Otter’s Holt (1740)

3 miles N of Tiverton | Sleeps 4 + cot | Price per week £351 - £762

Otter’s Holt

Friday 09 Jun 2017 - Friday 16 Jun 2017

This comment is currently in moderation.

Otter’s Holt

Monday 31 Oct 2016 - Thursday 03 Nov 2016

For sure it will be soon next time at Otter's Holt ( a long brake this time because it wasn't enough for us to see all around and to enjoy more . We recommend the place for quite,nature,beautiful images(especially in autumn season ) very nice designed and clean house! If u need a fresh air and without phone calls short period and to rest and recharged your battery's - choose this location ! You will be delayed!

Otter’s Holt

Sunday 05 Jun 2016 - Friday 10 Jun 2016

The was so clean we just enjoyed our stay

Otter’s Holt

Sunday 15 May 2016 - Friday 20 May 2016

Really great and large cottage in beautiful surroundings, very nice hosts, clean and good equipped. If you like farm life, you will love it.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 22 Apr 2016 - Friday 29 Apr 2016

I would have no hesitation in recommending anyone with a love of the country and wanting a quiet break but with access to good roads to reach the coast or Exmoor. I am sure that we will return.

Otter’s Holt

Monday 15 Feb 2016 - Thursday 18 Feb 2016

This lovely family made us feel very welcome on their farm. A very warm and comfortable cottage in a beautiful location. A great family holiday.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 27 Nov 2015 - Monday 30 Nov 2015

The owners Richard and Alison were very welcoming and kind. They went out of their way to feed a calf with milk for our daughter to see.

Otter’s Holt

Tuesday 29 Sep 2015 - Friday 09 Oct 2015

Wonderful little retreat where the equally wonderful owners make you and your dogs feel as welcomed as if it’s your own home and to freely roam and enjoy every beautiful inch of this lovely piece of countryside. Highly recommend to people with kids and/or pets! HUGE thanks to the lovely and very friendly/helpful Alison and Richard.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 18 Sep 2015 - Friday 25 Sep 2015

Beautiful area, ideal for star gazing on a clear night. Bunnings pleasant and helpful, also very respectful of privacy. Would definitely go there again.

Otter’s Holt

Saturday 05 Sep 2015 - Wednesday 09 Sep 2015

Owners very welcoming great knowledge of history and area. Fantastic for dogs and offers access to animals if you wish. Super location.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 28 Aug 2015 - Friday 04 Sep 2015

We loved the cottage and the welcome we had from the owners. The underfloor heating was a dream and we were extremely comfortable throughout the whole stay. Loved the farm animals, etc.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 07 Aug 2015 - Friday 14 Aug 2015

what a lovely place to stay - so peaceful and friendly. Great place if you go on holiday with your dog with the river to swim in as well as the stream on the farm. Would recommend it to anyone! and will definitely go again! Jennifer

Otter’s Holt

Friday 03 Apr 2015 - Friday 10 Apr 2015

Beautiful cottage, gorgeous location in the Exe Valley, such a pleasure to be worken by cows mooing and chickens clucking. It is a working farm and the owners were really interesting and generous with their time and explanations about their farming and animal husbandry. The WiFi connection was pretty limited. We did get some access, but intermittent (same for the owners). It didn't spoil our enjoyment, but we have got used to high speed fibre optic broadband at home, so perhaps a reminder that rural internet speeds are generally not the same as urban areas would be helpful.

Reply from Classic Cottages:

Thanks for your lovely review - Otter's Holt really is a rural idyll! As you noted, the WiFi conneciton is intermittent, but we do take care to advertise this in our description so that future guests are aware. We're glad that it wasn't too much of an issue for you, and that you enjoyed your time getting back to nature! Tanya, Customer Support

Otter’s Holt

Friday 03 Oct 2014 - Friday 10 Oct 2014

The owners are so welcoming and the atmosphere, farm and freedom to roam was really special. Their animal welfare is paramount to them and this is so obvious when you see their cattle, so relaxed and calm. The cottage was cosy and the location so relaxing and quiet - one morning we didn't stir until 11! Fab location too, really well positioned to go just about anywhere within 45 mins or so. The exterior photos you have of this property do not accurately reflect how the property looks today. That did impact how we felt when we first pulled into the farmyard. We specifically needed a property with wifi. The wifi here comes from the main house and was only available in the bathroom and bedroom.

