The stunning balcony with wonderful views.
What an amazing room.
Looking down on the lower deck with the hot tub and magnificent views up and down river.
Plenty of space for a family meal whilst enjoying the view.
The large balcony.
A lovely spot for a drink.
Always a spot in the sun on the top balcony.
The views from the sitting-room are fantastic.
Even the dining-table has a view.
The well-equipped kitchen.
Patio doors from the kitchen go out to the balcony.
You can lie in bed and look up the river in Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2 is gorgeous

.
The en suite bathroom for Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2 has water views as well as a door to the lower deck.
Bedroom 3 has a door to the deck and river views.
Bedroom 3 has an en suite shower-room.
Flowers by the bed in Bedroom 3.
Bedroom 4.
Bedroom 4 has a door to the deck and an en suite WC and wash-basin.
The en suite WC and wash-basin for Bedroom 4.
Bedroom 5 has a door to the deck and an en suite WC and wash-basin.
The en suite WC and wash-basin for Bedroom 5.
Bedroom 5 made up as twin beds.
En suite cloakroom.
The large family bathroom.
The private deck from Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 1 has doors out to its own deck
The cloakroom on the first floor.
The lower deck has a hot tub, easily accessible from all the bedrooms on this floor.
The lower deck.
The games-room.
The games-room.
The view from the balcony.
The sauna.
Looking towards Dartmoor up river.
Great views from the hot tub.
The private jetty is approached by a spiral staircase from the back garden (please ensure an adult accompanies young children at all times).
Water views are everywhere.
Looking across the river to Shaldon.
The view from Ness Head looking towards Teignmouth, Dawlish and beyond.
The hot tub at night.
The Parson and Clerk headland along the coast from Teignmouth.
Sunrise on the top floor balcony.
Redcliffe viewed from the water with the spiral staircase down to the small jetty.
Looking down from the balcony on the small patio and river below. The boat belongs to a neighbour.
Ness Beach.
Fishing boats coming in through the estuary mouth to tie up in Teignmouth.
Ness beach is accessed through the tunnel in Shaldon to the other side of the headland (Ness Head).
Swans heading home up stream.

Redcliffe

1767

Shaldon / Sleeps 10 + cot

7 Nights from £1048 - £3176

October 2017

Wonderful location and views across the estuary. Every thought gone into comfort in the garden and the house. So much to keep family happy on wet or dull days. Loved it - a great half term success.


September 2017

Fabulous place to stay. What you see is what you get and it totally exceeds expectations. A very homely place with lots of additional items (hot tub, fridge with an ice making machine! lovely and clean throughout, everything and more that you could wish for in a holiday home). The views are fantastic. The lane is quite busy but you can easily walk to the local pubs. Easy travelling distance to other local attractions.


September 2017

The house is in fabulous location and is very well equipped with lots of extras. The hot tub was enjoyed by all as was the games room. A great place to rent for a friends and family get-together. Thoroughly recommended.


September 2017

More facilities and space than we had expected inside and outside. Worked really well for our three-generational family week together.


August 2017

Redcliffe is a beautiful property, with lovely views, the kitchen is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need. It can't fail to please.


August 2017

A beautiful house in the most idyllic situation. Our grown up children loved the games room and table tennis and snooker tournaments went on all week. We had great fun fishing and putting out crab lines and generally messing about on the river. A most enjoyable holiday and we have all fallen in love with Shaldon and the surrounding area.


August 2017

This luxurious property is ideal for entertaining or peaceful relaxation. Every comfort of home plus stunning views of the river. Whatever the weather, this home will guarantee your holiday to be a success.


July 2017

Sensational location, excellent facilities


July 2017

A great house for larger families who want to do their own thing or do activities together. Plenty of space inside and out. We counted 52 seats outside alone! Boats were fun as was the hot tub, sauna and steam shower. Fishing was frustrating, they were jumping out of the water but not biting. Fish and chip shop in Shaldon is excellent.


