The Carriage House.
The open plan living-room is the ideal place for everyone to gather and spend time together.
The kitchen is well-equipped and you can take your meals at the dining-table or outside on the terrace.
The double bedroom.
The large windows really let the light flood in.
The living-area is a lovely space to sit back and relax.
The lovely multi-burner provides fabulous background heat and makes this an ideal retreat all year round.
The family bathroom.
The twin bedroom.
The patio-area is a wonderfully sunny spot and a great place to enjoy some al fresco dining.
From the grounds there are great views towards St Mabyn.
The woods in early spring.
Rock beach.
Polzeath.
Port Isaac.
Daymer Bay beach.

The Carriage House

1666

2.3 miles SE of Port Isaac / Sleeps 4 + cot

20% off for parties of 2 + cot or less at certain times of the year, view offer...

Book or Reserve Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from £418

A lovely few days at the Carriage House. Just one mile off a main road, so not long to journey down narrow lanes to get there but felt very remote and quiet. There is a farm next door and I presume dairy, as we would hear the cows in the morning and evening (I'm guessing at milking time?) but not otherwise. You can unload right by the door and then easy parking for 2 cars about 30 seconds walk away. Comfortable sofa and beds (although beds very low to floor) and well equipped throughout. Warm and cosy, although only a few logs left for first night and no kindling, firelighters or paper to get fire started - it was lucky we had gone prepared! Great location for easy access to Port Isaac, Padstow, Tintagel and Boscastle and not far from Wadebridge. Lovely area to explore.


We had a lovely week here, the weather was faultless from start to finish.... The cottage was really lovely and well equipped with everything you needed... The only thing we would say is that for us it was a little too isolated...


Carriage house is a super cottage one of the best we have stayed at. The cottage was well set out and everything was clean and did not look 'tired' or neglected . everything was catered for having all the amenities needed in a lovely rural part of Cornwall complete with its own local herd of cows and country smells! Simply lovely. Situated in central position for good walks, beaches, pubs and other necessary amenities such as petrol stations! We are planning on returning it was such a lovely week and the cottage provided an excellent comfortable base to see and do all we had planned - Thank you and see you again soon.


While the property was acceptably clean it didn't appear to have had a deep clean. Lots of cobwebs, windows needed a good clean, ashes left in log burner. Nothing to harm our health but considering how we now book in later for cleaning , thought it would have been as pristine as the other classic cottages I've stayed in. Disappointed that there was no milk provided. Didn't expect the amazing welcome pack we had last time in Mousehole, ie welcome card, milk, tea, coffee, wine, Cornish fairings and saffron buns!! It's a bit in the sticks so had to make a long journey to the nearest shop to buy milk.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so sorry to hear that you felt the cleanliness could have been better, and wish that we'd known during your stay so that we could have rectified any areas you were unhappy with. It is a rural property so guests will have to drive to some facilities; we're so sorry that this wasn't quite what you were looking for. Tanya, Customer Support


Far from the madding crowd, but very close to many beaches, the Camel Trail etc. Excellent position for exploring.


Lovely cottage by a working farm . We loved it very secluded but good location for Port Isaac Polzeath Tintagel and Bodmin Moor. Lots of history in the area. Good eating places around 2 miles away. We had a great week and would definitely return.


Fantastic little cottage. Spotless, well furnished, well equipped. Great location for all of the attractions of the North Cornwall coast and interior. We'll be back again.


Lovely stay. Cottage clean and in a good location to visit North Cornwall. Have already booked our stay for next year in the same cottage.


We thoroughly recommend The Carriage House. Accommodation cosy, very well equipped, and peaceful. Perfect location in the country side, but not too far to travel to coastal resorts, e.g. Polzeath, Port Isaac, Rock etc. We wish we could have stayed longer, but hope to return one day in the future. Ease of booking with Classic Cottages was good, and we were kept fully informed by email with details of accommodation and arrival and departure instructions etc.


