This semi-detached cottage has an enclosed back garden with a little gate leading to an orchard area beyond it.
A beautiful stretch of the River Exe borders the farmland. A perfect picnic spot (with a barbecue) and for wild swimming too! The water is very deep so take care with children.
French windows from the living-area and the ground floor bedroom open onto the gravelled patio-area.
A view of the sitting/dining-room from the top of the staircase. This high ceilinged room has a wonderful wood-burning stove to keep you extra snug whatever time of year you come here on holiday.
The sitting/dining-room with a door directly to the patio and garden.
Extremely well-equipped, the kitchen boasts a huge American-style fridge and bespoke wooden kitchen units.
The kitchen units, with granite worktops, are beautifully constructed from reclaimed timber.
This unique internal wall made from cob and willow mesh and incorporating the wood-burner and staircase is a striking feature here.
There is a great area of lawn in the garden. The little gate at the end leads into an orchard.
This is the ground floor bedroom with its king-sized bed and doors directly out to the garden,
The large entrance hall is ideal for storing coats and boots - and for drying off a muddy dog!
Another view of the downstairs bedroom.
The bathroom on the ground floor is bright and contemporary.
The bedroom upstairs is tucked beneath the eaves and has a separate WC and wash-basin. This picture shows the room set up as a double. (Bedroom 2).
This is the second bedroom set up as twins.
The upstairs bedroom has an en suite WC.
Looking the other way up the river.
This is the outside BBQ and covered bar-area for you to enjoy. This area is just 100 yds from the cottage across a little field.
You may be lucky enough to see otters and kingfishers. The Owners will tell you the best place to sit and the best time of day too.
The courtyard at the side of the cottage is surrounded by a tile-topped, traditionally constructed cob wall, and leads round to the back garden.
The exterior of Otter's Holt, next to the Owners' thatched home.
Another view of the outside sitting-area. There is a  lawn too.
A distant view down the valley towards the farmstead.
The gardens at Killerton House, another National Trust property for an outing.
Bickleigh Castle is on the other side of Tiverton.
The east Devon coast is an easy drive away.

Otter’s Holt

1740

3 miles N of Tiverton / Sleeps 4 + cot

7 Nights from £351 - £762

July 2017

A wonderful stay for a family. The best equipped house we've ever rented and the house looks even better than in the pictures. The friendliest of owners, seeing to whatever we'd need. All of Devon was within reach for outings and we've been to Cornwall (Tintagel) and Dorset (Charmouth) as well. Wandering around the farm and meeting all the animals was a great bonus. As was the BBQ/Campfire place next to the river. A great holiday had by all!


October 2016

For sure it will be soon next time at Otter's Holt ( a long brake this time because it wasn't enough for us to see all around and to enjoy more . We recommend the place for quite,nature,beautiful images(especially in autumn season ) very nice designed and clean house! If u need a fresh air and without phone calls short period and to rest and recharged your battery's - choose this location ! You will be delayed!


June 2016

The was so clean we just enjoyed our stay


May 2016

Really great and large cottage in beautiful surroundings, very nice hosts, clean and good equipped. If you like farm life, you will love it.


April 2016

I would have no hesitation in recommending anyone with a love of the country and wanting a quiet break but with access to good roads to reach the coast or Exmoor. I am sure that we will return.


February 2016

This lovely family made us feel very welcome on their farm. A very warm and comfortable cottage in a beautiful location. A great family holiday.


November 2015

The owners Richard and Alison were very welcoming and kind. They went out of their way to feed a calf with milk for our daughter to see.


September 2015

Wonderful little retreat where the equally wonderful owners make you and your dogs feel as welcomed as if it’s your own home and to freely roam and enjoy every beautiful inch of this lovely piece of countryside. Highly recommend to people with kids and/or pets! HUGE thanks to the lovely and very friendly/helpful Alison and Richard.


September 2015

Beautiful area, ideal for star gazing on a clear night. Bunnings pleasant and helpful, also very respectful of privacy. Would definitely go there again.


September 2015

Owners very welcoming great knowledge of history and area. Fantastic for dogs and offers access to animals if you wish. Super location.


August 2015

We loved the cottage and the welcome we had from the owners. The underfloor heating was a dream and we were extremely comfortable throughout the whole stay. Loved the farm animals, etc.


