The cottage is on the right, attached to the Owners' cottage.
The cottage (on the right) adjoins the Owners' home.
A stable-door opens into this lovely cottage.
The wood-burner throws out plenty of warmth.
The glowing wood-burner.
The cottage has its own garden to the right of the lane.
The dining-table is by the front window.
A deep sofa to snuggle up in.
The welcoming wood-burner.
A lovely old armchair by the bottom of the steep stairs up to the bedroom.
The front of the cottage in the spring - the door into Kiln Cottage is to the right.
The compact but well-equipped kitchen.
Everything is beautifully presented.
The gorgeous romantic bedroom.
The view from the rear of the cottage.
The approach to the cottage.
An exterior view of the property.
Bantham Beach is within an easy drive.
The Avon Estuary, within striking distance by car, offers some great walks.
One of the many ancient stone bridges to be found on nearby Dartmoor.
Fantastic walks are to be had on nearby Dartmoor - this is one of the many tors to be found in the National Park.

Kiln Cottage

1175

5.3 miles W of Totnes / Sleeps 2 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £315 - £594

October 2017

The cottage was delightful in all respects. We wanted somewhere to relax and Meditate over the half term holidays - Kiln Cottage provided the perfect venue.

Our hosts (living next door) we're on hand to ensure our every need was catered for.

We intend to return next year and explore more of the beautiful river Avon.


September 2017

The owners made us very welcome to what was a very comfortable accommodation.


August 2017

A most welcome gesture of food suppled upon arrival of scones, jam, clotted cream, milk , eggs & granary bread provided from local store. Very well situated for exploring South Devon and Dartmoor.


July 2017

This review is currently in moderation.

July 2017

We can thoroughly recommend Kiln Cottage, it really is a lovely place to stay with everything thought of for you, and in such a lovely part of the country.


April 2017

It exceeded expectations. Having stayed in many self-catering properties I can honestly say that Kiln Cottage in Diptford, Devon is the most well equipped property. The owners were charming, welcoming and thoughtful providing a marvelous Devon cream tea on arrival plus fresh bread, local free range eggs, coffee, tea plus many more extras. We had a private garden to relax in. Although our cottage was attached to the owners property our privacy was respected at all times. Vivian and Peter made sure the bird feeders outside our kitchen window were kept full attracting an abundance of wildlife. Would definitely recommend staying here to anyone needing a peaceful, relaxing, country holiday.


April 2017

Peter & Viv gave us a lovely welcome. A super quiet country setting, with excellent garden to sit in. Very comfortable and homely cottage, just what we were looking for.


September 2016

A very peaceful place but with easy access to the main attractions in the area.


August 2016

Kiln Cottage has been the fifth cottage that we booked with Classic Cottages and your service and organization is perfect!! Thank you very much!! Kiln Cottage was such a cosy and comfortable cottage with very friendly and in any way helpful owners living next door. We felt at home from the very first moment. We felt completely spoilt having such a beautiful garden that we could call 'our own' for these two weeks. The back garden that we could see from the kitchen was an absolute pleasure, too, with so many wonderful birds which easily could hold you back from cooking!! :) :)


July 2016

It was a joy to stay at Kiln Cottage- just the holiday we had been dreaming of. The sheep and cows out the window were icing on the cake.


October 2015

Beautiful little cottage. Ideal for two. Very friendly owners who were very helpful. We were able to use the woodburner. We had delicious local products when we arrived. However there were a couple of things that bothered us : we were not always successful in finding out how to work the shower. And the bed seemed a little bouncy. Very poor reception for your mobile phone, but it was compensated by the good wifi signal, and we were able to make some phone calls from the phone in the cottage. The owners were really friendly.


September 2015

home from home nice place and lovely people


June 2015

Would recommend this cottage as a beautiful, romantic getaway. Had an amazing holiday. Owners very friendly and helpful.


May 2015

We have recently had the most delightful stay at Kiln Cottage. Our hosts were charming and helpful and the wonderful cream tea provided on arrival was sumptuous. The cottage was full of character and was also a perfect location for exploring south Devon. This is a cottage not to be missed!


April 2015

the cottage and the owners will take the stress away and let you have a great break


April 2015

A truly beautiful cottage, with wonderful owners who thought of everything - to arrive to the makings of a Devon cream tea, containers of tea and coffee and eggs in the fridge and wood in the shed who could ask for more! This was an amazing place to stay, so quiet and peaceful in the surroundings and especially the garden - just the spot to sit, read and ponder with a cup of tea or something stronger. In fact it inspired me to write: "A nursery field with lambs at play, And a stream that gently wends its way, Where primroses bloom and daffodils sway, This is the place to come and stay!" Once again, Classic Cottages came up trumps - thank you all.


April 2015

Mrs Soler The owners were very welcoming. The welcome pack was very good. The property well maintained and has everything you would need for a comfortable stay.


August 2014

This was a delightful property in a lovely peaceful location, we enjoyed the fact it was a good place to use as a base to explore South Hams. The owners were very welcoming and provided lots of information as well as a lovely locally produced Devon Cream Tea as a welcome. The property is really well maintained and has absolutely everything needed for a comfortable stay, whatever the weather.


May 2014

A perfect, peaceful little rural escape.


May 2013

This is a cosy cottage for two people in a loverly quiet location. It is well equiped & included a tea cosy which is often forgotten these days. The welcome pack was the best we have had & it was nice to have the owners next door who were very friendly & helpful. It has it's idiosyncrasies like creaking stairs & a fluctuating shower but these are the things you remember long after the holiday & laugh about.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.