Old Down Cottage is in a beautiful rural location with a fully enclosed front garden.
The spacious sitting-room has a cosy open fire.
The rear decked terrace has uniterrupted views across the surrounding fields.
The kitchen is very well-equipped with plenty of space for the dining-area.
The stable-door allows the fresh country air in to add to that holiday atmosphere.
Cranbourne Chase, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, stretches between Blandford and Salisbury.
The pretty front garden is fully enclosed so that you can relax with your four-legged friend.
Stairs lead from the sitting-room and a door at the foot of the stairs is for the ground floor bedroom.
French doors from the ground floor bedroom open onto the garden with views across the fields (Bedroom 1).
The en suite shower-room for Bedroom 1 has access from the utility-area too.
Bedroom 2 on the first floor has exposed beams, lovely throws and an en suite shower-room.
Bedroom 2 has real character; exposed beams create storage and a dressing-area.
The pretty twin room on the first floor (Bedroom 3).
There is a really good-sized family bathroom on the first floor.
The family bathroom on the first floor has fabulous views across the surrounding fields.
Access down the side of the cottage to the back garden and safe storage for bikes.
The enclosed front garden has beautiful flower borders and shrubs.
Holiday memories that linger on.
The rear terrace opens out onto fields with wide expansive views.
The fields behind the cottage change with the seasons.
Old Down Cottage is in a tranquil setting, well away from road noise.
Enjoy riverside walks along the River Stour as it runs through Blandford Forum.
Dorset's famous coastline includes Lulworth Cove, another great day trip from the cottage.
The National Trust's Kingston Lacy house and gardens are a beautiful place to visit nearby.
The wonderful sandy beaches between Christchurch and Poole are an easy day trip.
Salisbury Cathedral and green make a really good day trip.
The New Forest, famous for the free-range ponies, is idyllic for walks and cycle rides.
Stonehenge, a prehistoric monument and World Heritage Site is a 40 minute drive away (photograph copyright English Heritage).

Old Down Cottage


5.7 miles N of Wimborne Minster / Sleeps 6 + cot*

7 Nights from £535 - £1338

October 2017

I enjoyed my stay at Old Down cottage that much, that I'd book it again tomorrow if I had the chance to.

September 2017

Lovely cottage in perfect location - so peaceful. Everything provided for - very clean and homely. What more can I say!

September 2017

Beautiful cottag in a lovely spot. Everything we could hav wanted.

September 2017

This cottage has the potential to be a lovely holiday home, with a bit more attention to detail; its setting is lovely ... so quiet and peaceful.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Old Down Cottage. We're sorry there were elements of the cottage that you felt required a little more attention and we'll be in touch directly to discuss your comments. Bryony, Customer Support

November 2016

we loved the setting of this house and we couldn't have wished for a better venue. The house was very toasty - fantastic central heating. Would love to visit it in the summer.

October 2016

ideal for someone who wants something a bit special.

August 2016

Old Down Cottage is a place of absolute silence and recreation. I spent hours in front of the house or on the terrace hearing nothing but buzzing bees and twittering birds.

July 2016

Wonderful holiday cottage in secluded location but within easy reach of Dorset's delights. Well appointed and very comfortable for a family holiday. En suite ground floor bedroom was most suitable for my 85 year old father who appreciated the patio doors onto the decking. Well recommended.

June 2016

This is a 5 star property. It has been modernised with taste and much thought so that it fulfills all the needs of visitors. It is fully equipped for all your needs. The cottage is set in a quiet location with views to front and rear. I have no reservations in reccomending this cottage.

April 2016

Beautiful rural position. An extremely quiet and well equipped cottage with many attractions for all ages close to hand.

April 2016

Quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. A lovely cottage, made us very envious!

July 2015

Our best country holiday yet - perfect in every detail. The cottage was fabulous, the views beautiful, and the owners couldn't have been more helpful. We didn't want to come home!

June 2015

Delightful cottage in fabulous setting in a beautiful part of the country. Spacious and comfortable. With 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms it was perfect.

September 2014

Excellent Holiday, accommodation extremely comfortable clean, appreciated the well collated local information. The pheasants that block the drive are very slow to move, allow plenty of time to get out!!

June 2014

Idyllic location, beautiful countryside views and very cosy & comfortable. Everything you need for a quiet & relaxing holiday. We had a wonderful time.

April 2014

Everything was perfect. We loved it. This cottage and the owners are first class.

October 2013

A beautiful cottage, in a stunning, quiet location. Very well equipped and maintained to a high quality. The perfect spot for a relaxing break; located near enough to local towns for exploring and shopping but also surrounded by rolling countryside for quiet walks. We enjoyed a fantastic stay and created a wealth of happy memories.

September 2013

If you like being of the beaten track with peace and quiet this is the cottage for you.

September 2013

Beautiful cottage, fantastic quiet location,we really felt we had got away from it all, highly recommended will definitely return.

Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.