Roses around the cottage entrance in the spring. The door to the games-room is on the left (not shown).
The open fire in the sitting-area.
The grounds are enchanting.
What could be more welcoming than a cream tea on arrival?
The full-size billiard table can provide hours of enjoyment.
The very comfortable living-room.
The bedroom can be either a double or twin.
The full-size tennis court which guests are welcome to use.
First floor Forda Hayloft is on the left (the top floor windows) with a swing on the patio in front of the games-room.
The Owners' grounds have loads of lovely walks - and the arboretum is just right for exercising the dog.
There is lots of colour in the extensive grounds for most of the year.
Stunning surroundings.
One of the two pretty ponds, providing a secluded sitting-area in the grounds.
The arboretum has some quite rare trees.
The church on top of Brentor is a local landmark.
Dartmoor is on your doorstep so put on those boots and explore.
The outside of the games-room opposite the cottage.
The rear of the Owners' house, Forda Hayloft is on the right.
The front of the main house as you pull into the gravelled driveway.
Dartmoor ponies grazing on the moor.

Forda Hayloft

1008

5.6 miles NW of Tavistock / Sleeps 2 (no children under 3)

7 Nights from £280 - £528

October 2017

Cosy warm cottage with cream tea and real log fire on arrival, lovely reception from owners. Beautiful large garden with tennis court plus games room with snooker and table tennis a great bonus. No O2 mobile reception but cottage has fast broadband.


September 2017

Although the property could do with a little updating the warmth of the welcome with the free home-made cream tea, plus the incredible kindness of Rosie and Bob, more than made up for this. The apartment has a very warm, happy feel to it and the gardens are magnificent, plus they not only tolerated but very much welcomed my dear dogs. Would definitely return if in the area again and advise friends and family to stay there.


September 2017

If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable place from which to explore the area around Tavistock, look no further. Forda Hayloft is perfect. Warm welcome and beautiful green grounds.


August 2017

It was a lovely place and our hosts were extremely warm and friendly and very helpful, the games room was great and a lot of fun at the end of the day or if it was wet. We would go back again


August 2017

A beautiful hayloft cottage in a peaceful area wasy access to many of our favourite areas and some new ones to explore. Dogs loved the freedom of the lovely grounds as did we each day. Superb restful time.


July 2017

Lovely welcome from Rosie and a great location- both in terms of the garden itself and the wider area


July 2017

Quiet and relaxing, cosy cottage set in beautiful grounds you can wander freely in. Helpful, but unobtrusive hosts. The Blacksmith's Arms in Lamerton, just 3 miles away has extensive tasty menu with friendly, helpful staff.


May 2017

Very helpful and friendly hosts who do everything to make the guests' stay happy and comfortable. Several acres of lovely grounds with lawns and a wide variety of ornamental trees. Welcoming to dogs and lots of space for them to run around. Well-equipped games room with snooker, table tennis and darts and with a tennis court in the grounds.


March 2017

I felt so at peace in your most lovely cottage. Thank you


February 2017

This was our fourth stay here. The cream tea on arrival was an unexpected pleasure on our first visit, and never fails to delight every time we stay here. The Hayloft is a wonderfully quiet and peaceful place to get away from it all. Rosie and Bob are always available if needed, but although the hayloft is in the same building as their house its easy to go for days without encountering each other. The shared entrance is through the back door to the house, and the only noise that ever reaches the hayloft is the very occasional closing of a door downstairs: never a problem. Once the fire is lit (we usually visit in the winter) it's warm and cosy, and an ideal place to spend winter evenings. We must get back there in the summer one day.....


November 2016

The owners are really friendly, and the cottage is comfortable and in a great location to explore Dartmoor. Best for early risers due to noise transfer from the owners house (which is beneath the cottage).


October 2016

This property is lovely and the owners are welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. We spent a fantastic week there exploring the moor.


September 2016

A second stay with Rosie and Bob. We were not dissapointed. Just as we remembered it; the wonderful garden, clean and very comfortable accomodation, lovely Owners, and all set in a beautiful part of Devon. Thoroughly recommend this dog friendly holiday let.


July 2016

A lovely holiday in beautiful surroundings. A warm reception from the owners and their family. Would highly recommend. However the information regarding not being able to leave your dog unattended at the cottage for any period of time could be made clearer by classic cottages as this can be quite restrictive. Would have given five stars otherwise. On the whole very nice and would definitely book again.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Forda. We do ask that dogs aren't left alone in any of our properties, mainly as this can cause a lot of distress to a pet in a strange place, and also because a distressed animal can sometimes cause unintentional damage such as chewed or scratched furniture and furnishings. Some Owners do have kennelling facilties and there is often 'doggy daycare' that can be utilised in the local area if you're visiting a pet-free destination. Tanya, Customer Support


April 2016

I would not hesitate to recommend Forda to all. The area was spectacular and the cottage was beautiful, warm and inviting. 100% dog friendly and we were treated like one of the family. The owners are such a delight, and welcomed us from the start. Especially the cream tea. A genuine fire was alight when we arrived. Lovely, beautiful and peaceful stay. Thank you.


