Sceat Cottage is one of a small group of barn conversions in a glorious hilltop position.
This is the stunning unobstructed view directly in front of the cottage.
The kitchen is in one corner of the open plan living space and is very well-equipped. The window looks out onto the enclosed rear courtyard.
Where better for afternoon tea; this terrace is at the front of the cottage, there is another seating area at the rear of the cottage.
Seaton is the nearest beach, just a short drive away from the cottage. There is a long promenade and all the usual seaside shops that children will love to spend their pocket money in.
A couple of steps lead up to the main sitting-room which opens out onto the patio, and that fabulous view.
This is the open plan dining and kitchen area. The steps lead up to the main sitting-room and from there French windows to the patio.
This cosy sitting-room has comfortable sofas and a wood-burner making this cottage a great choice out-of-season,
This is Bedroom 1, the downstairs double bedroom with a shower room right next door. This room looks out over the enclosed rear courtyard.
The modern shower-room doubles as a useful utility-room.
The sheltered rear courtyard.
Bedroom 2, the en suite double bedroom. This bedroom has amazing views right out across the valley to the front of the cottage.
Another view of bedroom 2.
The en suite shower room for bedroom 2.
This is the twin room, bedroom 3 at the front of the cottage.
The family bathroom on the first floor.
The single bedroom (Bedroom 4) is a really good size.
The first floor landing adds to the feeling of space.
The views from this cottage are truly stunning, a great place for a BBQ.
The front door is a stable door that allows you to appreciate the surrrounding countryside.
This little tram leaves Colyton station and runs down beside the river Axe to Seaton and the Jurassic Visitor Centre.
The bustling town of Lyme Regis is a short drive from Sceat Cottage.
Lyme Regis is still a working fishing port, Golden Cap in the background is the highest point on the south coast.
River Cottage HQ is nearby, why not treat yourself to one of their specialist cookery courses.
A little way over the border into Dorset, you will find the quirky market town of Bridport and West Bay, filming scene for Broadchurch.
Sceat Cottage is above the Axe Valley, with a wonderful bird sanctuary and even a tram ride to make the most of it.

Sceat Cottage

1246

5.9 miles W of Lyme Regis / Sleeps 7 + cot

7 Nights from £516 - £1413

October 2017

Fantastic cottage, equipped well with great views across the valley.


September 2017

A lovely cottage in a good location for visiting Devon and Dorset resorts. The cottage is spacious, well equipped and in good decorative and clean order. Will be rebooking this lovely cottage.


August 2017

A well presented and comfortable cottage with stunning views. Limited garden if you have kids who like to play football but we found a football pitch in Colyton and a park in Seaton where they could play which satisfied their football needs! The cottage is within close reach of beautiful coastline and beaches - we recommend Lyme Regis for a sandy beach and the walk from Beer to Branscombe!

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay - the more modest front lawn probably isn't ideal for a budding England squad to practice, but we're delighted that nearby Colyton could offer an alternative fixture! Tanya, Customer Support


August 2017

Lovely big cottage ,gorgeous views ,very peaceful,if up early can see deers in the field .there is ducks and hens on the farm you can see wondering about ,


July 2017

We were happy to stay for a holiday at this cottage and the views were so relaxing for a stressed out city family. Great accommodation.


April 2017

Perfect location, quiet, comfortable with great views of the valley.


April 2017

Three generations (2-73 years old) had a wonderfully comfortable stay in this delightful cottage. It was very clean and extremely well equipped with stunning views from the front.


February 2017

Was a fantastic cottage. Extremely well appointed. Stunning views. Proper home from home. Will book again.

Also very impressed with Classic cottages. Very professional cottage rental holiday company.


October 2016

it made us feel at home with all the comforts


October 2016

Easy road access to Lyme Regis, Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton.


October 2016

Very comfortable stay, the cottage had everything we needed. Just need toiletries, food. Lovely views over the Axe Valley. Easy to find, parking for 2 cars.


September 2016

A beautiful and well equipped cottage with stunning views. Everything was immaculate and attention detail was appreciated. We will come again


September 2016

Not suitable for toddlers and young children as no where to play. Beautiful location for family with older children.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review of Sceat Cottage - there is the open lawned area to the front of the cottage (see photos) and a little courtyard to the rear, but if you're looking for a property with a larger enclosed garden for your children to play in, please do ask our Booking Office or search for 'Enclosed Gardens' on our Web site to have a look at what's available. Tanya, Customer Support


August 2016

The cottage is spacious, well-equipped and has a tremendous view. It is situated conveniently for day trips to Lyme Regis and Abbotsbury Swannery/Weymouth sand sculptures. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back soon.


July 2016

This is a lovely cottage, with amazing views. A good base to travel between Ex Mouth and Bridport. The beaches are fab, not all are stone. The beach information for safe swimming for families are good. It is a good cottage layout, suitable for three generations or those not so nimble footed, with the down stairs bedroom and shower. wear slippers on the kitchen floor it is natural and so slightly uneven.


July 2016

A relaxing stay in a well-equipped cottage with beautiful countryside views.


July 2016

The uninterrupted views from the cottage are amazing.

At Sceat Cottage you have the best of both worlds. Beautiful countryside but only 15 minutes drive from lovely beaches.


July 2016

A lovely cottage,spacious and well decorated. Had quite a few BBQ while enjoying the view


March 2016

I would recommend this cottage highly. Wonderful location and the cottage is well equipped, homely and welcoming. We had an elderly relative so the ground floor bedroom and bathroom was ideal, but with two lounge rooms and baby equipment available, it would also suit families with children of any age. Only thing to note are the three steps leading to the main lounge.


August 2015

Highly recommended, ideal for families Has all you need to feel at home and plenty of room in all areas of the cottage


May 2015

We had a lovely family holiday staying at Sceat Cottage (3 generations!) The cottage was clean and spacious and accommodated us all without feeling cramped, especially with 2 comfortable lounges, each with a TV and DVD player. The location of the cottage was ideal for visiting Devon/Dorset tourist spots, and the view was just magnificent.


March 2015

Made this booking on behalf of work colleagues. Heard nothing but good things. Extremely good value for money. Very easy booking system. Highly recommended.


October 2014

Excellent location with stunning views - brilliant walks within minutes and Colyton is such a lovely place. 5th time we have been to that area and would love to go back again


August 2014

Very peaceful.


June 2013

A very pleasant cottege with spectacular views. Grounds well maintained and in a quiet spot.


May 2013

We much enjoyed our holiday and were very impressed with all the changes that have been made to Sceat Cottage. The cottage has a most wonderful view and is a fantastic place for a quiet holiday


April 2013

Great cottage close to fantastic locations, the best web site i have used for finding cottages and for ease of booking and Classic Cottages recommended by which!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.