April 2017

The pictures show a true reflection of what will be waiting for you when you book this Cottage (Fantastic)


February 2017

It far and above exceeded our expectations and everyone said that they would like to return to this or a similar cottage next year.


February 2017

Excellent holiday property with wonderful views. House so well equipped the weather doesn't matter. Games room and hot tub amazing. Thank you.


January 2017

All the other reviews say it all - Redcliffe is a fantastic "cottage" although "cottage" doesn't really describe it. Better than the photos, better than the description, the best place we've stayed at and all our family members heartily agree. All the facilities were well used including the rowing boat and sit on canoes - albeit by the twenty-somethings in our group, even if it was January.


December 2016

Once again redcliffe didn't dissapoint! We stayed over new year and sitting in the hot tub seeing in the new year was brilliant! 2nd time staying here and I still love it as much as the first time. Can't recommend this house enough it's perfect looking forward to staying again one day!!


September 2016

First impressions on arrival WOW!! Fantastic views. Really enjoyed our stay. Couple of minor points regarding storage and things not working properly but far outweighed by all the positives the property had to offer. We would certainly recommend to anyone looking to stay here.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for taking the time to review Redcliffe. We were delighted you'd enjoyed your visit overall and we've passed your storage suggestions to the Owner. Bryony, Customer Support


September 2016

A wonderful location and an exceptional cottage; we would love to go there again.


August 2016

This is a truly fantastic property that exceeded all expectations. I would gladly recommend this property to anyone.


July 2016

Beautifully appointed house with lovely views.


May 2016

This place is luxury and amazing


May 2016

Can't recommend this house enough and the photos do not do it justice. The owner left fresh flowers in every room which was a lovely touch and he met us there to go through how everything worked which was helpful. The views from the double terraces are amazing and it felt like being on board a luxury liner, the hot tub was a great hit with everyone. We didn't want to leave and very much hope to go back again. Thanks for a lovely relaxing holiday in a great location


May 2016

Wonderful holiday, great property, super facilities and the most wonderful view.


April 2016

Perfect in every way


April 2016

The owner of Redcliffe Cottage was there to greet us and show us round and tell us how to use the hot tub and other facilities plus other information we needed to know.


April 2016

Stunning location and views. Enjoyed use of table tennis table, boats, hot tub. Beautiful daffodils and flowers, both inside and outside. Plenty of crockery, glasses, outside tables and seating. Great idea to provide plenty of blankets for use on cooler days outside which meant we could still enjoy the ambience.


April 2016

Everything 1st class with all the equipment our mixed family could require (ages 16 -80) Beautiful position with views across the river to the hillside (mostly sunny) Lovely round table for dining and lovely comfortable beds.


March 2016

This was our 2nd visit to this amazing cottage .. And was even better than I remembered .. The whole house is just amazing .. Amazing views .. Very comfy.. Everything you could possibly need .. And many many extras .. Loved the fresh flowers left around for us ..and love the luxury Easter egg (Easter week) that was left for us .. There's nothing better than sitting in the hottub at night time and taking in the nighttime view and all the beautiful blue lights all around make it extra special .. Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful house with us .. We never want to leave and cannot wait to come back .


March 2016

Redcliffe is the ideal location for us as a group of friends who find the space, location and atmospheresublime. I would come back again in an instant.


March 2016

Redcliffe more than exceeded our expectations, the attention to detail was amazing, it was as though someone had just lent us their home for the week and didn't feel like a rented property at all. All the furnishings and fittings had been carefully selected and bedrooms and en suites colour coordinated. We had boozy nights and loads of laughs in the hot tub, I could go on forever, just an amazing place, thank you.


January 2016

Wonderful location and fantastic accommodation :)


December 2015

Thank you for an excellent week at the stunning Redcliffe Cottage over Christmas 2015. The property was immaculate with great facilities and equipment. The attention to detail was impressive with fresh flowers in the bedrooms and even a Christmas tree; there was a real sense of luxury throughout and both the house and location exceeded all expectations. A great place to spend the holidays with family, we all thoroughly enjoyed it!


