Man o' War is set high above Cadgwith Cove (last on the right in the photograph), with glorious views over the bay and the village.
This pretty detached cottage sits in one of the best positions in Cadgwith overlooking the cove.
The sitting-room has comfy chairs and sofas around a cosy open fire and fabulous views.
Both double bedrooms have stunning views over the garden to the cove below.
The two double bedrooms still have their original fireplaces, nowadays purely ornamental.
Set high up above the beach, Man o' War is the middle of the three cottages in view.
The attractive kitchen has a farmhouse-style dining-table and views over the cove.
The double bedrooms both have views over the cove.
This double bedroom is next to the bathroom.
Crisp white linens on the beds and fresh fluffy towels.
The pretty single bedroom is at the back of the cottage.
The bathroom is on the first floor.
The second single bedroom.
The stairs rise up from the sitting-room to the bedrooms with a split level landing at the top.
The ground floor shower-room is a great space for washing off after the beach and somewhere to leave the beach gear and the cloakroom is just up the hall by the front door.
Looking back towards Cadgwith from a few yards further along the coastal footpath from Man o' War.
What a view across the cove from the coast path.
The steep, narrow approach to the car parking-area must be negotiated slowly and with care.
Two small cars may park one behind the other, but please take care not to obstruct the neighbours' parking spaces.
From the car park, Man o' War is about 75 yards along the footpath.
The footpath to the cottage. (Man o' War's front garden wall is in the middle of the photograph, just beyond the thatched cottage on the left.)
The spectacular view as you ascend the footpath to the cottage.
As well as the front garden you have a secret space hidden to the side of the cottage, just follow the path and up the steps......
The pub is only a few minutes' walk from the cottage.
This pretty village may be small but you have a choice of eateries and local fish shops should you prefer to cook at home.
Simply spend time watching the fishermen come and go....
The views are really quite spectacular.

Man o’ War

15

Cadgwith / Sleeps 6 + cot

7 Nights from £545 - £1494

October 2017

We fell in love with cadgwith, and man o war cottage. It's a great place to kick back and catch your breath. Couldn't fault the cottage at all, and appreciated the welcome pack. It meant we could sit outside upon arrival, Enjoying a cream tea. The coastal walks are lovely from there. We hope to return soon. Mark & Ruth Knibbs - Wolverhampton.


October 2017

well worth the long journey to get there, would stay there again


September 2017

This is a lovely cottage in a gorgeous setting, overlooking the cove. The views of the ocean waves crashing is a joy to behold as is the view across the cove and the brightly coloured fishing boats.

The cottage is cosy and inviting and even better with a fire lit! Bed was comfy. We used the shower room after the first morning as the shower enclosure in the tub is a big cramped; was a bit awkward to wash your hair. There is a towel warmer in the shower room also, along with a large farmhouse sink and two big sky light windows above; probably the brightest room in the cottage! There is also a WC across the entry hall from the kitchen so you don't need to go upstairs. A utility room with washer and dryer and the shower room down the hall.

The cottage is well fitted out, however if you stay at self-catering places often, you'll know that sometimes you need to bring some of your own items. We brought extra kitchen towels (they supply 1 roll) and tea towels (they supply 2), along with boxes of tissues and face cloths (they supply neither). If you plan on eating any shellfish, bring a nut cracker as there wasn't one. We had a few minor issues regarding some things (which I won't get into here) and hopefully they have been resolved.

The scones, clotted cream, preserves and milk were a nice touch as were the fresh flowers.

Dinner at the Cadgwith Cove Inn our first night, we sat outside as it was quite packed. They suggested booking ahead, which we did for Monday night and stayed for Quiz night also!

If you plan on doing any walking around the cove area, make sure you have proper shoes/trainers! We walked up to the little store in Ruan Minor (about 1/2 mile) for the paper every morning, and when I say we walked UP, I mean it!

There are a couple of fish shops, unfortunately, one of them was on holiday while we were there but we managed to get some crab legs from the Cadgwith Cove Crab shop. However, make sure you get there early. We tried getting some things to take home on Thursday afternoon but they were closed.

The road coming into Cadgwith from Ruin Minor is winding and narrow, mainly single lane. You need to go dead slow as it's difficult to see around some of the bends, but there are some passing places. You also need to look out for people walking; some with their dogs.

There is Treleague dairy, just off the road prior to entering Ruan Minor which has local cheeses and milk. There is a £1.00 deposit on the milk as it comes in glass bottles that you can return. Would also recommend the cider barn off the A3083. You will see signs for it and they don't just sell cider! It was a nice little find to go to!

