Orchard Vean from the parking-area.
The lovely light-filled open plan living-room.
The lovely bedroom.
Looking across the water to the moorings at Penpol (picture taken just along the lane from the cottage).
Put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine... you're on holiday!
The bright, comfortable living-room.
The high apex ceiling has original beams and a high window that allows light to flood in.
Comfortable seating will have you sitting back and relaxing in no time at all.
Plenty of books and maps for guests to use.
Lots of light comes into the cottage.
The fully-equipped kitchen-area.
The cottage is immaculately presented and sparkling clean.
Enjoy a cream tea on arrival.
French doors open out to the patio and garden.
The terrace is wonderful for al fresco meals.
The porch.
The porch provides a perfect place for donning walking boots or drying soggy dogs!
Should it rain during your stay (unlikely, of course!) umbrellas are provided by your thoughtful hosts.
The shower-room.
Pretty things throughout the cottage.
Looking into the bedroom from the hallway.
A gorgeous Victorian-style bed, wonderfully inviting!
The bedroom shares the high ceiling and light, airy feel of the rest of the cottage.
Windows of all sizes in this lovely old building.
Pretty reflections.
The comfy bed.
The parking-area outside.
Lovely features inside and out.
An archway leads from the garden to a grassy orchard (the Owners make their own apple juice).
Looking down river towards Restronguet Creek.
The cottage has its own large garden and is set amidst the Owners' five acres.
Looking towards the cottage from the garden.
The grassy quay at Penpol is a few minutes' walk away.

Orchard Vean

1367

3.7 miles S of Truro / Sleeps 2 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £283 - £775

September 2017

Comfortable and warm cottage. Best we have experienced.


August 2017

quiet, fully equipped cottage in a wonderful environment for a relaxing stay


February 2017

We had a very relaxing break in a beautiful cottage. The location was lovely & we really enjoyed the walks along the water.


November 2016

Superb location to explore the whole of Cornwall. Comfortable, clean and finishes/accesories all to high specification, no expense spared - every details has been thought of and is provided even the small details like washing up liquid to air freshener. Hosts were welcoming - we will return for definate.


October 2016

A delightful cottage, very well equipped and surrounded by beautiful countryside. An ideal spot for visiting the area.


August 2016

There is a small camping ground (5 places) next to the cottage, but you barely notice these "neighbours"


July 2016

Absolutely faultless, from cream tea to power shower and comfy bed. Great for visiting all of Cornwall. Beautifully peaceful with local walks and dog friendly pubs nearby.


July 2016

Good location and very nice cream tea provided.


May 2016

We cannot speak highly enough of Orchard Vean, it is perfect for a quiet, peaceful holiday. Situated in a lovely part of Cornwall, it is well located for visiting most areas of the county. From National Trust houses to small beautiful beaches, we found it ideal.


December 2015

This a very nice property in a rural location although within a walking distance of the pub. This allowed easy access to Truro and some of the mining history of the area albeit by car, for the more adventurous it had a number of walks immediately available but due to the fact that we were there end December early January with a lot of rain we were not able to use them all.


October 2015

Very clean and well-equipped cottage


October 2015

One of the nicest cottages I have stayed in. The owners were extremely helpful to me whilst my car was out of action. I would recommend it to my friends and family.


September 2015

We were so comfortable we felt like we were at home. Tranquil location to return to after the hustle and bustle of the more touristy spots. Welcoming touch to have fresh flowers from the garden and a delicious cream tea with homemade jam waiting for us on arrival.


July 2015

Orchard Vean is the perfect location to discover Cornwall. Quiet environment, nice pub's around. Dogs are wellcome.


June 2015

We don't really want to share this real gem of a place, but... we can't resist telling everyone how good this place is!!!! This really is one of the best...so relaxing, so well equipped, SO comfortable.... One of the best of loads of great ones!


March 2015

A lovely peaceful cottage to unwind. Well equipped with everything you need to enjoys a relaxing holiday. Space for coats and boots, warm radiators to come back to after a day in the cold!


February 2015

it is a perfect holiday home in a perfect location


February 2015

A lovely cottage in a relaxing setting with great walks practically on the doorstep.


October 2014

Fantastic little cottage, a perfect location with lovely walks straight from the door.


