Flax Barn is this corner property in the historic Priory Barns development.
The open plan living area is on the first floor so that they have lovely views over the orchard to the front of the property. This is the brand new kitchen.
The accommodation is reverse-level and open plan so that you can make the most of the views.
There is a lovely garden-area with a summer-house, deck chairs and a barbecue.
The fabulous new kitchen design complements the traditional features of this lovely barn conversion.
Somerset has historic landscapes as well as ancient buildings and villages - this is Cadbury Iron Age fort.
A welcoming farmhouse kitchen-table and dresser give friendly character to this barn conversion.
Enjoy an early morning coffee at this little bistro-table.
This is the double bedroom.
A real home-from-home.
This is another view of the double bedroom - with masses of storage space.
This is the twin bedroom, facing out towards the entrance courtyard.
This is the brand new bathroom, with its fitted shower and stylish contemporary tiles.
The garden is a sun-trap!
This view is from the front door looking back up the path with the summer-house in front of you and the garden around the side of the fencing to the right.
Evenings around the table after a day out exploring - the perfect way to end the day.
The National Trust's Barrington Court is on the doorstep, within walking distance through the beautiful village.
Yet another National Trust property nearby is Lytes Carey Manor.
Montacute House is nearby.

Flax Barn


2.8 miles NE of Ilminster / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £371 - £750

June 2017

This review is currently in moderation.

February 2017

Stayed in October and booked straight away for February. Likely to be back soon, great location, comfortable and clean. What more could you want?

September 2016

Great location, need more cottages in Somerset, so much to do & visit, north coast just under an hour so great option for a day trip.

July 2016

Interesting and comfortable property in a beautiful village. Good location for cycling and visiting gardens (which we did.) Layout of the house was good and garden area lovely.

April 2016

This was a wonderful short break - starting on a Thursday. We usually use another cottage letting agency, but they will only allow short breaks from a Friday so this was ideal. The cottage was amazing. The neighbour was friendly and the pub was exceptional. We are looking to come back for a week in June and again in November for a 3 day pre-Christmas break.
Nothing was over-exaggerated in your description of the property and it was only a short walk to the lovely Barrington Court.

I would say, that if this cottage was Mary Poppins - it would be Practically Perfect in Every Way. Thank you! I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a get-away-from-it-all break !

March 2016

We always find that Classic Cottages are reliable and go that extra mile to make their cottages friendly and comfortable.

December 2015

The living space is cosy, warm and very well lit - good compensation for the lack of enough windows. Wood burner a godsend for winter holidays.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Flax Barn - it's great to see that it was warm and cosy as we know the weather wasn't fantastic when you visited! Unfortunately it's not always possible to remodel barn conversion windows as there are often planning requirements to maintain the property's original character (especially in a conservation area such as this), but we're glad that the good interior lighting meant that this wasn't a problem for you and you enjoyed your break. Tanya, Customer Support

November 2015

Anyone looking to relax in quiet location in comfortable accommodation need look no further. Everything provided to make your stay a true home from home.

September 2015

Barrington is an ideal location. Lovely village and welcoming people. Great walks. It was a close to perfect break!

July 2015

Lovely location, well equipped cottage with comfortable beds

October 2014

Found Classic Cottages by trawling on the internet and couldn't be more pleased. Ease of booking, information, communication excellent. Found the property with no problems and the overall quality of furniture, fittings, facilities, kitchen, crockery etc was excellent.

September 2014

Beautiful barn, very comfortable and perfect for a weekend getaway

September 2014

Excellent, comfortable cottage, well located for visiting Barrington Court. Good walks from the door through the picturesque village of Barrington and the surrounding countryside.

August 2014

A lovely barn conversion, extremely comfortable beds and all the comforts of home. Flax Barn is situated in a lovely village with a beautiful National Trust Property and friendly local pub. A lovely base to explore the beautiful countryside, would definitely recommend Flax Barn.

June 2014

The 5 min walk to excellent village pub, The Barrington Boar. Very friendly, helpful (one of our party gluten free vegetarian). Walks on doorstep ie 5 mile ramble through lanes, fields, meadows, to Barrow Hill. Barrington Court, walking distance. Montacute House def worth visit as excellent. Don't bother with pub in Shepton Beauchamp as really not worth it. Neighbours lovely. Recommended.

May 2014

Fab few days at Flax Barn. Would highly recommend, especially to those with small children as safety has clearly been thought about and toys are provided. A great place to relax and a really pretty little cottage.

October 2013

Great property, well equipped, in a very attractive quiet village. There is a very good pub for eating out as well as Barrington Court (National Trust) for lunch, both within walking distance. Barrington is well located for a number of National Trust properties, not just those mentioned, but also Stourhead. Would highly recommend this property and would definitely stay here again!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review. Flax Barn is really well placed to explore the area, and I have to agree that Stourhead is absolutely beautiful and well worth a visit - don't forget that our sister Web site www.classicguide.co.uk has lots more information on what to do in the area, and we'd love it if you could log on there and tell us your favourites, or let us know about any special 'must-do's that we've not found yet...Tanya, Customer Support

October 2013

We were looking for a family friendly quaint cottage in Somerset to show our American friends the sights nearby. Quaint is what they ordered and the village of Barrington was perfect. Armed with our wellies and waterproofs we had a lovely stay at Flax Barn. Our 10month old was delighted the the selection of toys and books in the house, and the travel cot and high chair were ready waiting for him when we arrived. Thoroughly recommend a stay here, it was very well equipped and a lovely place to take a break. The boys enjoyed the WiFi, we enjoyed our books by the fire!

June 2013

This property is very comfortable and cosy. Facilities are good and well equipped. The surrounding areas have plenty to do and see. A very relaxing holiday.

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.