November 2015

Everything was lovely, the beds were extremely comfortable, lots of towels, the views outstanding, even in the wind and rain. The kitchen was well equipped and the large round dining table was a really nice social dining experience. We had a truly relaxing stay and will certainly return to Redcliffe.


October 2015

Fantastic cottage didn't want to leave


October 2015

House was perfect so clean and comfortable. Sitting in the hot tub was perfect. Already planning our next trip!


September 2015

Redcliffe is superb in so many ways that it is hard to leave. The owners are so kind and helpful and the attention to detail and all the amenities in the property and the locality mean that you do not have to go far afield to have a wonderful relaxing holiday.


September 2015

The best property that I have ever stayed in and just superb for a family Celebration. Perfect situation. So much to do we never left the house. We didn't want to leave and will definitely be back.


August 2015

Redcliffe is an excellent property in a stunning location. We would highly recommend it. Our party of 8 all had a great time and Classic Cottages were great to deal with. Thanks to all concerned.


July 2015

We had only been there about half an hour before we started discussing when to come again


July 2015

The Owner was really friendly and showed us around the house and how to work everything. The house is truly exceptional, with a superb hot tub, sauna and the boating from the jetty was the icing on the cake. Easily one of the best houses we have stayed at, already our friends and family are looking at booking and we are too....nothing short of the perfect holiday home!


June 2015

Fantastic views with every luxury provided. Owners very helpful and left contact details but not intrusive.

I would thoroughly recommend this cottage for a large group of people.

Plenty of things to do or you can do nothing and just relax and soak up the views.


May 2015

Redcliffe exceeded our expectations in every way.


May 2015

Our second time in this beautiful house, made to feel very welcome by the owner. Wonderful location along the river. The view is amazing, especially while relaxing in the hot tub! The personal touches of flowers in the rooms, box of biscuits, tea/coffee etc. The garden is lovely with plants everywhere.


April 2015

We had a fantastic stay at Redcliffe, it was peaceful and relaxing. The owner gave us a lovely welcome and we will definitely be booking again!


April 2015

Fantastic cottage. Did not want to go home. We spent hours on the sheltered decking taking in the river views. Best holiday cottage yet!


March 2015

The owners were very helpful and added the personal touch by meeting us on arrival which was very nice. Everything was as expected and more. The games room, gym, hot tub, sauna and boating equipment was very good and definitely added to the property "value", especially on the inclement weather days.


February 2015

Fantastic house with everything and everyone catered for. We loved it and cannot recommend it highly enough.


January 2015

Beautiful property in a fabulous location. The owners have thought of everything you could possibly want to make your stay special. Thanks for a wonderful holiday.


November 2014

Redcliffe is a stunning house which is very well equipped and cared for. The views of the estuary with its birds and boats change constantly with the tide. The hot tub, jetty and use of the boat were a real bonus – the owners have obviously put a lot of thought and effort into making this a very special holiday home.


October 2014

You can't of asked for anything more. The fresh flowers in every room was a lovely touch.. It was perfect...


September 2014

Fabulous hot tub. All the facilities, games room etc. fresh flowers in every room was a lovely touch. The owner very kindly put all our shopping away !, as we were delayed arriving The balconys and terraces were beautiful and very well furnished. Stunning views.


September 2014

Excellent property,pictures don't do this lovely house justice.My greatest moments were having wine with family in the jacuzzi and watching brother in-law out on the rowing board.


August 2014

A wonderful cottage that has everything you would want and in a superb location, a real gem.


August 2014

If you are looking for peace and tranquility then Redcliffe is the place to go. The house is stunning and the location beautiful. You would need a car to access it


May 2014

This it amazing and great for a big family


May 2014

If you're impressed by the pictures of redcliffe look no further, its totally all it appears to be & materialises surreal, its jaw dropping, on arrival my party was just wow ! I never ventured out for two days so much in the cottage & grounds to explore & to walk down to the rivers edge is amazing, set in a ideallic location walking distance to the shore & fishing village in shaldon, the glorious sandy beach in teignmouth is within view & so many day trips to squeeze in to beautiful places & experiences there really just isn't enough time in a week to get to see them all, my second holiday with classic cottages both were pretty awesome & fond memories made, I wonder if we may make it again next year & can we possibly top redcliffe ?