October 2014

We have spent two holidays at Orchard Vene and loved every minute. It is in the perfect spot to start exploring the many beautiful coastal villages and we have been doing just that. We will come again! Maureen and Alan Riches Canada


September 2014

We had a lovely stay, even with it being overcast most of the week. The cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and well located. The Minnack Theatre was an easy day out with Truro, Falmouth and the north coast all quickly reached. The owner was friendly and helpful and the cream tea (with home made jam) was much appreciated! The maps in the cottage were useful for working out where we had walked around Penpol/Point and for days out.

Oh, and if you're wondering - Vean is Cornish for small!


August 2014

A delightful, well-equipped cottage with wonderful walks with outstanding views of the creek and surrounding area. The location of the cottage makes this an absolute ideal base to explore the Lizard Peninsula to as far as the Scilly Isles. Alternatively if you want to relax and kick-back this cottage offers a holiday location that the weather can not spoil.


June 2014

Perfect location for exploring all of Cornwall.


May 2014

The care and attention to detail at Orchard Vean speaks volumes for the Desire of the owners, and Classic Cottages, to ensure we have a wonderful stay and we did! Chris And Rosemary Sargent and Bracken and Teasel.


May 2014

Have been visiting this cottage since 2003 and the standard and facilities are just as high as the first time we visited - a credit to the owners.


April 2014

This was an excellent find as a dog friendly cottage. Lovely walks and a very comfortable stay.


April 2014

This is a lovely bright and well equipped property , ideal for a couple plus dog. Very near Trelissick Gardens which have some lovely walks on the Estate.


March 2014

This is one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in and the area offers so much do see and do. Wonderful!


January 2014

This is a wonderful, luxurious cottage for 2. Perfect for a winter break even though we had dreadful weather there were lots of lovely walks and the cottage was very warm and cosy. I've already recommended to friends and we would definitely stay there again.


October 2013

Beautiful cottage,lovely area,amazing welcome from freindly hosts.The property was equipped to perfection.THANKYOU,Nick and Barbara and Classic Cottages!


September 2013

The accomodation at Orchard Vean was excellent - we had a wonderful four week rest and would recomend the cottage highly. We are going back again next autumn.


August 2013

The property was exactly as described. The conversion from the original building has been done to an extremely high standard with top of the range fittings and decoration superb. The location was perfect. Close to major towns of Falmouth and Truro and the south and north Cornwall coasts. There are good walks from the cottage and excellent pubs and restaurants to suit every style and budget within easy reach. We were made to feel very welcome - the scones, jam and cream as well as flowers in the cottage were a great touch. Even the weather was good! Thanks for a great week


August 2013

it was a lovely place with great accomodation and welcome people


July 2013

A beautiful location in a wooded valley. Stunning coastal and river walks. Food at Instow 'The Boathouse' was gorgeous and a stunning evening location. Falmouth had wonderful restaurants and Harbour View and Rick Stein were well worth the money. Lovely shopping in Falmouth great harbour. Busy in Truro but worth the visit. We ate at local pubs and though they were ok would not necessarily go again they were convenient. Trelissick Gardens well worth the visit but go early or else meet the crowds. A great cottage everything you could want is there even shower gel, a barbecue, washing materials etc etc but we didnt find an apple corer!!!! Thanks for a great holiday. Pity our camera was stolen when we got home not a photo of our lovely stay.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for reviewing your stay at Orchard Vean - it sounds as though you had some great days out in the area, and we're delighted to see that you enjoyed the cottage. We're so sorry to hear that your camera was stolen when you got home and you don't have any photos to bring back the memories - maybe a return visit is in order...? Tanya, Customer Support


July 2013

This HAS to be the best equipped self catering cottage in the West Country!! We want to tell EVERYONE to try it...............and then, we want to keep it to ourselves because if we can't book it again next year, due to popular demand, then we're going to be disappointed! So, please, just don't book EVERY week there, as we are definitely going again next year!!!! Our dogs LOVED it, but you might want to consider fencing off the part where they can escape, thus preventing me (mouth almighty!!!) screaming for them to get back & disturbing other caravan residents...............HUGE apologies! Bit of a dead spot for mobile/laptop reception, but, is that really such a bad thing? There actually WAS life before mobile phones!!!!!!!!!!! Hands up who remembers that!!!


March 2013

Very nice quiet location offering excellent accommodation. A good base to tour from or a nice place to just chill out!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.