The Tabernacle at Frieda and The Moon with its hot tub, settled into the corner of a meadow with beautiful views across open countryside.
Inside is simply stunning.
What a special retreat to spend a few days, or longer, at.
There's plenty of space to relax inside and out.
The gorgeous king-size bed has a window at the foot looking out over the countryside.
Comfortable chairs for chilling inside.
There is a beautifully fitted kitchen with hot and cold water too!
Wow, what a view!
The little wood-burner will keep you very cosy in the cooler months.
There are beautiful pieces throughout the Tabernacle.
Gorgeous lighting.
The stained glass window lets in the most exquisite light throughout the day.
Lots of lovely homely touches throughout.
Just look at that beautiful botanical wallpaper made by the quirky interior company, Timorous Beasties.
Even the china matches the sheer elegance of this Tabernacle.
More homely touches.
Wow, what a window, designed by the owner and bespoke made.
Many an hour will be spent here!
The en suite shower-room has a drench head shower.
In action!
There is a proper flushing toilet and wash-basin and a heated towel rail.
The little dining table is positioned to look straight out the window to the open countryside beyond.
What a spot for cheese and wine!
You have your own little patio table and chairs, all in keeping with the Tabernacle's elegance.
And the view is something else!
Can it get any better than this? Your own private hot tub.
Sit back and relax.
What a beautiful retreat this is.
You can just see the Tabernacle's sibling, the Observatory, in the distance here - why not book both and bring some friends along!
Keeping you warm whilst cooking up delights!
The beautiful stained glass window.
A lovely setting whatever the time of year.
Night time at Freida and The Moon - magical.
Another night time shot showing Frieda and The Moon in all its glory.
Picturesque Polperro is packed full of charm.
The traditional fishing town of Looe.
Take a trip to the historic house and gardens at Lanhydrock- there's also a great network of cycling trails.
At Cardinham woods there are more trails to discover.
A trip to fashionable Fowey with its trendy shops and galleries and a whole host of places to eat and drink is a must.

The Tabernacle at Frieda and The Moon

3211

4.7 miles NW of Looe / Sleeps 2 + cot* (no children from 1 to 9)

Need more time? Reserve any cottage for up to 24 hours before booking

7 Nights from  £447

March 2019

Our stay at the Tabernacle was truly amazing and went beyond our expectations.

Paul and Babs were amazing Hosts and we will defiantly be returning this year !!!

Hot Tub was amazing and the Homemade Scones, Jam and cream, along with the Prosecco with an amazing touch on arrival from Paul & Babs. Didn't want to leave this little slice of Heaven !!

Must go to Polperro and eat in the Blue Peter Pub amazing food and hospitality

1-4th March Sonia & Christian Catterall (Sonia's 50th Birthday treat)


January 2019

Our stay at The Tabernacle was the perfect place to begin married life together. It is a beautiful place to escape to and was all we thought it would be and so much more. Paul and Babs are so welcoming and personal that we felt we had know them for ages. Absolutely wonderful!


October 2018

My partner and I got married at Frieda and The Moon, the cottage and location were truly stunning.

The owners were beyond thoughtful... and we've already booked to return next year!


October 2018

Service, location, property was all so perfect x


August 2018

A quirky atmospheric holiday let in a beautiful quiet spot with stunning countryside views. Relaxing in the hot tub after a long day sightseeing was a real treat. I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking to get away from it all.


July 2018

A lovely property, with the peace and tranquility of the countryside. A truly wonderful property with excelent hosts.


July 2018

Perfect for peace and quiet and a great escape from the rat race. Take a good book


June 2018

There's not alot you can fault with this place....its AWESOME! We both have busy, demanding jobs so wanting a holiday where we could just chill and the Tabernacle did not disappoint. It's perfect, tranquil location, excellent hosts and accommodating locals [the rabbit population] was ideal


May 2018

We have stayed in a few Classic Cottages but this surpassed all expectations. It was just sublime. The Tabernacle has everything you need for a romantic hideaway. A large bed, a warm hot tub, seclusion and beautiful rolling countryside views. The walks are lovely, the owners (Babs and Paul) friendly but unobtrusive and Babs makes lovely scones (thank you). I’m not usually lost for words but this place has taken my breath away. We can’t wait to visit again.


March 2018

To say that Frieda and the Tabernacle hasn't got the wow factor would be an under estimation as you walk around the corner there is this beautiful little building just standing proud. It is our first time visiting this glorious idyllic spot and certainly won't be the last. Babs and Paul really wonderful hosts were there to greet us. We stayed for a week and although the weather horrendous at times it did not put us off. The Tabernacle was cosy, warm and no wi-fi so to just be lazy and curl up with a good book was just luxurious. The hot tub was fabulous and to sit in it in the pouring rain and howling wind was great fun and a new experience for us. It was a shame that we couldn't sit outside or get to use the wood burner but only the weather can be blamed for that but you could still sit at the window and watch the wildlife and the cute alpacas in the next field. Thank Babs and Paul for helping me to organise a secret champagne breakfast to celebrate our anniversary, Akil was thrilled. Also thank you for the cream tea and prosecco on our arrival that was also a wonderful surprise. We left relaxed and calm ready to face the motorways but not empty handed as our painting now hangs in pride of place in the lounge and we are looking forward to returning next year to stay in the Observatory when it is fully up and running. Thank you for making our stay wonderful, Sharyn and Akil


February 2018

The cottage was beautifully furnished, in a lovely location looking out across the Cornish countryside, with incredible night sky views from the hot tub. An absolute dream of an escape from busy city life, I will definitely be returning.

