week. Something in the house that we couldn't determine set off my husband's allergies that have otherwise remained mostly dormant for over a decade. Bed mattresses not very comfortable - we both got back and neck aches from them. Decor not to our taste but satisfactory.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were really sorry that the property wasn't to your taste; it is a converted former barn (where rumor has it prize bulls were once kept!) and not a modern built property. I have visited several times, parking my Golf in the driveway - however, approaching slowly always helps! The internet was slow on occasion, but the router has been replaced and now offers a much better speed (thanks for letting us know). There are trees surrounding the cottage, and on a grey winter day you would probably need the lights on, but I've never found this to be a problem in summer. I visited in response to your comments but really couldn't detect the musty smell you mentioned (the cottage doesn't take parties with pets, so we're not sure if your husband's allergy was more of a hayfever reaction given the time of year?). To date we've not received negative comments about the beds, but it's really hard to find a mattress that suits everyone - we're sorry that we couldn't satisfy your particular preferences this time, but we'll check the beds again when we next visit. We're glad you liked the location and the lovely garden, and that you felt the photos gave an accurate picture of what to expect. Suzanne, Property Manager


May 2014

Coth Skyber is a spacious, comfortable barn situated in a delightful Cornish village close to a range of activities and amenities. The local train takes you along a scenic coastal toute to the beaches and st ives or you can cross over to the other coast and find yourselves in marazion, st michaels mount and the lizard.


April 2014

Lovely large cottage in a quiet small cul-de-sac location ideal for exploring Cornwall.


April 2014

This is a great cottage, really comfortable and well and thoughtfully equipped. We had a lovely time at the cottage and found St Erth really friendly as a village. The cottage was well placed for the convenience shop and the local pub a very short walk served good honest pub food and the staff made us really welcome and were great with our kids. There are nice walks along the river. We'll definitely return.

If I had to be picky the parking is a little tricky for two larger estate cars.

All good, very friendly and efficient service.


March 2014

A warm and peaceful haven perfect for an out of season break. Imagine it's gorgeous in summer. Gardens lovely even in March with plenty of places to sit in the sunshine. Lounge cosy on cold evenings.


September 2013

Coth Skyber is a very comfortable, well-equipped house. The heating is good when you need it. St. Erth is very convenient for St. Ives and the rest of this corner of Cornwall. The fact that we have stayed here three times and hope to come again, is recommendation.


May 2013

Coth Skyber was everything we could wish for to make our holiday.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.