Reply from Classic Cottages:

Thanks for your review, we're delighted you loved the area. We've taken on board your comment about the photos and have updated them accordingly. We've also changed the description slightly so that guests know that the WiFi can be limited. Tanya, Customer Support

Otter’s Holt

Friday 16 May 2014 - Friday 23 May 2014

If you want a peaceful location and are interested in animals, this is perfect. The cottage is spacious and well appointed and the sofa and beds are so comfortable, the best we've had in any of the country cottages we've stayed in. There was a warm welcome, fresh flowers and a delicious cream tea. There's plenty to see and do in the area but if you just wanted to relax, a short stroll through the meadow to sit by the river and chill out was perfect. We hope to return.

Otter’s Holt

Monday 05 May 2014 - Friday 09 May 2014

We had a very happy short-break here - our dog especially, he hardly stopped wagging his tail the whole time! The cottage was clean, well-equipped and wonderfully designed, with vaulted ceilings in the sitting room and downstairs bedroom, a real treat to stay in such a nice place - it's more spacious than the photos belie. The beds were comfortable to sleep in (no sagging mattresses). The farm is normal 'countryside-quiet', no heavy machinery noises. The only disturbance overnight was the patter of rain on the skylight in the upstairs bedroom. It has a nice garden around two sides of the cottage which is enclosed, backing onto farm fields. Lovely to hear the bird songs in the evenings with the patio doors open, very relaxing. The mobile phone reception on the farm, and generally in this area, is poor, but the owners are only next door so a phone is nearby for emergencies. The cottage has wifi internet access so I mainly used email to keep in touch with the folks back home. We forgot to bring DVDs with us to play on the DVD player as there wasn't much on TV in the evenings. There's a radio in the kitchen which was useful to have, as well as radio on the satellite tv in the sitting room. It was very useful having table and chairs in both the kitchen and the sitting/dining room. The owners were welcoming, friendly and helpful which enhances the holiday - it was very interesting to hear about the farm and surrounding area. The walks in the fields on the farm and along the River Exe were very enjoyable, lovely country side all around, and not too far to drive for days out at other places. A lovely place to stay, I hope we can return another time.

Otter’s Holt

Thursday 27 Feb 2014 - Sunday 02 Mar 2014

A warm welcome and a great getaway. A perfect retreat for dog owners.

Otter’s Holt

Sunday 03 Nov 2013 - Sunday 10 Nov 2013

The cottage is very comfortable and it was a pleasure to stay in a building which has been so thoughtfully and sympathetically converted. A warm welcome and lots of helpful advice from the very friendly owners. We hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 06 Sep 2013 - Friday 13 Sep 2013

This property not only lived up to our expectations, it exceeded them. We were well looked after and could have stayed on quite happily - such a wonderful place.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 16 Aug 2013 - Friday 23 Aug 2013

Otters Holt is a fabulous place to stay, cosy in Winter and cool in Summer. If you like being near Farm Animals, the River and Countryside, then you will love staying here. The Accommodation is excellent in our opinion for a family of 3 or 4. Our Daughter who is 5, loves it here - we sit on the Garden wall talking to the Sheep and Cows in the morning, and enjoy playing in the fields and River also.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 02 Aug 2013 - Friday 09 Aug 2013

Beautiful cottage, fantastic location, lovely clean river for swimming in at the bottom of the field. Very helpful and friendly owners and hugely welcome scones and clotted cream and jam on arrival. Fabulous holiday Aug 2013.

Otter’s Holt

Friday 05 Jul 2013 - Friday 19 Jul 2013

Excellent accommodation and very friendly hosts - Richard and Alison were able to provide great advice on places of interest, local events and good pubs/restaurants/take-aways. The accommodation is excellent and the location superb. Our children had a great time helping with the various animals around the farm - even washing cows! A great holiday and one we will remember for a long time.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.

Holiday Cottage in Devon » North » Otter’s Holt