Reply from Classic Cottages

You've certainly painted a wonderfully relaxing picture of your stay at The Tabernacle - it won't come as a surprise that nearby Bodmin Moor has recently been awarded Dark Sky Landscape status by the International Dark Sky Association! We hope you find an opportunity to visit again soon. Tanya, Customer Support


February 2018

Staying in the tabernacle was a completely unique experience and we enjoyed every second - a stay will never be long enough! We experienced every type of weather from hail to snow to sunshine and the tabernacle was always warm and cosy. We loved the hot tub - a peaceful oasis!


November 2017

A little slice of heaven, relaxing, peaceful with stunning views!


September 2017

Brilliant place, just perfect and a very smooth booking process. Just gorgeous. Luxurious boho interior with everything you need, including a divine hot tub on the verandah! Bliss! We had a magical time!


August 2017

Wonderful hosts, amazing views and some really special memories.


August 2017

The most magical place to spend our honeymoon. Highly recommended.


July 2017

Well this was our first break away from our 2 children and what a break it has been. We love everything about the Tabernacle including the view from the bed, the decor, the hot tub and the attention to detail. We have had delicious BBQs with local meat from Pelynt and played croquet on the lawn. We chatted to the Alpacas and enjoyed a lot of what the local area has to offer including Polruan, Talland Bay, Lerryn, Looe and Lantic Bay. Thank you to Paul, Babs, Lily and Oscar who welcomed us into their home and made us feel like special guests. This is the perfect romantic hideaway and we will be back. Mel and Steve xxxx


July 2017

A truly amazing get away from it all location but not too remote. Beautiful Tabernacle , lovely hot tub. Did not want to leave.


May 2017

This is a perfect place to relax and unwind from the stresses of life. The hot tub is the icing on the cake, watching the stars come out one by one until there are too many to count is just amazing!


March 2017

We had a lovely time, the owners were very friendly and welcoming but unintrusive and left us to it. The tabernacle is gorgeous and the setting is beautiful.


March 2017

What an absolute gem ! We had a fantastic weekend away staying in such a magical little place. Memories made here to keep for ever.

Great base for walkers, with a much welcomed hot tub on arrival back to Frieda and the Moon.


February 2017

The whole experience was wonderful and Paul was a great host and gave us lots of useful tips on the local shop, pubs, places to visit etc. Within minutes of arriving we started to unwind and relax and the hot tub under the stars was blissful - yes even on a very cold February night! There were freshly baked scones waiting for us as well as a bottle of prosecco in the fridge and both were very much appreciated. The walk to the private woods was also a lovely little extra along with cleaning products, washing up liquid and toilet rolls. I cannot recommend this highly enough if you wish to escape from the mad world outside and truly relax. Our only complaint was having to leave at the end of our stay! We will DEFINITELY be back!!!!


February 2017

Everything previously stated. It's especially nice to have the hot tub and wood for stove included in the price. Also the under floor heating meant that even in February, it was so cosy and warm.

The bathroom was very clean. The monsoon shower was powerful and hot. Paul explained that the hot tub was filled with water from the local spring which made it feel a little magical under the moon!


October 2016

Owners (Babs and Paul) were so friendly and welcoming. The Tabernacle itself was magical. The decor is beautiful and the surrounding countryside needs to be explored. Perfect base to get away from it all, but close enough to travel to some of Cornwall's most beautiful towns, beaches and villages.


October 2016

This is a perfect romantic get away. The views are amazing. The tabernacle is just stunning, from the luxurious decor and furnishings too the secluded hot tub. We are all set to rebook a spring time break here.


September 2016

We had a wonderful stay and unique stay at The Tabernacle


August 2016

An absolutely magical stay - Babs and Paul were the perfect hosts and the hut was incredible. Better than we could have imagined and the perfect, romantic retreat.


July 2016

What can I say? The Tabernacle at Frieda and The Moon was just...amazing. After a long drive from London, arriving at our little slice of the countryside was perfect. We were met by our host and given a tour of the property and the surrounding areas and once inside, found some freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream for us to enjoy, as well as a bottle of Prosecco chilling in the fridge! The service provided to us was outstanding. The property itself is adorable. It's a small church-like structure, kitted out with all the mod cons (including a Japanese style soaking tub outside!) and decorated beautifully. There are books to read, a chess board for rainy evenings and extra blankets should it get chilly at night. The location was fantastic. You're in a meadow overlooking beautiful rolling hills, able to hear nothing but the sounds of nature. The host's house is just a short walk away should there be a problem, but you are truly able to enjoy a private getaway.

I've been raving about this holiday and property to anyone who'll listen! Absolutely 10/10.

Thank you!


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.