Cadgwith is where you want to go for some peace and quiet (except for the sound of the ocean and the birds) and just to get away!

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review - we're so sorry that you had a some difficulties with an aspect of the plumbing, and we're in contact with the housekeeper to ensure that it's all now resolved. We're delighted however that you enjoyed the property so much. Tanya, Customer Support


September 2016

This footage was very over rated in the description in your brochure. We were extremely disapointed

Reply from Classic Cottages

We were very surprised and sorry to see that you were unhappy with the cottage, particularly as you'd not contacted us during your stay. We'd obviously like to discuss your thoughts so will be in touch directly. Tanya, Customer Support


July 2016

Spacious well appointed cottage. Wonderful sunny location, wonderful village and safe garden for dogs and children.


July 2016

Lovely cottage, but be aware it is an old cottage with low ceilings


May 2016

We had the most amazing half term here with our children (5 & 7). The cottage location is superb, the sound of the sea lulled us to sleep every night. Cadgwith is a beautiful, totally unspoilt Cornish Gem. We will definitely be returning to this little haven.


April 2016

We absolutely love this cottage. The views from the Windows are truly breathtaking. Everything was as described and the house was very clean. It was a true cottage life experience. We even had a big storm one night that we enjoyed while sitting in the living room with a nice fire going in the fireplace. I did a lot of research before booking and truly believe Man O War to be he best cottage, in this price range, for the money. It was an authentic village life experience. Thank you so much.


March 2016

It's a beautiful house, well equipped and in a wonderful location. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to return in the near future. Thank you.


October 2015

Lovely views from windows, Cadgwith is a pretty place, Nothing to complain about cottage, comfortable, dogs enjoyed walks on beaches, what more could you ask?


June 2015

We had a lovely time here in late June 2015. It was so restful to listen to sea at night, enjoy the sunshine and sea breezes, and the great view overlooking Cadgwith. We also loved the convenience of being able to eat fresh fish & seafood down at the pub just a few minutes away! Overall thoroughly recommend the property and would return.


June 2015

It's our second year staying at Man o War. We stayed for 2 weeks this time thoroughly enjoying every minute of it. The cottage is situated on a prime site for breath taking views ,walks and Cadgwith Cove Inn for a drink or a Beautiful meal. The weather is mild and is always better than predicted. The locals are friendly (many of which are ex holiday makers making a new life there) The cottage is so comfortable and and has everything you need whilst staying there. The beds are so comfortable with excellent bed linen used. Fresh flowers down stairs on arrival plus some fresh milk in the fridge for much needed refreshments on arrival. The owner who is a lovely lady calls in to see you on your second day to check that everything is ok for you. The garden was well enclosed so there was no worries of our dogs escaping. We enjoyed sitting outside on the wooden garden furniture in the beautiful Cornish sun enjoying the the views of Cadgwith Cove. Whilst staying at the cottage we used the local shop which has a post office at Ruan Minor for any day to day essentials. We left Man O War with a heavy heart and a tear in our eye. We will back next year for another 2 weeks of heaven .


May 2015

Location very picturesque and situated on coastal path.


March 2015

Amazing cottage in an amazing location. The decor and home comforts were fabulous, and the views were stunning. It is ideal for anyone who just wants to enjoy the beautiful Cornish coastline, or for those who like to just relax. Absolutely perfect x


February 2015

One of the nicest cottages we have stayed at very comfortable and everything you could need for your stay provided even the fire had been lit for us and fresh flowers in the vases; lovely! Amazing views great village and dog friendly pub, fantastic walks from the door,great little enclosed garden with lovely sitting out area.


September 2014

We had a fantastic time, it was easily the best cottage we have stayed in. The location is really wonderful, the only downside was that we had to leave, could have stopped for ever..


June 2014

The property is based on the sunny side of cadgwith cove. We had sun in the garden from 8 a.m. to 8.30 p.m.


May 2014

location,location,location-as they say-but beware as Cadgwith can become adictive


March 2014

Stunning location with every comfort and cleanliness. The local pub provides a meal within walking distance of the cottage - just what you need after a busy day out. Fantastic coastal walks straight from the cottage and the surrounding area is just beautiful. The pub too is very dog friendly with every effort to make my two dogs welcome - brilliant. If you want a relaxing holiday, this cottage is just the ticket.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.