October 2015

a lovely location to explore Devon,warm and welcolming owners


September 2015

We had a great time, very welcoming people


June 2015

The location is very central to all the places that we wanted to visit, not to mention Rosie who suggestions for places to visit was second to none. We was made to feel very much at home and nothing was to much bother of any questions we had. The gardens are very well kept and my little Jack Russell could run around at will. Full 5 stars*


December 2014

Super place to stay and explore the area. Rosie and Bob excellent hosts and couldnt have been more helpful, friendly and accomodating. This is THE cottage for a country holiday with dogs. Go to the Lydford Arms for a great pint and country pub atmosphere.


August 2014

Lovely little place, friendly owners, and a cosy atmosphere. Had a wonderful time here.


August 2014

We booked this cottage on the day of travel and were more than delighted with it's location, reception by the owners, lovely extensive gardens and how welcome we felt from the moment we arrived. An excellent location for walkers and dog owners !


May 2014

The property was perfect for a dog friendly holiday and with dogs in mind it would be difficult to better it!. Rosie and Bob were very welcoming and nothing was too much bother for them. My dogs particularly enjoyed the garden which they were happy to run around all day. Whilst the Hayloft was very comfortable and well equipped it was the garden that made it for us. Big enough for a decent length walk before heading off in the car for the day and very lovely to sit in and relax when the weather allowed. The proximity of the local pub (150 yards.) which was also dog friendly, meant that evenings could be spent by a roaring fire with a glass in hand. Tavistock is a lovely little Town, a world heritage site and only a few miles away. A large Morrisons supermarket made shopping for provisions simple. We will definitely return to the Hayloft again


May 2014

The landscaped gardens were spectacular, with lots of space to lose yourself in. The games room, with full size snooker table, table tennis table and dart board were a huge plus point when the weather was its usual English self. The tennis court, which we didn't get time to use also looked great and was in a lovely part of the grounds. Bob and Rosie were so friendly and welcoming and provided a lovely cream tea on arrival. Equally, despite sharing the main door into the property, we never felt like we were lacking in privacy as they very much kept themselves to themselves. If you're looking for a quiet haven to use as a base to explore Devon and North Cornwall, but also want to be able to stay 'at base' this is just the ticket. The only point we'd add, and it's very minor, is that it would be nice to have had a shower instead of just a bath - but even though I'm 6'4" I still managed comfortably!


April 2014

Booked forda hayloft for a short break to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.Arrived to a lovely roaring log fire and the best cream tea we have ever had. Rosie and bob made us feel very welcome . We enjoyed the games room playing snooker,darts and table tennis.Our dog enjoyed the lovely large garden as did we. Lovely quite location.will definatley visit again.


July 2013

The place itself is really beautiful with a nice and really very big garden to sit or lie in. For all guest who, like us, want the place they stay in to be in the immediate proximity to Darmoor NP, this place is definitely a good option. To reach places like Postbridge or Oakhampton it takes about 30 minutes. The village shop in Chillaton itself isn't there anymore, but you can top up on food and drink in Tavistock, which can be reached in about 20 minutes.

One thing which must be mentioned, though, is, that the term "entirely private", which the guest were supposed to be according to the description, doesn't really fit. The owners share an entrance hall with the guests, which per se isn't a problem. However, this entrance hall leads directly into the owners' living room, where they sit behind an open doorway and can see you entering and leaving at almost any time. So, to get something out of your car, be sure not to go in your underwear or likewise. In addition, when the owners or their daughter and granddaughter use the garden, which happens about every day, you have to go the utmost corner of the property to really experience the advertised "privacy".

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for passing on your review of Forda Hayloft - we're very glad that you enjoyed your time at the property and that you had chance to make use of the huge and beautiful garden. We think you stayed during the glorious summer heat wave, so imagine the Owners left their door open a little more than usual to bring in some fresh air - we're sorry that this affected your privacy, and we'll certainly bear it in mind for the future. Tanya, Customer Support


June 2013

Beautiful grounds and Accomadation, Owners very friendly and welcoming. Note: There is no local shop, and Pub has just changed hands so was not cooking any food.

Reply from Classic Cottages

We're glad to see that you liked Forda Hayloft and its lovely grounds. The Owners have confirmed that the pub (Chichester Arms) is now serving simple meals again (as at Jan 2014) but not necessarily every night, so it's worth checking in advance - the nearest shop is 3 miles away so not within walking distance, but not too long a drive if you do run out of milk! Tanya, Customer Support


June 2013

Kindly and helpfull Landlady. If the Forda Hayloft was not that faraway for us, we should stay there more often.

Lovely and wonderfull great garden!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.