May 2014

Office administration was excellent, as usual. on arrival, 'Redcliffe' was like walking into a 4 star hotel, with superb views from every room. We hope to go back soon.


April 2014

A well equipped cottage in a fantastic location. Lots of space and plenty of different seating areas in the garden to enjoy the views and find your own little quiet corner if you want to.


March 2014

This is not a cottage this is a house in fab location with wow factor!.we love it and look forward to returning year after year.


February 2014

This is a fantastic property. We stayed with two families and had a superb week. Great accommodation Lots of personal touches by the owners who were available to us if we had wanted. Everything was as described - what else can you ask?


December 2013

House was amazing and the owners so helpful. We absolutely loved it.


December 2013

Fantastic property good for all age groups.


November 2013

This was a very complete package, Quality! Nothing negative to report. wall to wall comfort.


October 2013

This is a spectacular property. I organised the holiday on behalf of five couples, and all were similarly awestruck by the size and luxury of the house. An enormous, split-level riverside mansion, with bedrooms up to 5* hotel specifications, the most stunning, unobstructed views, and all the very best equipment installed to make the stay as comfortable and luxurious as possible.

The owners have thought of everything with this place, with a detailed guide on arrival, and a very useful book left on the table giving all sorts of hints, advice and instructions. Every bed had a lovely fluffy robe, fresh slippers and four huge, thick towels. The beds are comfortable, with high-quality linen and good pillows. Most of the rooms had a tea/coffee service, kettle, and ensuite bathroom, all done up to the best standards. Fresh single roses at each bedside finished the effect spectacularly.

The kitchen has a large American style fridge, family-sized dishwasher, tumble dryer and washing machine (complete lifesavers in a group of our size). The cupboards come stocked with a bazillion mugs, plenty of glasses of every type, and lots of cutlery/crockery, as well as some specialist items such as condiment bowls, salad bowls, quiche plates etc. The oven is simply gigantic, with a normal grill/oven set, and then a 4-shelf roasting oven beside it. Very useful for large groups!

The decking is massive, on three levels, with lots and lots of seating. A big plus was the outdoor glass-topped dining table that seated 10, and the gas BBQ is something to behold, easily accomodatiing our 10-person grilling feast! Downstairs there is a secluded picnic table, a private garden area, and then a large space around the hot tub with recliners, sun loungers, and patio seating.

The 'bonus extras' here are the hot tub and the sauna, both of which we used during our stay. Although the sauna was excellent, the hot tub was definitely the winner, just lovely at night watching the river, bright stars above you. The house is so secluded, it was wonderfully peaceful at any time of the day or night.

I've only been back less than 24 hours, and I've already recommended this property to a friend! Our stay was just wonderful, and all thanks to this fantastic house, and its lovely owners.


September 2013

Visited last year and loved it so much decided to rebook straight away. May not return next year but will definitely visit again in the future. Would recommend to anyone wishing to visit that area of Devon.


August 2013

Excellent property in every way. Views of river from almost every room. Very nice to have use of kayaks and other boats. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.


August 2013

Fabulous accommodation, fabulous location. Did not need to leave the house!. My whole family loved it.


June 2013

This is a fantastic property. From the moment you enter it is hard to take your eyes off the view. Lots of seating areas, great even for a small group, especially enjoyed the two terraces which included a hot tub. There are boats for you to use and a path from the garden leads you down to the shore, with a deck and more seating. Great for fishing, infact one of our party spent most of his stay just sitting with his rod!! Great holiday, we will be back.


May 2013

The house is total luxury. Lovely having gowns and slippers in the rooms and fresh flowers. Very impressed with the house. It was such a large house my extended family all had their own space. The views are amazing.


May 2013

We couldn't have wished for anything more the house & location, everything was perfect will definitely go back. Wonderful holiday was had by all.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.