Somerset has historic landscapes, hills, iron age forts, the iconic Levels and Barrington village, home to Flax Barn, is itself a stunning National Trust village.
Flax Barn is this corner property in the historic Priory Barns development of traditional stone buildings. There is private parking for you.
Flax Barn has a sheltered garden with a summer house where additional garden seating is stored for you to enjoy.
The open plan first floor has high ceilings and beams giving this space plenty of character.
There is a wonderful new contemporary kitchen with a view out over the fields across the road
There is a little seasonal local produce shop just a stroll down the road. It specialises in locally grown garlic!
There is a farmhouse style dining table next to the kitchen area
Another view to show you where the table is in relation to the living area.
A farmhouse dresses adds even more character
This is an ideal place to relax, a cosy cottage, a very pretty village, at the heart of Somerset.
The cottage is on reverse levels - the stairs open up into the living area.
This is the main bedroom.
Another angle of the main bedroom to give you an idea of the space
The bedroom sofa adds another feature as well as being useful
This is the twin bedroom which looks out over the courtyard towards the garden
There is a new bathroom here too.  A lovely fresh design to balance with the traditional style of the cottage.
This view is from the front door looking back up the path with the summer-house in front of you and the garden around the side of the fencing to the right.
Barrington Court and gardens are just an easy stroll away  through the village.
Yet another National Trust property nearby is Lytes Carey Manor.
Montacute House is nearby.

Flax Barn

2019

2.8 miles NE of Ilminster / Sleeps 4 + cot

15% off for parties of 2 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £379

October 2018

Flax Barn is a good sized property in a great setting. Barrington is a beautiful village in a wonderful location which is ideal for exploring the many delights of this glorious area. It is ideally placed for exploring coast country and the many picturesque villages and towns in the area, as well as the numerous historic Houses and Gardens.


August 2018

Very pleased with our stay at Flax Barn. The property was lovely and the location fab. We especially recommend a fossil hunting tour and the excellent Pip's Railway Carriage Cafe (only 10 mins drive away). Obviously this is a great location for National Trust properties but it is also great for walks.


June 2018

Very well equipped cottage with everything you need for a break away. Beautiful location and interesting property.


April 2018

Booking self-catering accommodation can be a real lottery regardless of the cost, and properties nearly always lack items that you need, especially in the kitchen area. This is why owners should stay for a week in the accommodation themselves - they will soon spot the deficiencies! Flax Barn was an exception - and didn't stint on quality either.


February 2017

Stayed in October and booked straight away for February. Likely to be back soon, great location, comfortable and clean. What more could you want?


September 2016

Great location, need more cottages in Somerset, so much to do & visit, north coast just under an hour so great option for a day trip.


July 2016

Interesting and comfortable property in a beautiful village. Good location for cycling and visiting gardens (which we did.) Layout of the house was good and garden area lovely.


April 2016

This was a wonderful short break - starting on a Thursday. We usually use another cottage letting agency, but they will only allow short breaks from a Friday so this was ideal. The cottage was amazing. The neighbour was friendly and the pub was exceptional. We are looking to come back for a week in June and again in November for a 3 day pre-Christmas break.
Nothing was over-exaggerated in your description of the property and it was only a short walk to the lovely Barrington Court.

I would say, that if this cottage was Mary Poppins - it would be Practically Perfect in Every Way. Thank you! I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a get-away-from-it-all break !


March 2016

We always find that Classic Cottages are reliable and go that extra mile to make their cottages friendly and comfortable.


December 2015

The living space is cosy, warm and very well lit - good compensation for the lack of enough windows. Wood burner a godsend for winter holidays.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Flax Barn - it's great to see that it was warm and cosy as we know the weather wasn't fantastic when you visited! Unfortunately it's not always possible to remodel barn conversion windows as there are often planning requirements to maintain the property's original character (especially in a conservation area such as this), but we're glad that the good interior lighting meant that this wasn't a problem for you and you enjoyed your break. Tanya, Customer Support


November 2015

Anyone looking to relax in quiet location in comfortable accommodation need look no further. Everything provided to make your stay a true home from home.


September 2015

Barrington is an ideal location. Lovely village and welcoming people. Great walks. It was a close to perfect break!


July 2015

Lovely location, well equipped cottage with comfortable beds


October 2014

Found Classic Cottages by trawling on the internet and couldn't be more pleased. Ease of booking, information, communication excellent. Found the property with no problems and the overall quality of furniture, fittings, facilities, kitchen, crockery etc was excellent.


September 2014

Beautiful barn, very comfortable and perfect for a weekend getaway


September 2014

Excellent, comfortable cottage, well located for visiting Barrington Court. Good walks from the door through the picturesque village of Barrington and the surrounding countryside.


August 2014

A lovely barn conversion, extremely comfortable beds and all the comforts of home. Flax Barn is situated in a lovely village with a beautiful National Trust Property and friendly local pub. A lovely base to explore the beautiful countryside, would definitely recommend Flax Barn.


June 2014

The 5 min walk to excellent village pub, The Barrington Boar. Very friendly, helpful (one of our party gluten free vegetarian). Walks on doorstep ie 5 mile ramble through lanes, fields, meadows, to Barrow Hill. Barrington Court, walking distance. Montacute House def worth visit as excellent. Don't bother with pub in Shepton Beauchamp as really not worth it. Neighbours lovely. Recommended.


May 2014

Fab few days at Flax Barn. Would highly recommend, especially to those with small children as safety has clearly been thought about and toys are provided. A great place to relax and a really pretty little cottage.


October 2013

Great property, well equipped, in a very attractive quiet village. There is a very good pub for eating out as well as Barrington Court (National Trust) for lunch, both within walking distance. Barrington is well located for a number of National Trust properties, not just those mentioned, but also Stourhead. Would highly recommend this property and would definitely stay here again!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review. Flax Barn is really well placed to explore the area, and I have to agree that Stourhead is absolutely beautiful and well worth a visit - don't forget that our sister Web site www.classicguide.co.uk has lots more information on what to do in the area, and we'd love it if you could log on there and tell us your favourites, or let us know about any special 'must-do's that we've not found yet...Tanya, Customer Support


October 2013

We were looking for a family friendly quaint cottage in Somerset to show our American friends the sights nearby. Quaint is what they ordered and the village of Barrington was perfect. Armed with our wellies and waterproofs we had a lovely stay at Flax Barn. Our 10month old was delighted the the selection of toys and books in the house, and the travel cot and high chair were ready waiting for him when we arrived. Thoroughly recommend a stay here, it was very well equipped and a lovely place to take a break. The boys enjoyed the WiFi, we enjoyed our books by the fire!


June 2013

This property is very comfortable and cosy. Facilities are good and well equipped. The surrounding areas have plenty to do and see. A very relaxing holiday.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.