August 2015

what a lovely place to stay - so peaceful and friendly. Great place if you go on holiday with your dog with the river to swim in as well as the stream on the farm. Would recommend it to anyone! and will definitely go again! Jennifer


April 2015

Beautiful cottage, gorgeous location in the Exe Valley, such a pleasure to be worken by cows mooing and chickens clucking. It is a working farm and the owners were really interesting and generous with their time and explanations about their farming and animal husbandry. The WiFi connection was pretty limited. We did get some access, but intermittent (same for the owners). It didn't spoil our enjoyment, but we have got used to high speed fibre optic broadband at home, so perhaps a reminder that rural internet speeds are generally not the same as urban areas would be helpful.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your lovely review - Otter's Holt really is a rural idyll! As you noted, the WiFi conneciton is intermittent, but we do take care to advertise this in our description so that future guests are aware. We're glad that it wasn't too much of an issue for you, and that you enjoyed your time getting back to nature! Tanya, Customer Support


October 2014

The owners are so welcoming and the atmosphere, farm and freedom to roam was really special. Their animal welfare is paramount to them and this is so obvious when you see their cattle, so relaxed and calm. The cottage was cosy and the location so relaxing and quiet - one morning we didn't stir until 11! Fab location too, really well positioned to go just about anywhere within 45 mins or so. The exterior photos you have of this property do not accurately reflect how the property looks today. That did impact how we felt when we first pulled into the farmyard. We specifically needed a property with wifi. The wifi here comes from the main house and was only available in the bathroom and bedroom.

Reply from Classic Cottages

Thanks for your review, we're delighted you loved the area. We've taken on board your comment about the photos and have updated them accordingly. We've also changed the description slightly so that guests know that the WiFi can be limited. Tanya, Customer Support


May 2014

If you want a peaceful location and are interested in animals, this is perfect. The cottage is spacious and well appointed and the sofa and beds are so comfortable, the best we've had in any of the country cottages we've stayed in. There was a warm welcome, fresh flowers and a delicious cream tea. There's plenty to see and do in the area but if you just wanted to relax, a short stroll through the meadow to sit by the river and chill out was perfect. We hope to return.


May 2014

We had a very happy short-break here - our dog especially, he hardly stopped wagging his tail the whole time! The cottage was clean, well-equipped and wonderfully designed, with vaulted ceilings in the sitting room and downstairs bedroom, a real treat to stay in such a nice place - it's more spacious than the photos belie. The beds were comfortable to sleep in (no sagging mattresses). The farm is normal 'countryside-quiet', no heavy machinery noises. The only disturbance overnight was the patter of rain on the skylight in the upstairs bedroom.
It has a nice garden around two sides of the cottage which is enclosed, backing onto farm fields. Lovely to hear the bird songs in the evenings with the patio doors open, very relaxing. The mobile phone reception on the farm, and generally in this area, is poor, but the owners are only next door so a phone is nearby for emergencies. The cottage has wifi internet access so I mainly used email to keep in touch with the folks back home. We forgot to bring DVDs with us to play on the DVD player as there wasn't much on TV in the evenings. There's a radio in the kitchen which was useful to have, as well as radio on the satellite tv in the sitting room. It was very useful having table and chairs in both the kitchen and the sitting/dining room.
The owners were welcoming, friendly and helpful which enhances the holiday - it was very interesting to hear about the farm and surrounding area.
The walks in the fields on the farm and along the River Exe were very enjoyable, lovely country side all around, and not too far to drive for days out at other places. A lovely place to stay, I hope we can return another time.


February 2014

A warm welcome and a great getaway. A perfect retreat for dog owners.


November 2013

The cottage is very comfortable and it was a pleasure to stay in a building which has been so thoughtfully and sympathetically converted. A warm welcome and lots of helpful advice from the very friendly owners. We hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.


September 2013

This property not only lived up to our expectations, it exceeded them. We were well looked after and could have stayed on quite happily - such a wonderful place.


August 2013

Otters Holt is a fabulous place to stay, cosy in Winter and cool in Summer. If you like being near Farm Animals, the River and Countryside, then you will love staying here. The Accommodation is excellent in our opinion for a family of 3 or 4. Our Daughter who is 5, loves it here - we sit on the Garden wall talking to the Sheep and Cows in the morning, and enjoy playing in the fields and River also.


August 2013

Beautiful cottage, fantastic location, lovely clean river for swimming in at the bottom of the field. Very helpful and friendly owners and hugely welcome scones and clotted cream and jam on arrival. Fabulous holiday Aug 2013.


July 2013

Excellent accommodation and very friendly hosts - Richard and Alison were able to provide great advice on places of interest, local events and good pubs/restaurants/take-aways. The accommodation is excellent and the location superb. Our children had a great time helping with the various animals around the farm - even washing cows! A great holiday and one we will remember for a long time.


Good or bad, we publish all the reviews left by the guests who have stayed in this cottage, with the few exceptions stated in our Review Guidelines.