The Carriage House is excellently located for the North Cornwall Coast with easy access to Port Isaac and many other surrounding attractions. The cottage itself is equipped to a high standard and is comfortable and cosy. It is true, the gentle lowing of cows is almost constant but did not disturb our sleep.


I lost my mother to Covid in November last year and needed a break away from everything and I couldn’t have chosen a better location. It was so peaceful all you could hear was birds and bees and the cows from the farm next door. I would definitely love to go back again. The whole experience was first class from the initial contact with a most helpful, charming young lady in your office (whose name I have sadly mislaid) and speaking to the housekeeper Lin who was extremely helpful as I hadn’t been on a self catering holiday for over 20 years . I have been looking at your cottages for next year and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend your company to family and friends. Thank you again.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us have your thoughts and we are absolutely delighted that The Carriage House was able to offer you a welcome retreat. We have passed your kind words on to Kerry in our Sales Team and we are sure Lin will also be so pleased to hear that she was able to help you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next year, do get in touch if we can be of any assistance. Tressa, Customer Support


Loved the cottage which had everything we needed. A great quiet location in a good area for exploring. We would return


We loved this cottage, it was beautifully decorated and clean, and the surrounding grounds were spacious and pretty. It was a great area, close to the main road to get access up and down the county and to the beach, but also really peaceful.


Wonderful relaxing week in a gorgeous cottage in a lovely part of Cornwall. The cottage was spotlessly clean, quality furniture and equipment, comfy bed and very welcoming log burner. We will definitely return, thank you for a wonderful home chill out week.


Lovely Cottage in a great setting


Lovely cottage in great location for discovering the delights of Cornwall. A real home-from-home.


An enjoyable stay, generally quiet (except cows at night!) . All in all to be recommended.


Wonderful stay as usual. Never stay anywhere else. Had the pleasure of meeting Lin the housekeeper who certainly went above and well beyond the call of duty and inconvenience to herself considering we were a very last minute booking.Just warn her we are coming back !!But promise not to be late leaving next time, this time was unavoidable.


Lovely comfortable and clean cottage. We had a very nice holiday with 2 adults and children. Beds comfortable and made for a good nights sleep. Nice and close to varied activities and beaches. St Kew Inn also I’m walking distance and the food was great. Would definitely stay here again.


It was great having a washing machine and dish washer. No sign of the barbecue included in the description of what the property came with

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for letting us know - the barbecue had been stored away in the shed as the weather was poor, we're so sorry that this caught us out. We'll ask the housekeeper to make sure that guests know where it is, or know to give her a call so she can help with any queries. Tanya, Customer Support


Lovely clean and well equipped cottage. Wish we could have stayed longer. Fab location ( peaceful )


Absolutely everything needed for a relaxing holiday was provided for. Standard of furnishing and equipment was first class. A very warm welcome and information provided to help holiday makers stay that bit easier was first class. Never have I slept so perfectly in my life. Loved the book about different walks. We did the pretty coastal path walk which really did live up to its description. This was a first for us as a couple; renting a cottage in the countryside in Britain but will definitely not be our last. A most relaxed way to holiday and saw so much of our beautiful countryside and coastline.


I loved my time at the carriage house,and would not hesitate to stay again,or recommend it to others,it's a wonderful place to stay,in a beautiful spot,in the most gorgeous county.


I loved everything about it, the peacefulness, privacy and wonderful location, the cottage was amazing


The Carriagehouse is truly lovely and immaculate throughout. We catered for ourselves several times and the equipment provided was excellent! The owners John and Sally were exceptionally welcoming! Future customers should definitely sample the St Kew Inn pub. Fabulous food and service.


Really enjoyed our stay.Owners very friendly and nothing too much trouble.Taken as a package the best classic cottage we have stayed in so far.


The Carriage House was really well-equipped. Excellent location. After a week of being here, we felt like we knew the area really well. Very friendly and approachable owners.


Perfect location for exploring North Cornwall


This cottage is perfect for couples or a small family with every home comfort provided for. Cleanliness was second to none. Owners friendly but not intrusive. We will certainly be booking again for next year.


Good value for money! Excellent location in a very peaceful setting.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.