Fort Picklecombe is right on the water's edge.
Patio doors lead out to the balcony
The view from the balcony is quite special
Looking across Plymouth Sound
Song of The Sea is a delightful apartment for 2
You can enjoy your meals on the balcony or inside the apartment
Plenty of room to chill out and relax after a great day exploring all that South East Cornwall has to offer
The kitchen has everything you need, including a great view
The bedroom area is open to the rest of the apartment but can be curtained off if required
The bathroom
Treat yourself to cream tea whilst you take in that view
The setting is very special
The communal gardens at the back of the Fort, are an unexpected haven of peace and tranquility
The gardens are a delight all year round
A glorious autumn day on the sea off Kingsand with Fort Picklecombe in the distance.
Looking from Kingsand towards Fort Picklecombe on the horizon.
Looking from Kingsand to Fort Picklecombe on the point.
Kingsand and Cawsand are only a couple of miles away.
The beach at Kingsand.
Looking west from Rame Head.

The Song of the Sea

1034

1.5 miles NE of Kingsand / Sleeps 2 (no children under 16)

7 Nights from £361 - £785

August 2018

The perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Time just slips away. Very comfortable


June 2018

If you want somewhere to relax, with a fantastic view that you can't take your eyes off, look no further than "The Song of the Sea".


May 2018

A wonderful warm homely place to stay in an excellent position with wonderful views. We didn't want to leave & had even checked to see if the apartment was booked for the following week as we would have liked to have stayed.


April 2018

Spotlessly clean apartment with amazing outlook over Plymouth Sound. Lovely welcome package, and detailed local and historic information provided by owner.


March 2018

Really brilliant!!


October 2017

A great place to stay.


July 2017

Unusual position which made it interesting and exciting. Lovely walks to country park and coastel villages.


June 2017

Great location to view the shipping!


March 2017

This is a wonderful apartment, it has everything you could wish for. It is very relaxing and the owner could not have been anymore friendly and welcoming. Would happily recommend, to friends and family. We have stayed a number of times now and it feels like home.


October 2016

A lovely apartment, immaculately clean and well presented. A very helpful owner who provided generous 'welcome' gifts and popped in to check that all was well on my arrival. I would very much like to return for a further stay at some point in the future and I would highly recommend 'The Song of The Sea'.


October 2016

The Song of the Sea is a lovely apartment with fantastic views over the sea,it is a really relaxing location and exactly as the description on the website.Jane the owner was very nice and made sure we were ok and obviously wanted us to have a lovely holiday,she had left some treats for our arrival which was greatly appreciated.We would definately recommend this apartment for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Also thank you to Classic Cottages for making it so easy and uncomplicated to book our holiday.


July 2016

A wonderful, relaxing holiday with great views across the sea!


July 2016

The location and fantastic sea and coastal views , is always a good reason to book a holiday at the Song of the Sea


June 2016

Another lovely holiday at this very special place.


May 2016

A lovely holiday. Very comfortable, a view that could not be better, we enjoyed the activity on the sea. beautiful countryside, lovely walks. Loved the ferry trips.


April 2016

We had an absolutely delightful, restful week. This place is a gem and should not be missed.


March 2016

really enjoyed the appt. was what we expected and more. just sorry we are no longer walkers. owner Jane was very helpful and left extras we were not expecting


March 2016

Stunning views and well designed conversion giving feeling of space and light. Very enjoyable stay in beautiful location near to pretty villages along the coast and Mount Edgecombe Estate.


March 2015

Fantastic location, walking in all directions, a wonderful birthday week, Maker Heights for lunch and tea. Cremyll Ferry to Plymouth. Royal Willliam Yard, shops and restaurants.


September 2014

This is an enchanting and comfortable holiday home and we are very glad to have found it. Jane the owner is very hospitable and her welcoming touches are very much appreciated. This is our second visit and we would like to think that it will become an annual event. We love the sense of history at the Fort and it's surroundings and watching the ships and boats come and go, quite apart from their stunning backdrop. We love the walks and come back fitter than when we went thanks to the 'climb' out of the Fort. To be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves is magical and to have two ferries to Plymouth within easy driving or by walking makes for easy circular trips. The diversity of shops and eateries in both Kingsand/Cawsand would I think cater for every need and provide a choice of beaches for swimming. Jane the owner recommended 'The Canteen' at Maker and we enjoyed a fabulously creative yet simple and reasonably priced lunch. Happy for you to use anything (in the review) as long as it doesn't mean you are inundated with bookings which doesn't leave room for us!


August 2014

Overall excellent stay. Friendly and attentive owner. First class service throughout. Will likely return in the near future.


June 2014

Location, location, location. What a view!


May 2014

This is our second stay at this wonderful location. The apartment is very comfortable and has all you require. Its a lovely, easy walk to Kingsand and Cawsand, the views are stunning, also a must is the ferry from Cremyll to visit 'Royal William Yard'.


April 2014

Everything about The Fort if so special, and we would like to keep it our secret' and not tell a soul' its good.


October 2013

Wonderful apartment relaxing and very comfortable. No noise accept the waves breaking on the rocks. Never want to go home


August 2013

This is a truly magical setting with superb views. The Song of the Sea has all the home comforts you could want. Clean, comfortable with lovely furnishings. We enjoyed the lovely walks to Edgcombe Park and the quaint local villages. We highly recommend it.


June 2013

A lovely apartment with wonderful views. This is the best equipped holiday accommodation that we have stayed in. The owner has thought of everything, and was very welcoming when we arrived. People need to be aware that although the drive into Fort Picklecombe is flat, the area around the rear of the Fort is very high and hilly, so not really suitable for people with mobility problems, but OK if just driving/walking into and out of the Fort


June 2013

As a location this takes some beating. I have not yet found anywhere with a better view in the last 60 years! The only thing I would add to the package would be to include wifi broadband access.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We agree, the view is pretty amazing and there's always something different happening out on the water. Thanks for the suggestion regarding WiFi - we're happy to confirm that the apartment does have WiFi access - it's very handy for checking the weather forecast before heading out to explore! Tanya, Customer Support


June 2013

This was our fourth stay at Song of the sea and we will return again. The location is excellent for one of my husband's interests in Ship Spotting. It is a great apartment to relax in and the surrounding area is beautiful, great for walks etc. The villages of Kingsand and Cawsand have one or two good Pubs serving food and the locals we have found are very friendly. It also serves as a good base if you wish to visit other areas of Cornwall or indeed Devon as you are close to the border. The owner Jane always gives you a warm welcome.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.